Share this article

print logo


Cattaraugus County residents have been appointed to Southern Tier committees dealing with transportation and solid waste.

Legislature Chairman Bruce J. Moody has appointed Legislators Gerard J. Fitzpatrick, R-Ellicottville, and Benjamin J. Calabro, D-Salamanca, and Public Works Commissioner Rickey M. Johnson to the Southern Tier Solid Waste Committee. They will join people from Allegany and Chautauqua counties to discuss solid waste problems and how to work together to resolve the issues.

Moody's appointments to the Transportation Improvement for the Southern Tier Committee are Legislators John Walgus, R-Gowanda, and Richard Vossler, D-Allegany, Limestone Mayor Jeffrey Kessel, Ellicottville Supervisor John Widger and Sidney Bickell, operations manager of the county Public Works Department. Representatives from Allegany and Chautauqua counties will also serve on the committee seeking ways to improve area highways, including the completion of Routes 17 and 219 and four-lane highways.

There are no comments - be the first to comment