Share this article

print logo


National Football League owners this afternoon voted down an attempt to bring back instant replay for the seventh straight year.

There were 21 votes cast in favor of replay, but 23 were needed for the measure to pass. The dissenting votes were made by Buffalo, Chicago, Cincinnati, Kansas City, San Diego, the New York Giants, Tampa Bay, Oakland and Arizona.

The replay vote was on a proposal that would allow coaches two challenges a game to calls, with the referee making the final decision by viewing a monitor on the field.

The proposal had been modified so that replay would be used on a one-year basis, but even that couldn't sway the vote.

There are no comments - be the first to comment