Share this article

print logo


Robert A. Ganley of Williamsville, president and chairman of the board for Ivoclar North America, has been appointed to a five-year term on the Erie County Medical Center's board of managers.

The 13-member board is responsible for guiding the general superintendence, management and control of the medical center and grounds, buildings, officers, employees, staff and patients of all matters relative to government, discipline, contracts and fiscal concerns.

Ivoclar North America, headquartered in Amherst, is a worldwide dental manufacturer of quality aesthetic solutions, support and services for dental professionals.

Ceramic artist Peter H. Vouklos will receive an honorary Alfred University fine arts doctorate Oct. 8.

Vouklos will be honored in recognition of his being "a visionary master of ceramic art" on the campus beginning Oct. 7.

The university said it will award him its Binns Medal for lifetime achievement in ceramic art.

When an honorary doctorate was conferred here on retired U.S. Army Gen. Colin L. Powell, Thomas F. Egan, chairman of the State University of New York board of trustees, did the honors.

Presentation of the SUNY honorary doctor of laws degree to the former chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff took place during Buffalo State College's annual Academic Convocation in Rockwell Hall Auditorium on the Elmwood Avenue campus.

Others honored, all faculty, staff or students of the college, and their awards included:

Distinguished Teaching Professorship -- Dan A. Kushel, a professor of art conservation.

Chancellor's Awards for Excellence in Teaching -- Katherine B. Hartman, an assistant professor of art education; Eliane McKee, a foreign language professor; and Kerran L. Sanger, an associate professor of communication.

Chancellor's Awards for Excellence in Professional Service -- Roslyn A. Berkovitz, a senior academic adviser in the educational opportunity program, and Richard J. Lee, associate dean of applied science and education.

Chancellor's Awards for Student Excellence -- Alex Perry, Eugene Harvey, Karen Edmond, Theresa Varney and Richard Paige.

President's Awards for Excellence in Service -- Donna L. Brooks, a senior stenographer in the registrar's office; Stephen S. Mangione, an imaging specialist in instructional resources; Stephanie Zuckerman-Aviles, director of the Career Development Center; and Carolyn S. Fusco, a senior staff adviser with the Faculty of Arts and Humanities.

President's Awards for Excellence in Teaching -- Geraldine A. Bard, a professor of English, and Sharon L. Raimondi, an associate professor of exceptional education.

President's Awards for Excellence in Research, Scholarship and Creativity -- Ann C. Colley, an English professor; H.G. Parsa, an assistant professor in the nutrition, hospitality and fashion department; and Gregory W. Ebert, a professor and the chairman of the chemistry department.

President's Award for Excellence in Academic Advisement -- Robert W. Brock, a professor of fine arts.

Dr. Angelo M. DelBalso of Buffalo was named a fellow of the American College of Radiology at the group's annual meeting earlier this month in Pittsburgh. He was one of 103 new fellows selected by the College's Board of Chancellors "for outstanding contributions to the field of radiology."

Buffalo Comptroller Joel A. Giambra will be honored at the Columbus Day Dinner in Salvatore's Italian Gardens Oct. 11 by the Federation of Italian-American Societies of Western New York.

An award will be given posthumously in memory of Joseph Forzisi, former owner of Sardina's Restaurant.

Linda J. Duvall, president of the Iron Island Preservation Society of Lovejoy and a longtime federal employee, has received the PLANE GSA Award, which recognizes an employee who contributes to GSA's environmental efforts on the job and in the community.

Ms. Duvall has spearheaded the adoption of Hennepin Park and the Davey Street Playground through the Olmsted Adopt-A-Park Program. She also has been instrumental in planning several cleanups and tree plantings in her Iron Island neighborhood. She received a certificate of appreciation in recognition of her efforts.

Junior Achievement of Western New York will honor three business leaders at the 1998 Junior Achievement Business Leadership Hall of Fame and Spirit of Achievement Awards Dinner Oct. 7 in the Hyatt Regency Buffalo.

William E. Swan, president and chief executive officer of Lockport Savings Bank, will be honored as the 1998 Hall of Fame Laureate.

Susan M. Augustine, president of Creative Concepts of WNY, will be honored as Entrepreneur of the Year, and Robert Bennett, New York State regent and president of the United Way of Buffalo and Erie County, will be honored as Educator of the Year.

Keynote speaker will be Ralph S. Larsen, chairman and CEO of Johnson & Johnson.

Brian K. Laible of Buffalo, a senior at Canisius College, has been chosen to receive the Arthur H. Carter scholarship, an award presented to what are regarded as the top 40 accounting students in the world.

Laible, an honor student, is to graduate from Canisius in the spring with a dual degree in accounting and finance. He has accepted an offer for a full-time position with the accounting firm of Ernst & Young LLP after graduation.

Leslie M. Sabina, associate professor of music at St. Bonaventure University, recently received a "Special Achievement Award" from the American Society of Composers, Authors & Publishers.

This award marked the fourth consecutive year that the organization recognized Sabina's original jazz works.

Sabina also has received grants and awards for jazz composition from the Canada Council, the International Association of Jazz Educators and the Performing Rights Organizations of Canada, which named him Jazz Composer of the Year in 1988.

As a saxophonist, Sabina has performed with Dizzy Gillepsie, Della Reese, Joe Williams, The Temptations and many others in the Detroit area.

His compositions have been published by Kendor Music, University of Northern Colorado Jazz Press and Dorn Publications.

Daemen College has voted for its outstanding faculty member, administrator and staff member.

The awards, announced at the college's fall convocation, were presented by Daemen President Martin J. Anisman to J. Edward Cuddy, chairman of the department of history and government and director of the international studies program, as outstanding faculty member; Christopher P. Malik, director of student activities, outstanding administrator; and Madaline D. Paynea, a member of the college's facilities management department, outstanding staff member.

Each received $500 and an engraved plaque.

Erie County Surrogate Joseph S. Mattina has been selected by the National College of Probate Judges as the winner of the 1998 Treat Award for Excellence in recognition of his "outstanding judicial accomplishments and service."

The award is named in honor of Judge William W. Treat, founder and president emeritus of the National College of Probate Judges. The award will be presented to Mattina at a banquet Nov. 13 in San Diego.

Dr. Joseph A. Bellanti, director of Georgetown University's International Center for Interdisciplinary Studies of Immunology, received the Distinguished Medical Alumnus Award from the University at Buffalo School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences at a dinner in his honor held recently in The Buffalo Club.

Bellanti, an expert in developmental immunology, received a bachelor's degree from UB in 1954 and a medical degree in 1958. Before begining his career at Georgetown, he interned at Millard Fillmore Hospital and completed a pediatric residency at Children's Hospital.