Share this article

print logo


Manager Terry Collins was among four active members of the Bisons organization named to the club's "Team of the Decade," announced at a ceremony between games of Sunday's double-header against the Richmond Braves.

The team, encompassing players from 1979-1989, was chosen by fan balloting.

Current hitting instructor Steve Henderson, a player in 1986 and 1989, was chosen as the DH, Dorn Taylor (1988-present) was chosen as the Bisons' right-handed starting pitcher of the decade and Scott Little (1988-present) made the team as the utility player.

Other players named were: Tony Pena (catcher, 1979); Joe DeSa (first base, 1985-1986); Bryan Little (second base, 1985-86, 1988) Kelly Gruber (third base, 1983); Jay Bell (shortstop, 1987 and 1989); Dwight Taylor (left field, 1983); John Cangelosi (center field, 1985 and 1988); Benny Distefano (right field, 1988-1989); Dave Dravecky (left-handed starting pitcher, 1979-1980); and Doug Jones (relief pitcher, 1987).

At the same ceremony, three former Bison greats, all now deceased, were inducted into the Buffalo Baseball Hall of Fame.

Frank "Beauty" McGowan was in baseball for over 50 years as a player, manager, and scout. He played center field for the Bisons from 1934-1937 and led them to the International League playoff championship in 1936.

Ray Schalk managed the Bisons in a team-record 1,052 games from 1932-1937 and 1950 and led them to league championships in 1933 and '36.

Jimmy Walsh had his greatest success in the minors as a left fielder for the Bisons in 1925-1926. He led the International League in hitting in each of those seasons, the only Buffalo player ever to do so.
Bisons second baseman Armando Moreno went 0 for 3 in Sunday's opening game, snapping an 11-game hitting streak. . . . Moises Alou's single in the fourth inning of the second game broke an 0-for-20 slump. . . . Outfielder Jeff Cook, batting .220 in 52 games, has been sent to Double A Harrisburg.
The Bisons begin a three-game road trip at Pawtucket tonight (7:00, WGR), with Vicente Palacios, Dorn Taylor and Hugh Kemp scheduled to start.

There are no comments - be the first to comment