Share this article

print logo


Jan. 30 is the first of several times during the year during which Cattaraugus County residents can dispose of car tires at no charge at refuse stations.

Douglas Baldwin, waste management coordinator, said collection times will be from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. at all seven of the transfer stations on dates below.

Salamanca Transfer Station: Jan. 30, March 27, June 5, Sept. 11.

Portville: Feb. 6, April 10, June 12, Sept. 18.

Dayton: Feb. 20, April 17, July 24, Sept. 25.

Machias: Feb. 27, April 24, July 31, Oct. 2.

Conewango: March 6, May 1, Aug. 7, Oct. 16.

Allegany: March 13, May 15, Aug. 14, Oct. 23.

Mansfield: March 20, May 22, Aug. 21, Oct. 30.

During those times, residents can dispose of up to four car tires free. Any tires beyond that limit will be accepted at cash rates.

Those fees are $1.50 each for a car tire to 17 inches, $3.50 each for truck tire to 19 inches, $6 each for a large truck tire to 24.5 inches and $2 per ply for oversized truck tires.

Baldwin said residents can also dispose of up to two car or light truck tires on regular business days at transfer stations.

At those times a user fee ticket must be used to pay for tire disposal costs of $1.50 and $3.50 each. No cash will be accepted during regular business days.

There are no comments - be the first to comment