Share this article

print logo


Canisius earned its third boys tournament title of the season on Tuesday, beating Depew, 88-69, in the championship of the Clarence Tournament.

The undefeated Crusaders (7-0) also won the gold bracket of the Niagara PAL Tournament and the A Division of the Al Pastor Tournament.

Against the Wildcats, Canisius connected for 15 three-pointers, including seven from Frank Fusco (26 points). MVP Brian Keenan also had 26 points, giving him a two-game total of 45.

Tim Musielak led the Wildcats with 23 points and Chris Wojcik added 15. Don Piccolo grabbed 11 rebounds.

In the consolation, Don Harris had 19 points for Clarence in a 77-58 win over Bennett. Ryan Davis led the Tigers with 26 points.

Amherst Tournament: MVP Brian Skutt connected for 24 points to help Newfane win the title, 65-64, over Amherst. Skutt took control by scoring his team's last eight points. Branden Smith added 22 points on the strength of six three-pointers. Amherst was led by Brian Ferretti with 26.

Chris Fetter had 15 points to lead Williamsville East to a wild 56-54 victory over winless Grand Island. The Flames trailed by two points with 1.5 seconds left. A Grand Island player was fouled, but the fouled player retaliated and was called for a technical. Grand Island missed its one-and-one, but East's Austin Scaccia made both technical free throws. Then East inbounded the ball from half-court and Fetter hit a jumper at the buzzer to win it.

Bank of Holland Tournament: Joe Stoos scored 19 points, grabbed eight rebounds and had four blocks in an MVP performance that led Holland to the title, 50-48 in overtime, over East Aurora. Karl Paulsen added 16 points for the winners.

In the consolation, Ron Leazott scored a layup at the buzzer to give West Valley a 71-69, victory over Cheektowaga. The Wildcats rallied from a nine-point deficit after three quarters. The Warriors had the ball with seven seconds left and the score tied at 69-69, but turned it over. Leazott finished with 33 points, followed by Aaron Stahley with 19. Jim Bolszio led Cheektowaga with 25 points.

Cassadaga Valley Tourney: Gowanda got 19 points from MVP Robbie Jimerson in an 84-40 championship win over Westfield. Brandon Seneca added 13 points and Cisco Seneca 11 for the Panthers.

Ryan Burlingame tipped in a missed free throw at the buzzer to give Cassadaga Valley a 49-48 consolation victory. Rich Austin had 12 points and Joe Spayer added 11 for the Cougars. Clymer received 17 points from Ryan Wassink and 11 from Matt White.

Fredonia Tournament: Mark Price and Hassan El-Saddique had 27 points each to lead Riverside to the championship, 72-57, over Williamsville South. Price and El-Saddique combined for 18 points in the decisive third quarter. Seth Edwards led the Billies with 30.

In the consolation, Fredonia won its first game, beating Maple Grove, 58-45. James Sharrow led the Hillbillies with 16 points and seven rebounds. Greg Darling tossed in 16 points for the Red Dragons.

Hilton Tournament: Dan Kaminski had 14 points and Derek Nichols added 12 for Hamburg in a 77-52 consolation loss to Bishop Kearney.

Maryvale Tournament: MVP John Wilson scored 10 of his 23 points in the fourth quarter and grabbed 12 rebounds to lead St. Mary's of Lancaster to the title, 78-72, over Maryvale. St. Mary's outscored Maryvale, 23-12, in fourth quarter. Andy Kowalczyk added 16 points and David Wojcik had 10 for the Lancers. Maryvale was led by Marty Bochinski with 23 points and Kevin DiGiacomo with 19.

West Seneca West won its first game, beating JFK, 80-48, in the consolation. Mike Flynn led the Indians with 24 points and Mike Anderson added 16. Shane Moonan was also in double figures with 14. The Bears were led by Chris Buczek's 13 points.

New York-Penn Shootout: Kevin Eberz made two free throws with 1:30 left to give St. Joe's its third consecutive Shootout title, 51-50, over McDowell. McDowell missed two free throws with two seconds left. Jeff Senulis led the Marauders with 14 points and nine rebounds. Scott Pazderski added 10 points and seven assists.

Non-league: Tom Perkovich had 15 points and 11 rebounds as Tonawanda remained undefeated with a 63-45 win over Winston Churchill (Ont.). Jay Ensminger added 13 points and eight rebounds for the Warriors (7-0).

Rush-Henrietta Tournament: Duwand Dowell had 19 points and Johnny Helton had 17 for Kensington in a 75-68 loss to Canandaigua in the consolation. Cardel Love added 14 points and Will Hennegan chipped in with 10.

Spencerport Tournament: Shaun Maxwell earned MVP honors as Lockport held off Fairport, 50-49, to win the championship. Charles Shellman (13 points) and Jason Chaffin (12 points) led the Lions.

Wilson Tournament: Freshman Gregory French was named MVP after leading Traditional to a 67-48 victory over Wilson in the final. French finished with 14 points, nine assists and five steals. Greg Bradley and Jeremy Gorham had 14 each for the Lakemen.

In the consolation, Thomas Colemen had 14 points and 12 steals to lead Burgard to a 61-48 victory over Lafayette. Amiel Collins led the Violets with 14 points.

Girls basketball

Forestville Tournament: MVP Brandi John had 10 points for Gowanda in a 37-29 championship win over Silver Creek. Kim Jentz had 17 rebounds and Kristi Carlson grabbed 10 rebounds for the Panthers.

Hamburg Sun Tournament: Elissa Galenda scored 15 of her 19 points in the first half as Lake Shore won the title, 74-32, over Frontier. Andrea Mungovan chipped in with 17 points and made all nine free-throw attempts for the Eagles. Emily Dailey grabbed 10 rebounds and was named MVP.

Julie Staub led Hamburg with 10 points as the Lady Bulldogs beat Eden, 39-22, in the consolation.

Matt Colpoys Tournament: Kenmore East held off cross-town rival Kenmore West, 50-49, to claim the title as Jenny Gwizdowski and Mary Beth Owczarzak had 12 points apiece for the Bulldogs. The Blue Devils were paced by Andre Belis' 16-point effort.

Adrienne Welka scored 20 points and grabbed 14 rebounds to lead Mt. St. Mary's to a 61-21 consolation victory over Cardinal O'Hara. Jackie Roland added 11 for the Mount. Valerie Connell led the Hawks with 10.

Sweet Home Tournament: Adrienne Roseti claimed MVP honors by scoring 13 points and snaring 11 rebounds to lead Williamsville East past Lewiston-Porter, 40-35, in the title game. Lindsay Brent added 12 points for the Flames (6-1) while the Lancers got 18 points from Meghan House.

Marisa Sirianni had 19 points and 12 rebounds to lead Sacred Heart in the consolation, 48-42, over Sweet Home. Kelly Shuster added 14 points for the Sharks. Kathy Roos led the Lady Panthers with 18.

West Sen. East Kiwanis: MVP Joelle Anderson had 12 points to lead West Seneca West to a 54-38 win over JFK for the championship. Kristin Rauch also had 12 points for the Indians. Sara Gardon had 16 points and Jamie Gallagher added 13 for the Bears.

In the consolation, Kelly Weipert had 16 points and 20 rebounds to lead Cheektowaga to a 38-31 win over West Seneca East.

There are no comments - be the first to comment