Share this article

print logo


Two individuals and the Western New York Chapter of the Alzheimer's Disease and Related Dementias Association were honored recently at the 10th annual membership meeting of the Network in Aging of Western New York, a voluntary, not-for-profit coalition of individuals involved in the fields of aging and long-term care.

Francis "Mac" McCoy, director of the Chautauqua County Office for Aging, received the Meritorious Service Award. State Sen. John B. Sheffer II, R-Amherst, received a Special Presidential Citation for "demonstrating a strong commitment to the needs of the aging through his support of the Network and Amherst Senior Center, as well as through his support and leadership in addressing the needs of the aging in New York State."

The association's Western New York Chapter received the Network's Special Program Award for its community awareness and training program, which, since 1986, has worked to enhance the lives of those caring for victims of Alzheimer's disease.

Dr. Richard Ament, vice chairman of the Department of Anesthesiology at the University at Buffalo, has been elected to a two-year term as president of the Jewish Federation of Greater Buffalo.

Ament, past president of both the American Society and New York State Society of Anesthesiologists, has been associated for many years with Buffalo General Hospital and Children's Hospital. He also is a past president of the Buffalo Jewish Center and Temple Beth Zion.

Elected to two-year terms on the federation's board of governors were Janet Desmon, Larry Franco, Shelley Hirshberg, Brian Joseph, Leonard Kaminker, Rabbi Steven Mason, Sandra Rifkin, Jeffrey Rochwarger, Richard Romer, Joyce Siegel, Isadore Snitzer, Ellen Warner, Rosalind Weiss and Janet Wisbaum.

Alfred Frosolone has been installed as the 34th president of the Kiwanis Club of Lewiston. He joined the club in 1977. Other officers include: first vice president, Robert Trunzo; second vice president, Walter Polka; secretary, Jack Hanrahan, and treasurer, Timothy Touchette.

Lt. Thomas Telesco is the new president of the Buffalo Police Command Officers Association. Other officers elected at a Wednesday night meeting included: first vice president, Capt. Gerard A. Calvaneso; recording secretary, Lt. Frank Zagora, and treasurer, Lt. Christopher Rannick. Telesco succeeds Lt. Robert Penders as head of the 200-member organization.

Harold Wolf has been elected president of the Bowmansville Volunteer Fire Association for 1991.

Other officers include: vice president, Mark Lawniczak; recording secretary, Wayne J. Stewart Jr.; corresponding secretary, James Gaskin; financial secretary, George Neuner; treasurer, Norman Preston, and directors, Frank DiSanto, Mark Lawniczak, George Neuner, Thomas Trzepacz and George MacPeek.

The chief will be Robert Sinclair. Other line officers include: first assistant chief, Kevin Chudy; second assistant chief, Anthony Martino; captain, Donald F. Wegst Jr.; first lieutenant, Douglas R. Chapman; second lieutenant, Paul Lippert; foreman, Michael Lukas, and first aid captain, Raymond Hartel Jr.

Officers for the Ladies Auxiliary include: president, Jeanette Chapman; vice president, Gladys Neuner; secretary, Dianne Dueringer; treasurer, Zoe Ann Preston; sergeant-at-arms, Elizabeth Schaefer; sunshine lady, Ruth Herrnreiter; chaplain, Angela Stewart, and trustees, Theresa Wolfe, Carrie Minard and Gladys Neuner.

Janice M. Camplin of Angola, curriculum coordinator at Lake Shore Central School, was one of 59 economic educators selected from the Mid-Atlantic region to receive a Pew Charitable Trusts Fellowship award from the Joint Council on Economic Education.

William Lauber has been elected president and James Koral chief of Doyle Volunteer Hose Company No. 2 for 1991.

Other officers of the company at 100 Willowlawn Parkway in Cheektowaga include: vice president, Robert Curto; secretary, Thomas Krawczyk; financial secretary, Alex Milutinovic; treasurer, Paul Owens; sergeant-at-arms, Edward Tokasz; board member, Larry Rydzynski; first assistant chief, Mark Jedd; second assistant chief, Arnold Mazurkiewicz; third assistant chief, Lawrence Burdzy, and first aid captain, Kevin Koscieniak.

James Cardone, senior vice president of Metrotellers Systems Inc., has been elected president of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Clinic, 3350 Main St. Other officers include: vice presidents, Donald A. Larson and Gail Orffeo; treasurer, Joanne Delia, and secretary, Susan McGraw. Elected to the board of directors were Terry Burton, Dr. Leslie Clapp, Timothy Wach, Linda L. Kaumeyer and Guy T. Outlaw.

Yvonne G. Kay of Lewiston has been named manager of textiles and subcontracts at the Blind Association of Western New York, 1170 Main St. She previously was an office manager and assistant plant manager at Treasure Knit in Niagara Falls.

The association also announced the appointment of Andrew Moot as electronic data processing manager. He will be responsible for streamlining and automating the agency's financial review system.

There are no comments - be the first to comment