Share this article

print logo


Joseph K. Eade was re-elected minority leader of the Cattaraugus County Legislature by Democratic legislators at a reorganizational
caucus Thursday.

Eade, who turned back a challenge from Mary Bernstein of Olean, will begin his 26th year as minority leader and his 27th year as a legislator.

Anne Marie Costello of Kill Buck was re-elected assistant minority leader.

Eade appointed Benjamin Calabro of Salamanca as
minority whip.

Eight of the nine Democrats attended the meeting headed by Cattaraugus County Democratic Party Chairwoman Mary C. Rich of Allegany. Legislator Daniel McCarthy of Olean was absent.

Eade said McCarthy will resign his post this month because he is moving to Franklinville where he has taken a job as a high school principal.

The majority Republican legislators will meet Wednesday to choose leaders for next year.

Chairman Bruce J. Moody of Hinsdale has announced he will step down, and Vice Chairman Don B. Winship of South Dayton said he is a candidate for the position.

Majority Leader Peter Kittleson of Yorkshire is expected to be re-elected.

There are no comments - be the first to comment