Share this article

print logo


William G. Gisel Jr., Robert E. Dillon and Edward A. Williams have been honored by the Nichols School. The school presented its highest awards to alumni and faculty Friday at the 65th annual alumni luncheon at the school on Amherst Street.

Gisel, corporate vice president of the International Division of Rich Products Corp., was given the highest award Nichols accords a member of its alumni -- the 1990 Alumni Award for Distinguished Service.

Dillon, executive vice president and chief financial officer of the SONY Corp. of America, became the first recipient of a newly created award bearing his name -- the Robert E. Dillon '49 Alumni Award "to recognize extraordinary contributions to Nichols by out-of-town alumni."

Williams, a member of the English faculty at Nichols for more than 25 years, was recipient of the Nichols Honorary Alumnus Award.

Gisel, a 1970 Nichols graduate, is immediate past president of the school's alumni board, and co-chairman of its Centennial Committee. Dillon, of Westfield, N.J., is a former Nichols trustee and serves on the school's Endowment Committee.

Officers of American Legion Coast Guard Post 1529 are: commander, Philip C. Lombardo; first vice commander, James J. Bartlett; second vice-commander, Sherwood F. Littlefield; adjutant, Henry A. Vogt; finance officer, Russell F. Tripi; chaplain, Paul L. Bussell; historian, Henry A. Vogt; sergeant-at-arms, Seymour R. Jaffey, and service officer, John D. O'Neil.

Officers of the Milton J. Brounshidle Post 205 of the American Legion are: commander, William F. Lord; first vice commander, Carl Marranca; second vice commander, Thomas Burns; third vice commander, Henry Baten; adjutant, John Hamilton; finance officer, Raymond Lang; historian, Peter Pond; sergeant-at-arms, Salvatore Cicatello; chaplain, Robert Schifferli, and judge advocate, H. Walker Hawthorne.

Edward F. Bartz of Hamburg has been re-elected president of South Towns Chapter 1221 of the National Association of Retired Federal Employees. Other officers are: first vice president, William Barr; second vice president, Robert Couche; secretary, Stephen Krzes, and treasurer, Corinne Bartz. Appointed chaplain was Robert Connors.

Maureen Curry, director of the Olean Public Library, has been presented a 1990 award for "meritorious service" by the Cornell Cooperative Extension in Cattaraugus County. Richard E. Rich, executive director of the Cooperative Extension office in Ellicottville, said the award is given in recognition of outstanding and dedicated service as a volunteer leader. She completed the maximum of two terms on the extension's Board of Directors. . . .

Michael Long, Ph.D., associate professor of music history at the University at Buffalo, has received the Albert Einstein Award from the American Musicological Society.

The award is presented annually for the most significant article by a young scholar in the field of musicology.

Long won the award for a piece titled "Symbol and Ritual in Josquin's Missa DiDadi," published in the Journal of the American Musicological Society.

Sister Denise A. Roche, president of D'Youville College, has been elected president of the Association of Colleges and Universities of the State of New York for a one-year term.

The association is the umbrella organization representing all degree-granting institutions in the state. Its board of trustees consists of the chancellors of the State University of New York and the City University of New York, the chairman and president of the Commission on Independent Colleges and Universities, the commissioner of education and 20 presidents of colleges and universities.

In her first major role as president of the association, she will preside at a Feb. 5 meeting in Albany in which "Higher Education and the Economic Future of New York State" will be discussed. . . .

There are no comments - be the first to comment