Share this article

print logo


The Cattaraugus County Legislature will have a new chairman in 1991 after the Legislature's majority Republicans Wednesday elected Don B. Winship of South Dayton to take over the position.

Winship was chosen in a caucus. The entire Legislature will reorganize Jan. 2 when Winship is expected to be seated. Republicans control the Legislature, 14-9.

He will replace Bruce J. Moody, R-Hinsdale, who has served three years. Moody is stepping down because the chairman's salary of $11,000 interferes with his retirement benefits.

In the caucus, Republicans decided Moody will serve as vice chairman.

Peter Kittleson of Yorkshire was elected to a fourth term as majority leader.

He said he will reappoint Gerard Fitzpatrick of Ellicottville as his assistant and Patrick McCrea of Franklinville as majority whip.

Winship, who has served as vice chairman for three years, said he will announce committee appointments in January after "carefully analyzing people so that their talents are best used."

Winship, who chairs the Negotiating Committee, said an agreement for the county's three labor unions is probably unlikely before Dec. 31, when current contracts expire.

"That is our goal," he said. "However, we are far apart on money issues." About 1,000 workers are covered under the contracts.

There are no comments - be the first to comment