Share this article

print logo


Mayor Kenneth D. Swan, a Republican who won the GOP endorsement for re-election Monday, has received the designation as the Democratic nominee, after no enrolled Democrat sought the office.

The Republican City Committee also endorsed aldermanic candidates in three wards where Republican primaries will be held but failed to endorse the only Republican candidate in the 6th Ward, R. Harry Jones.

The GOP committee endorsed Emma Cavalieri, one of three candidates for the Republican nomination for 1st Ward alderman; Richard D. Schad, one of two GOP candidates in the 2nd Ward; John M. Carroll in the 5th Ward; and Council President Michael W. Tucker in the 7th Ward.

Candidates unopposed for the Republican nomination were endorsed in the 3rd, 5th and 8th wards. The party has no candidate in the 4th Ward.

The city committee also continued its opposition to John Long as county GOP chairman by calling for his resignation.

There are no comments - be the first to comment