Share this article

print logo


All on-duty members of the Buffalo Fire Department observed a moment of silence Saturday night in honor of five firefighters and two civilians who were killed Dec. 27, 1983, in a massive propane explosion.

Several fire crews observed their moment of silence at the explosion site on North Division Street. The observance was held at 8:23 p.m., the time of the blast that leveled most of a city block 14 years ago.

In addition to the seven persons killed, more than 60 people were injured, including 10 firefighters, in one of the worst disasters in city history. The blast was caused by a leaking 500-gallon propane tank.

Firefighters James C. Lickfeld, Michael Catanzaro, Michael Austin, Matthew Colpoys and Anthony Waszkielewicz were killed in the explosion.

"In honor of our fallen brothers, we ask that all members observe a moment of silence," the fire dispatcher said in a broadcast over the police/fire communications network.

There are no comments - be the first to comment