Share this article

print logo


State Trooper Kenneth W. White is being honored as lawman of the year by the Judges and Police Executives Conference of Niagara County, according to George Berger, conference vice president.

White, 47, a trooper since 1980 and a State Parks Police officer before that, is being honored for the "consistent and steady way he has performed his duties as a police officer over the length of his career," Berger said. "This award is not given out because of a specific thing an officer does in the line of duty.

"He exemplifies the ideals of what a good police officer should be. He's the kind of police officer you ask to do something and never have to think about it again because you know its going to be done."

White will be honored at the annual Ladies Night dinner-dance and installation of officers at 7 p.m. April 22 in the Como Restaurant.

Some day, Christine Jozwiak of Springville may want to roar just as loudly as any other member of the Lions International.

She's on the path. As a member of the five-year-old Franklinville-Machias Lions Club, she has been appointed chairwoman of the South Towns Region of Lions District 20-N. She is the first woman to hold the position. The region consists of Lions Clubs in Arcade, Ellicottville, Franklinville-Machias, Gowanda, Olean, Portville, Salamanca and Springville.

"I will have a Lions officer training school May 13 in the Springville United Methodist Church," Mrs. Jozwiak said.

She is also the first woman named a voting member of the Lions district governor's cabinet. Her husband, James, is past governor of Lions District 20-N and a member of both the Springville and Franklinville-Machias Lions clubs.

Two of the eight clubs in the South Towns Region remain all-male bastions, the Arcade and Springville Clubs. "You have to be invited to join," she said.

The barriers that kept women from joining some service clubs partly crumbled in 1986, but some walls still stand.

Katey Joyce, the director of Haven House, was honored by area social workers at a luncheon in the Hearthstone Manor in Depew.

The Western New York membership of the National Association of Social Workers selected Ms. Joyce as the Frances Engel Social Worker of the Year for her leadership and advocacy in the area of family violence.

Bernadine Butler, Julia Hall and Suzanne Tomkins are the organization's Citizens of the Year. They were selected for founding the Women's Law Center.

A Niagara Frontier Transit Authority official will be part of a group of U.S. transit officials touring Europe this spring to learn about innovative practices in public transportation.

Karen Rae, deputy general manager of Metro Bus/Rail, is part of a 14-member study mission that will visit Vienna, Salzburg, Zurich, Munich, Freiburg, Strasburg and Paris. She was one of 74 applicants for the federally funded program.

The three-week study mission is intended to help participants identify new roles for public transportation. The cities were chosen based on the important role mass transit plays in their quality of life.

Ms. Rae is active in several state and federal transit organizations.

Two Buffalo high school seniors have been awarded $1,000 Alfred State College Presidential Scholarships.

The awards went to Gwendolyn Sajecki of McKinley High School, who will study horticultural production, and to Norwyn Souter of Hutchinson-Central Technical High School, who plans to follow the architectural engineering technology program. They begin classes next fall.

Scholarships are awarded to high school seniors whose junior year averages were 90 or higher.

The West Side Business and Taxpayers Association has selected former State University of New York Chancellor D. Bruce Johnstone as its Man of the Year.

The group cited Johnstone's many contributions to the association, including the establishment, while he was president of Buffalo State College, of the Community Relations Advisory Council.

The advisory council brought together community organizations and introduced them to Buffalo State's faculty, students and the college's resources.

The college and the association also have worked together on such projects as neighborhood cleanup campaigns, sporting events, theater productions and a community-day picnic.

Kristine Aldrow, food service director of Bertrand Chaffee Hospital and Jennie Richmond Nursing Home, Springville, received a 1995 silver medal award from the Council of Food Service Associations, a 12-year-old agency working to promote professionalism and understanding among food service providers.

John Karl has been installed as fire chief of the Main-Transit Fire Department, which has been serving Amherst since 1936.

Other elected and appointed officers of the volunteer department, which has Fire Station No. 1 at 6777 Main St. and Fire Station No. 2 at 5560 Sheridan Drive, include the first assistant fire chief, Carl Fischer; second assistant fire chief, James Lawida; senior fire captain, Robert Karl; fire captains, Jon Kemp, James Rusin, P.J. Connolly and Christopher Feuz; fire lieutenants, Thomas Irr, William Riley, Christopher Schunk and Robert Zehler; first-aid captain, Scott Minnuni; and first-aid lieutenants, James Edwards and Michael Heimerl.

Also, fire police captain, Bruce Krebs; fire police lieutenant, Ronald Urschel; communications officers, Christopher Yambor and Brent Krebs; master mechanic, Russell Swanson; assistant mechanic, Brett Lesser; line clerk, Robert Karl; chaplain, Frank Ryan; assistant chaplain, Joseph Clouse; and safety officers, Earl Emmons and William Karl.

Administrative officers installed include the president, Thomas Vanderlinden; vice president, William Karl; secretary, Fred Hoffman; financial secretary, B. Crossley; treasurer, Harry Schick; sergeant-at-arms, David Chmielewski; and members of the board of directors, John Karl, William Karl, Jon Kemp, James Saxer, Harry Schick, Andrew Yambor and Thomas Vanderlinden.

JoAnn Breissinger was installed as president of the Ladies Auxiliary. Other officers include the vice president, Barb Krebs; secretary, Debbie McDermot; treasurer, Diane Elmer; financial secretary, Judy Klug; chaplain, Betty Pulera; and members of the board, Donna Edwards, Marge Kolb, Fran McGuffey and Brenda Pulera.

Officers of the Main-Transit Fire Department Benevolent Association include the president, Russell Swanson; vice president, Walter Breissinger; secretary, Carl Fischer; treasurer, Ronald Urschel; and directors, Joseph Baudo, Earl Emmons, James Lawida, Robert Leising and Russell Swanson.

There are no comments - be the first to comment