Share this article

print logo


The Board of Trustees of Niagara County Community College, Sanborn, has named community members to several of the College's curriculum advisory committees. The advisory committees assist NCCC faculty and administration in keeping programs current with the industry and provide networking and job placement opportunities for students.

Named to the Accounting Advisory Committee were: Gregory Miller, Accountemps, Buffalo; Christine Falbo, Merit Paving, Niagara Falls; and Doreen Parisse, CPA, Price Waterhouse LLP, Buffalo.

Buffalo Administration curriculum: Nancy Hunt, NCCC-NU Credit Union, Sanborn; Kevin McCabe, American Concrete, Lockport; Marytherese Hayes, Marine Midland Bank, Tonawanda; Sandra Hayes, Pine Avenue Business Association, Niagara Falls.

Professional Chef: Robert Bloom, Four-ninety Center Bar and Grill, Lewiston; Charles Marrazo Jr., Latina Foodservice, Tonawanda; Thomas Verdi, C.E.C., Lockport Town and Country Club; and Cornelia Walmsley, C.C.E., Lewiston.

Named to Animal Management Curriculum Committee were: Nancy Chapin, Niagara Aquarium, Niagara Falls; Helen Domske, Great Lakes Program at SUNY Buffalo; and David Perri, Marineland and Game Farm, Niagara Falls, Ont.

Dr. Daniel I. Rifkin of Millard Fillmore Hospital's Sleep Laboratory will serve on the Electroneurodiagnostic Technology Committee.

Debra Hopkins, M.A., Lyndonville; Norma Sturtevant, M.A., Lockport; and Linda Urbach, M.A., Kenmore Mercy Hospital, were selected to serve on the Medical Assisting program.

Ornamental Horticulture Committee members named were Nancy Dickey, Hi-Way Garden Center, Amherst; Thomas Mitchell, McKinley High School, Buffalo; and Terry Treichler, H.A. Treichler Greenhouses, Sanborn.

Joanne Conley, Newfane Health Facility; Kimberly Oslund, P.T.A., Erie County Medical Center; Patricie Reiter, P.T., Mount St. Mary's Hospital, Lewiston; and Kathy Leigh Retell, P.T.A., Niagara Falls Memorial Medical Center, will serve as advisers to the Physical Therapist Assistant program.

Reappointed to the Telecommunications Advisory Board were Anthony Buscaglia, Tops Markets, Buffalo; Michael Cochran, MCI, East Concord; Nicholas Fagiani, Adelphia Cable, Niagara Falls; and John Mann, Northern Telecommunications, Buffalo.

New to the Telecommunications committee are Jeremy Havens, Aerotek, Fairport; Paul Sacca, Tele-Data Switch, Buffalo; and Frank Vence, Ronco Communications, Lockport.

Drafting Advisory board members named include William Oddy, student member; Thomas Fare, Newfane High School; Michael Turri, Wendel Engineers, West Amherst; and Michael Wills, BOC Edwards, Grand Island.

Electrical Technology: Donald Kaiser, American Sigma, Medina; Jeffrey Miller, Philips Medical Systems, Niagara Falls; Wayne Smith, Delphi Thermal Systems, Lockport; and Robert Wawro, Ferguson Electric, Lockport.

Serving Mechanical Technology will be Kenneth Adams, Voss Manufacturing, Sanborn; Charles Gardner, Now-Tech Industries, Lackawanna; Richard Garigen, CMfgE., DuPont, Buffalo; Colin Cole, AFPS, Inc., Amherst; Laurel Harrington, Delphi Thermal Systems, Lockport; and Michael Jacobi, American Axel and Manufacturing, Buffalo.

Francis Matuszewski, SLC Consultant/Contractors, North Tonawanda; Lee McMenimem, Carborundum Abrasives, Niagara Falls; and Robert Tabb, Osborn Services, Lockport, were named to the Occupational Safety and Health Advisory Committee.

Thomas Anderson, Osmose Wood Preserving, Buffalo; and Dr. Robert E. Gibbons Jr., CWM Chemical Services, Niagara Falls, were appointed to the Science Laboratory Technology committee.

Reappointed to the Criminal Justice program committee were Robert Bradley, Niagara Falls Boys and Girls Club; Joseph Giacobbe, United States District Court, Buffalo; and Ronald Stanish, Niagara County Probation Department.

Gwen Archilli and Kathryn Duke will serve on the Human Services Committee. Archilli is with Family and Children's Services of Niagara and Duke is employed by Niagara Hospice.

Named to the Child Development Advisory Committee were Elizabeth Jackson, Orleans-Niagara BOCES Child Care Center; Esther Owens, Center for Early Childhood Education, Lockport; Kimberly LoDico, Happy Times Day Care Center, Lockport; and Amy Stojanovski, Memorial Child Care Center, Niagara Falls.

Named to serve on the Intercollegiate Athletics Committee were Daniel Johnson, Wilson Senior High School; Darlene Fegatilli, Niagara-Wheatfield High School; and Thomas Murphy, North Tonawanda Board of Education.

Gretchen Sheppard, Advantage Systems Professional, Lancaster; and Dr. Judith Willard, Niagara University, have been appointed to the Occupational Education committee.

Named to the computer information systems advisory committee were Dr. Larry Scott, Buffalo State College; Dr. Lawrence Boxxer, Niagara University; Barbara McManus, ProTech Computer Consultants, Niagara Falls; Neil Mercer, Mercer Consulting, Niagara Falls; and Shawn Thompson, Leica Inc., Amherst.

Rehabilitation services: Maria Rivett, Horizon Village, Sanborn; Timothy Teter, United Cerebral Palsy of Niagara County; Richard Dunn, CASAC, Niagara County Alcoholism Council; Sharon McGrath, Copin Foundation, Niagara Falls; Marlene Marciniak, DeGraff Memorial Hospital, North Tonawanda; Nancy Wangler, CSW, Family and Children's Services, Niagara Falls; and Michael Pulka, NYS Education Department Services for Individuals with Disabilities.

The Friends of the Niagara Falls Public Library have named the winners of their Book Grant Awards.

The winners are Jodi Ann Nasca of Niagara Falls High School, Michael Cadwallader of LaSalle Senior High School and Gregory Wolcott of Niagara Catholic High School.

Starpoint Intermediate School students have elected the following to the school's student council: Sarah Richardson, sixth grade, president; Adam Powley, sixth grade, vice president; Kirstin Pattison, fifth grade, secretary; Douglas Parker, fifth grade, treasurer; and Bobby Revell, sixth grade, bookstore manager.

Advisers for this years' student council are Shannon Carlone, sixth-grade teacher, and Todd Sukdolak, fifth-grade teacher. The school is on Mapleton Road in Lockport.

Members of the Youngstown Garden Club, led by Deidre Litt and Wendy Martin, spent two days decorating the French Castle at Fort Niagara for its annual fund-raising tours. Materials used in making the decorations were donated by Tom Tower of Tom Tower's Farm Market in Youngstown and by Anthony DiMino of Tops Market in Lewiston.

Matt Kofahl, a student at Niagara Falls High School, has been selected as the Good Citizen of the Year by the Niagara County Daughters of the American Revolution.

Kofahl was previously named the Niagara Falls High School Good Citizen of the Year by the faculty and senior class at his school, and competed against several other candidates who attend other high schools in the county.

The county D.A.R. award is based on a student's leadership, dependability, service and patriotism. Kofahl is now in contention for state and national recognition. Those awards also include a college scholarship.

The Write Touch Writers' Group has elected officers for 1988. Facilitators are Mary Jane Hellifax and John Cull; secretary is Delphine Levesque; treasurer is Roxanne Hocko; Roundtable coordinator is Terry McDonough; editor of the monthly newsletter, "Writer's Block," is Helene Lee; coffee, Bill Frantz.