Share this article

print logo


Susan E. Mason of Amherst has been named vice president for academic affairs at Niagara University. Ms. Mason taught psychology at NU from 1979 to 1987 and headed the department before becoming the university's first female dean of the College of Arts and Sciences.

She has been acting vice president for academic affairs since July.

Karen L. Lesinski, assistant principal of Clarence Senior High School, has been named Woman Administrator of the Year by Western New York Women in Administration, an organization of female school administrators. She was honored at a September awards dinner.

Dr. Thomas B. Tomasi, former president and chief executive officer of Roswell Park Cancer Institute, will receive an honorary doctorate in science Wednesday from the State University of New York during the University at Buffalo's third annual University Convocation.

Jacob B. Hyman, a professor of law and former dean of the UB School of Law, will be honored for 50 years' service to the university at a 3 p.m. event in the Center for the Arts on UB's North Campus in Amherst.

Keynote speakers will be Bruce H. Jackson, SUNY distinguished professor of English and Samuel P. Capen Professor of American Culture, and Sargur N. Srihari, SUNY distinguished professor of computer science and director of the Center of Excellence for Document Analysis and Recognition.

Five UB faculty members recently named SUNY distinguished professors and 10 faculty and staff members who recently received SUNY Chancellor's Awards for Excellence also will be honored.

Two teachers from Buffalo and one from the Sweet Home Central School district are among 12 state finalists for the 1988 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

They are Norma Gentner, a science teacher at Sweet Home's Heritage Heights Elementary School; Therese Drew, who teaches math at the Follow Through Magnet School; and Lynn Piccirillo, a math teacher at the School 54 Early Childhood Center. The finalists were selected by the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics and the Council of State Science Supervisors.

Ohio's high court has selected Jonathan E. Coughlan, one of Erie County District Attorney Frank J. Clark's top investigative prosecutors, to oversee its lawyer-judge disciplinary operations, court officials announced Thursday.

Coughlan, 44, headed Clark's Special Investigations unit for the past 21 months. He has been named the state of Ohio's disciplinary counsel by the Ohio Supreme Court in Columbus.

Coughlan was named after a six-month term to a four-year term as head of a 17-person unit investigating allegations of misconduct and mental illness affecting Ohio judges and attorneys.

A 10-year employee of the district attorney's office, Coughlan was a former public defender.

Cecelia Lyons, a nurse practitioner in Wyoming County, received the Outstanding Nurse Practitioner of the Year Award last week from the Western New York Chapter of the National Association of Pediatric Nurse Associates.

She was honored for her "extraordinary commitment to the families of rural Wyoming County," where she provides primary pediatric care at the Wyoming County Community Hospital's Pediatric Center.

Nancy A. Ross, a family nurse practitioner student at Niagara University, and Donna Jones, a pediatric nurse practitioner student at the University at Buffalo, shared the association's Student Nurse Practitioner of the Year Award, given for outstanding student performance.

The awards were presented Thursday during a dinner meeting of the association.

David G. Puccio of Amherst has been named instructor for the children's programs at Tracy's Kenpo Karate, 3928 Harlem Road, Amherst, senior instructor Brian Hulse reports. Puccio, a graduate of Amherst Central High School and an honors graduate in criminal justice from Erie Community College, recently earned his first-degree black belt.

Pamela Davis Heilman, John Arnet and Paul Anthon have been selected to receive awards Oct. 28 at the 19th annual Dinner of Champions held by the Western New York-Northwestern Pennsylvania Chapter of the National Multiple Sclerosis Society in the Hyatt Regency Buffalo.

Ms. Heilman, who will receive the Community Champion Award, is a partner in the law firm of Hodgson, Russ, Andrews, Woods & Goodyear. She recently completed four years as chairwoman of the board of the directors of the United Way of Buffalo and Erie County.

Arnet, president of We Care Transportation, the largest medical transportation service in the area, will receive the Stephen H. Kelly Award for helping to improve the lives of people with multiple sclerosis.

Anthon will be given the Inspirational Award, presented to a person with multiple sclerosis who is an inspiration to others. He is the superintendent of communications and alarm systems for the Buffalo Fire Department and recently was honored by the city for developing and setting up a $1 million computer-assisted dispatch system.

Joel Tracy of Williamsville has been chosen for inclusion in the 1998-1999 edition of Who's Who in Finance and Industry. He recently was named manager for global marketing research at Westwood-Squibb.

Wallace C. Piotrowski, a West Seneca town justice, has been chosen chairman of the executive committee of the Western New York Chapter of the Juvenile Diabetes Foundation International.

Other officers are: vice president for education and outreach, Laurel A. Spada of East Amherst; vice president for fund raising, Joyce Pavia of Buffalo; vice president for government relations, Leonard Cherpak of Williamsville; vice president for public relations, Elise Cadoret of Williamsville; secretary, Laurie Schreiner of Ontario, N.Y.; and treasurer, Mark D. DeBacker of Hamburg.

At-large members include John J. Byrne, David R. DiMatteo, Jack Foley, C. Douglas Hartmayer, Patrick Henry, David Hogenkamp, Elizabeth Kelley, Michele Ladouceur, Joan Lanphier, James W. Manguso, Dan McDonald, Jay McDonnell, Theresa Mercuri, Michael Metzger, Nathan N. Powell, James Rehak Jr., Robert Rich III, Larry Robb, Joanie Shatkin and Marilyn Sifontes.

Canisius College has chosen six graduates to be honored with its 1997 Distinguished Alumni Awards. They were recognized in an awards ceremony Oct. 4 in the Richard E. Winter Student Center.

They include John A. Bellanti, president and chief executive officer of Battenfeld Management Inc. and owner of the Buffalo Blizzard soccer team; Cynthia L. Skrzycki, business columnist for the Washington Post and a former Buffalo News reporter; AssemblymanRobin Schimminger; William D. Bennett, assistant professor of teacher education at the college; Lillian M. Levey, retired vice president and assistant to the president of the college and Norman R. Myslinski, associate professor of neuroscience at the University of Maryland Dental School.