Share this article

print logo


Dr. Carl V. Granger, director of the Center for Functional Assessment and professor and associate chairman of the department of rehabilitation medicine at the University at Buffalo, was selected by the American Academy of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation to present the 13th Walter J. Zeiter Lectureship at the academy's annual assembly in Atlanta.

His lecture, "The Emerging Science of Functional Assessment: Our Tool for Outcomes Analysis," was presented Nov. 14.

The lectureship was established in 1961 to honor a physiatrist who has made consistent contributions to the specialty and has earned the respect and admiration of peers for outstanding accomplishments in physical medicine and rehabilitation. Zieter was executive director of the academy and the American Congress of Rehabilitation Medicine from 1939 to 1959.

Granger, who is on the editorial board of the American Journal of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, received his medical degree from New York University, Bellevue Medical Center, and completed his residency at Walter Reed Army Hospital.

He was president of the academy in 1975 and 1976 and received the organization's highest honor, the Krusen Award, in 1993. He also has served as president of both the American Association of Electromyography and Electrodiagnosis and the International Federation of Physical Medicine.

The academy is the national medical special society of those who practice physical medicine and rehabilitation, also called physiatrists, who care for patients with acute and chronic pain, catastrophic injuries, musculoskeletal disorders, back pain and work- or sports-related injuries. They also coordinate the long-term rehabilitation of patients with spinal cord injuries, cancer, stroke or other neurological disorders, brain injuries, amputations and multiple sclerosis.

Judy A. Wagner of Depew has been recognized as 1997 Alumna of the Year by the Alumni Association of St. Mary's High School in Lancaster.

A member of the class of 1959, Mrs. Wagner has worked at the school as a secretary since 1972 and served as moderator of the school's ski club. She and her husband, Richard, have four children -- Linda, Jeff, Dan and Jill, all graduates of the school. Her sisters, Joyce Czarnecki of Clarence and Janice Archer of Clarence Center, also attended St. Mary's.

St. Mary's, a private college-preparatory Catholic high school, has been providing an education for young men and women since 1904. It is located in the Village of Lancaster.

Frederick P. Meli, a 1976 graduate of the University at Buffalo School of Engineering and Applied Sciences, has been elected president of the UB Engineering Alumni Association.

He received a bachelor's degree in civil engineering from UB and is a senior marketing engineer with KTA-TATOR.

Other officers are secretary, Louis A. Picciano; corresponding secretary, Jonathan E. Kolber; treasurer, Stephen Duechi; and past president, Stephen J. Golyski.

Lynn Millane, the first woman to serve as Amherst supervisor, recently received the second Amherst South Rotary Club Community Service Award to be presented in the club's 60-year history.

The award was conferred at the club's annual ladies night. She was cited for 30 years of volunteer and community service to Amherst and Western New York.

James E. Shelby, a member of the ceramic engineering faculty at the State College of Ceramics at Alfred University since 1982, recently was installed as the second John F. McMahon Professor of Ceramic Engineering in the college's School of Ceramic Engineering and Materials Science.

He succeeds Richard M. Spriggs, who retired in November.

Shelby, who has bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from the University of Missouri at Rolla, is the author of more than 200 publications, including two books, "Gas Diffusion in Solids and Melts" and "Introduction to Glass Science and Technology."

He is a fellow of the American Ceramic Society and a member of the Society of Glass Technology and American Society of Materials.

Robert J. Kurtz has been elected president of the 127th Tank Battalion Association.

Other 1998 officers include first vice president, Harry F. Peasland; second vice president, August E. Semenza; secretary, John W. Kammerer; treasurer, Eugene F. Moran; and sergeant at arms, Robert A. Mason.

Past presidents, who constitute the board of directors, are Michael T. Sullivan Jr., Francis Bowers Jr., David H. Merkle, Richard Wieand, Charles E. Learn Jr., Gregory M. Nizialek, Robert E. Conroy, Daniel S. Kowalczewski, Harry D. Stobie and Charles J. Stobie.

David Bartkowiak, 15, a sophomore at Frontier Central High School, became an Eagle Scout in a ceremony Dec. 4 in Our Lady of the Sacred Heart Catholic Church in the Town of Hamburg.

For his Eagle project, David, the son of Michael and Janet Bartkowiak of Blasdell, removed old shelving at the Lackawanna Food Pantry and cleaned, painted and restocked the pantry on new shelving.

Curt Krempa is his scoutmaster.

Raymond F. Gallagher, a member of the Erie Community College board of trustees, has been named to the 1997-98 legislative advocacy committee of the Association of Boards of Trustees of Community Colleges of the State University of New York.

As a committee member, Gallagher will help develop the association's legislative agenda in partnership with the Association of Presidents of Public Community Colleges.

He will also assist in developing a legislative seminar and Community College Day, both to be held next year.

Gallagher is a former chairman of the Niagara Frontier Transportation Authority.

Eric Herberger has been elected chief of Swormville Fire Company. He succeeds Jim Burkard, who served as chief of the volunteer company for four years.

Other firematic officers elected for next year are assistant chiefs, Steven J. Gnozzo and Daniel G. Herberger; captains, Christopher Auten and Mark Gray; and lieutenants, Kevin Leising and Brandon Houck.

The company has served Amherst and Clarence for more than 70 years.

Bellevue Volunteer Fire Company, Como Park Boulevard and Bennett Road, Cheektowaga, has elected Michael Rusiniak as chief and Richard Gerlach as president for next year.

Other line officers are first assistant chief, James Wozniak; second assistant chief, Anthony Filipski; captain, Gregory Gaczewski; lieutenant, Griff Pritchard; emergency medical services captain, Jeffrey Silsby; emergency medical service first lieutenant, James Stuckey; emergency medical service second lieutenant, Timothy Weymer; and fire police captain, Ordell Reitz.

Company officers are vice president, Scott Evans; company secretary, Griff Pritchard; corresponding secretary, Melanie Pilat; treasurer, Richard Frank; sergeant at arms, Ronald Strong; chaplain, Wallace Long; and directors, James Havernick Sr. and Mark Wegner.

Roger Restorff has been elected chief and Larry Ienco president of Ellwood Volunteer Fire Company, located at 1000 Englewood Ave., Town of Tonawanda.

Other officers for 1998 are first assistant chief, Edward Rick; second assistant chief, Patrick Stilwell; and captains, Gerald Lattin and Kenneth Olson.

Administrative officers are vice president, Gregory Kapodistria; secretary, Thomas Smith; treasurer, Joseph Paterno; chaplain, Dean Leaderstorf; sergeant at arms, John Donnelly; trustee, Joseph Makey; and benevolent trustee, Leon Jacobs.

Three pharmacy students at the University at Buffalo have been awarded $1,000 scholarships by the Women's Club of the Columbia University College of Pharmaceutical Sciences. They are Carmen Panetta of Albany, Brian Schoenle of Williamsville and William Lam of New York City.

There are no comments - be the first to comment