Share this article

print logo


News football polls
1. Sweet Home (4) 3-089
2. Niagara-Wheatfield (4) 3-087
3. St. Joe's (2) 3-084
4. Clarence 3-064
5. West Seneca West 3-061
6. Orchard Park 2-155
7. Pioneer 3-045
8. Timon/St. Jude 2-123
9. Jamestown 2-121
10. McKinley 2-08
1. Lackawanna (9) 3-099
2. Tonawanda (1) 3-090
3. Southwestern 3-073
4. Gowanda 3-069
5. Medina 3-052
6. Eden 3-045
7. Maple Grove 3-042
8. Albion 2-126
9. Salamanca 2-113
10. Cheektowaga 2-1 9
Also receiving votes (listed by points received) -- Large Schools -- Frontier, South Park, Hamburg. Small Schools -- Dunkirk, Cleveland Hill, Falconer, Pine Valley, Akron, Randolph, Burgard, Iroquois, Fredonia.

Coming attractions

The 19th annual Evening Optimist Invitational is Saturday at Beaver Island State Park on Grand Island, beginning with the small school division at 10 a.m., with the large schools to follow at 2 p.m.

Some of the top boys volleyball teams from across the state will compete in the 21st annual Eden Invitational, starting at 9 a.m. Saturday. The 16-team field includes teams from outside Section VI, such as Smithtown and Ward Melville from Long Island, Gates-Chili and Webster from Rochester and Central Square from Syracuse. Local teams are Canisius, Clarence, Eden, Frontier, Hamburg, Kenmore West, Kenmore East, Lake Shore, Lancaster, Orchard Park and Sweet Home. Frontier beat Smithtown for the title last year.

The Cinderella West Seneca West Indians (3-0) host the Orchard Park Quakers at 2 p.m. Saturday in a key Section VI Division I football showdown.

Two-time defending Niagara Frontier League girls swimming champion Lockport faces a stern early-season test at 6 p.m. today when it visits prime contender Kenmore West.

Honor roll

Western New York football players recognized this week by the Connolly Cup committee were: Kyle Eich (Cheektowaga), Jason Meyers (Alden), Troy Carnwrite (Gowanda), Ryan MacLean (St. Francis), Joe Kusmierski (Tonawanda), Mike Fanti (St. Joe's), Nick Condino (Niagara-Wheatfield), Randall Secky (Maple Grove), Brinton Battle (Jamestown), Andy Eggleston (Panama), Matt Michalski (Lake Shore), Geoff Gane (North Tonawanda), Jason Burch (Southwestern).

The Kenmore Schools Athletic Hall of Fame's 1998 class has been announced. Inducted from Kenmore East will be Paul Arena, Diane Dillon, Lori Donn Marshall, Patrick McAvinn, Darrin Peterson, Kenneth Rutkowski, Robert Rutkowski and Suzanne Schottke. Kenmore West inductees are Jackson Bowling, Jack Herlan, Kevin Hook, Lisa LoVullo, Robert Lucia, Ed Mahoney, George Miller and Gary Streichler. The induction ceremonies will be held at 6 p.m. Friday, Oct. 23 at the Sheraton Inn, 2040 Walden Ave., Cheektowaga. For tickets, call Mary Ann Tona at Kenmore East (874-8402) or Jim Dunnigan at Kenmore West (874-8401).

West Seneca West football coach Tom Braun received the Buffalo Bills Coach of the Week Award for the weekend of Sept. 11-12. The Indians rallied to beat Lockport, 14-13. The coach of the year will receive a $1,000 donation to his program.

Bulletin board

St. Francis is seeking two varsity and junior varsity basketball games for the month of December to complete its schedule. Contact Tom Pasternak, athletic director, at 627-2359.

The LaSalle boys basketball team is looking for opponents for non-league or early-season tournament games. Contact Pat Monti at 775-1314 or 278-8540.

The Park School is looking for a boys junior varsity basketball coach. Contact athletic director Mike Dugan at 839-1242 ext. 49 or 632-8017.
The Akron girls varsity and junior varsity basketball teams need another team to complete its field for a Dec. 11-12 tip-off tournament. Contact athletic director Ken Stoldt at 542-5416.

Send items to Sidelines, Scholastic Spotlight, Sports Department, The Buffalo News, One News Plaza, P.O. Box 100, Buffalo, N.Y., 14240 or FAX to 849-4587.

There are no comments - be the first to comment