Share this article

print logo


The University at Buffalo honored twelve faculty members who are authors or co-authors of 11 United States patents received in 1994. Honorees and their patents are: Yong-Chul Shin and Ramalingam Sridhar, basic-synapse chip design with novel four-quadrant operation; Roger W. Mayne, co-located piezoelectric sensor/actuator for detecting stress or strain in a structure; Wayne K. Anderson, drug useful as a fungicide, bactericide and as a growth inhibitor for solid-tumor cancer; Abir Mullick, sling apparatus useful for transporting the mobility-disadvantaged into and out of bed; Sargur N. Srihari, computer algorithm that allows machines to "read" human handwriting; Nady E. Nady-Mohamed, medical device designed to provide shielding and/or gripping means during abdominal surgery; Joseph C. Mollendorf, neck brace that is aesthetically pleasing; Timothy F. Murphy, vaccine to prevent ear infections in children; Jerome J. Schentag, computer-controlled "smart pill" that can be electronically tracked and instructed to deliver a drug to a predetermined location in the gastrointestinal tract; and Ho-Leung Fung and John A. Bauer, a drug that can be used in place of nitroglycerin for cardiovascular. The drug's improvement is that patients do not develop tolerance or experience headaches.

The Million Dollar Advocates Forum has announced that attorney Michael H. Doran has been certified as a member. Membership is limited to trial lawyers who have achieved a verdict or settlement in the amount of $1 million or more.

There are no comments - be the first to comment