Share this article

print logo


Twenty-six young women will be presented today at the Silver Anniversary Debutante Pageant of Alpha Kappa Alpha sorority in Rockwell Hall at Buffalo State College. A dinner and dance in Hyatt Regency Buffalo will complete the festivities.

"Heritage: Memories That Last Forever" is the theme for the event which has been held bi-annually since 1940.

Crystal Boling Barton is chairwoman of the season during which the debutantes participated in a series of social, cultural and intellectual events. Co-chairwoman is Elizabeth F. Bradley. Chairwomen of the pageant and ball are Constance B. Eve and Fern Beavers.

Suzanne M. Thomas, harpist, and Melanie Haas, violinist, will provide music for the pageant and previous debutantes will be hostesses.

To be honored in the pageant are Leah Benjamin, Dereese Blue, Kendell Burwell, Kai Carter, Jaye Clark, Kelly Frank, Sonia Franklin, Lisa Funderbirk, Alexa Givens, Stacey Grant, Ayana Griggs, Camille Johnson, Cindy Barnes-Johnson, Tinese Lowe, Michelle Martin, Jamille McCullough, Sandy Patterson, Carmen Pierce, Janis Rainey, Fatima Rodriguez, Roslyn Ruff, Bonetta Smith, Kenya Murray-Walker, Shilo Wallace, Gradycia Williams, Diane Young.

There are no comments - be the first to comment