Share this article

print logo


Five news professionals, including a 1997 alumna, will be honored Friday at St. Bonaventure University's annual Mark Hellinger Awards Luncheon at the Plaza in New York City.

Receiving the Mark Hellinger Award, the university's highest honor to a graduate of the Russell J. Jandoli School of Journalism and Mass Communication, will be 1997 graduate Michele Passalugo.

A native of Cortland and a magna cum laude graduate, she worked in a variety of senior editorial positions at The Bona Venture, the school newspaper.

Ms. Passalugo currently is publications coordinator for the Motor and Equipment Manufacturers Association in Research Triangle Park, N.C.

Nat Hentoff, syndicated columnist and author, will receive the Bob Considine Award for outstanding accomplishments in print journalism. His columns appear regularly in the Village Voice and the Washington Post.

Donna Rucci Collins, a 1979 St. Bonaventure graduate, will receive the Alumna of the Year Award. She is editor of Business First of Buffalo and is one of the paper's original staff members.

Forrest Sawyer, anchor for ABC-TV's "Day One" and "Turning Point" news programs, will receive the Douglas Edwards Award, which is given to an outstanding broadcast professional. He is a nine-year veteran of ABC News. He holds degrees from the University of Florida.

Marilyn Laurie, executive vice president for brand strategy and marketing communications at AT&T, will receive the Thomas Mosser Award, which is given to an outstanding person in public relations. A graduate of Barnard College with a master's degree from Pace University, she was an originator of Earth Day in 1970 and co-founder of the Environmental Action Coalition.

There are no comments - be the first to comment