Share this article

print logo


Joe Williams won his third title and teammates Mark Ironside and Jeff McGinness their second each as Iowa took its fourth straight team title at the NCAA Division I wrestling championships.

The title was Iowa's 18th since 1975, including seven of the last eight. But it was the first under acting head coach Jim Zalesky, who took over when Dan Gable took a one-year leave after hip replacement surgery.

"This proved that Iowa wrestling isn't just Dan Gable," Ironside said. "It's an attitude."

Iowa totaled 115 points, with Minnesota posting its highest finish ever with 102 points in second. Oklahoma State was third with 99 1/2 points and Penn State fourth with 70 1/2 .

Dwight Gardner upset Oklahoma State's Hardell Moore at 158 pounds to become Ohio University's first champion in 20 years, and Ohio State's Mitch Clark, a former walk-on, won at 177 with a dominating 17-0 technical fall in one period.

There are no comments - be the first to comment