Share this article

print logo


Frank "Beauty" McGowan, Ray Schalk and Jimmy Walsh -- three deceased major league baseball players who were with the Buffalo Bisons in the 1920s and '30s -- will be inducted into the Buffalo Baseball Hall of Fame at Pilot Field Sunday afternoon.

McGowan, a Bisons center fielder from 1934-37, spent 50 years in the sport as a player, manager and scout. Most of his career was in the minors, but he batted .262 in 375 major league games with the Philadelphia Athletics, St. Louis Browns and Boston Braves. His best season was 1928, when he hit .363 in 47 games for St. Louis.

McGowan, nicknamed for his handsome features and smoothness in the field, led the Bisons to the 1936 International League pennant and playoff championship as he batted .356 with 23 homers and 111 RBIs. He died in 1982 at the age of 80.

Schalk, a 17-year catcher with the Chicago White Sox and New York Giants, managed Buffalo from 1932-37 and again in 1950. He was elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown in 1955. His 1,052 games (won 544, lost 508) are a record for a Herd skipper. His clubs won the 1936 pennant and took the playoff titles in 1933 and 1936.

As a catcher with the White Sox from 1912-1928, he led the American League in fielding eight times and putouts nine times. He was the catcher in the infamous 1919 World Series but was untouched by the fixing scandal. He died in 1970 at 77.

Walsh, a left fielder, played from 1907 to 1931 and was with Buffalo in 1925 and 1926. He batted .231 while playing in 536 major league games with the Philadelphia Athletics, New York Yankees and Boston Red Sox. He also played with 15 minor league teams in seven leagues.

He was 39, but the club thought he was 36, when he joined the Bisons in 1925. He hit a league-leading .357 in 1925 and .388 in 1926. In 1926, he set the Bisons' record for hitting safely in 31 straight games. He died in 1962 at age 76.

The trio will join the Hall's 30 other members in ceremonies before the 2:05 p.m. game between Buffalo and Richmond.

They were elected by a nine-member panel of media members and baseball executives headed by Vincent M. McNamara, former president of the New York-Pennsylvania League.

There are no comments - be the first to comment