Share this article

print logo

Duplicate Bridge: April 7, 2018

The Airport Bridge Club offers extra-point charity games without additional charge at all of its games during the coming week. The Bridge Center of Buffalo will have extra-point charity games Tuesday, April 10, through Thursday, April 12. Both clubs will be closed during the Buffalo Spring Sectional Tournament.

*  *  *

The Buffalo Spring Sectional Tournament begins Friday, April 13, in the Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst, with pairs games at 10:30 a.m. and 2:30 p.m. Friday and next Saturday and Swiss teams at 10:30 a.m. Sunday, April 15. For partnerships, call Dian Petrov at 688-1226. For more info, click this link.

* * *

The Rochester Spring Sectional Tournament is taking place today, Saturday, April 7, and Sunday, April 8, in the Knights of Columbus Hall, 70 Barrett Drive, Webster. For more info, click this link.

* * *

Congratulations to Saleh Fetouh, the Buffalo area player who earned the most master points at the Toronto Easter Regional Tournament March 27 to April 1. He had 13.84. Also doing well in Toronto was Chris Urbanek, with 11.60 points. For complete tournament results, click this link.

*  *  *

Tournament calendar

Rochester 199er Sectional – Strathallan Hotel, 550 East Ave., Rochester. Friday, April 20, and Saturday, April 21. For info, click this link.

Cleveland All-American Regional – Embassy Suites, 5800 Rockside Road, Independence, Ohio. Tuesday, May 22, to Monday, May 28. For info, click this link.

Ithaca Sectional – Kendal at Ithaca, 2230 N. Triphammer Road, Ithaca. Saturday, June 2, and Sunday, June 3.

District 5 Spring Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, June 11, to Sunday, June 17.

Buffalo Non-Life Master Sectional – Bridge Center of Buffalo, 3362 Sheridan Drive, Amherst. Saturday, June 30, and Sunday, July 1. For info, click this link.

Southwest Ontario Regional – Bingemans Conference and Convention Centre, 425 Bingemans Centre Drive, Kitchener, Ont. Tuesday, July 3, to Sunday, July 8. For info, click this link.

Rochester Summer Sectional – Location TBA, Webster. Saturday, July 14, and Sunday, July 15.

Hamilton Sectional – Royal Canadian Legion, 435 Limeridge Road East, Hamilton, Ont. Saturday, July 14, and Sunday, July 15.

Syracuse Regional – Holiday Inn, 441 Electronics Parkway, Liverpool. Monday, Aug. 13, to Sunday, Aug. 19. For info, click this link.

Pittsburgh Labor Day Regional – Monroeville Convention Center/Doubletree Hotel, 209 Mall Plaza Blvd., Monroeville, Pa. Tuesday, Aug. 28, to Sunday, Sept. 3. For info, click this link.

St. Catharines Regional – Holiday Inn Parkway Conference Centre, 327 Ontario St., St. Catharines, Ont. Tuesday, Sept. 4, to Sunday, Sept. 9.

Buffalo Fall Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst. Friday, Sept. 21, to Sunday, Sept. 23.

Rochester Fall Sectional – Location TBA, Webster. Saturday, Oct. 6, and Sunday, Oct. 7.

Buffalo Regional – Adams Mark Hotel, 120 Church St., Buffalo. Tuesday, Oct. 16, to Sunday, Oct. 21.

Finger Lakes Sectional – Location TBA, Canandaigua. Saturday, Nov. 10, and Sunday, Nov. 11.

District 5 Winter Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, Dec. 3, to Sunday, Dec. 9.

2019 

Cleveland Rock and Roll Regional – Embassy Suites, 5800 Rockside Road, Independence, Ohio. Wednesday, Jan. 16, 2019, to Sunday, Jan. 20, 2019.

Buffalo Winter Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst, Friday, Jan. 25, 2019, to Sunday, Jan. 27, 2019.

Buffalo Spring Sectional –Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst, Friday, April 5, 2019, to Sunday, April 7, 2019.

Rochester Spring Sectional – TBA. Saturday, April 13, 2019, and Sunday, April 14, 2019.

Toronto Easter Regional – Sheraton Toronto Centre, 123 Queen Street West, Toronto, Ont. Tuesday, April 16, 2019, to Sunday, April 21, 2019.

Ithaca Sectional – TBA. Saturday, May 4, 2019, and Sunday, May 5, 2019

Cleveland All-American Regional – Embassy Suites, 5800 Rockside Road, Independence, Ohio. Tuesday, May 21, 2019, to Monday, May 27, 2019.

Niagara-on-the-Lake Sectional – Niagara-on-the-Lake Community Centre, 14 Anderson Lane, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ont. Friday, May 31, 2019, to Sunday, June 2, 2019.

District 5 Spring Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, June 10, 2019, to Sunday, June 16, 2019.

Rochester Summer Sectional – TBA. Saturday, July 13, 2019, and Sunday, July 14, 2019.

Rochester Regional – TBA. Tuesday, Aug. 5, 2019, to Sunday, Aug. 11, 2019.

Pittsburgh Labor Day Regional – Hyatt Regency Pittsburgh International Airport, 1111 Airport Blvd., Coraopolis, Pa. Tuesday, Aug. 27, 2019, to Sunday, Sept. 2, 2019.

Buffalo Fall Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst, Friday, Sept. 20, 2019, to Sunday, Sept. 22, 2019.

Rochester Fall Sectional – TBA. Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019, and Sunday, Sept. 29, 2019.

Buffalo Regional – Adam's Mark Hotel, 120 Church St., Buffalo. Tuesday, Oct. 15, 2019, to Sunday, Oct. 20, 2019.

Toronto Fall Regional – Delta by Marriott Airport Conference Centre, 655 Dixon Road, Toronto, Ont. Tuesday, Nov. 5, 2019, to Sunday, Nov. 10, 2019.

Finger Lakes Sectional – Seneca Falls. Saturday, Nov. 16, 2019, and Sunday, Nov. 17, 2019.

District 5 Winter Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, Dec. 9, 2019, to Sunday, Dec. 15, 2019.

*  *  *

Bridge club websites:

Click names for links.
Bridge Center of Buffalo.
Bridge Club Meridian.
Western New York Unit 116.

*  *  *

The Duplicate Bridge column is compiled weekly by News Staff Reporter Dale Anderson. The print version normally appears in the Life & Arts section in the Saturday edition of The Buffalo News.
If it’s not in its usual place, Google “Duplicate Bridge” plus the current Saturday date, which should bring up a link to it on the Buffalo News website.
Sometimes the online version does not materialize on the Buffalo News website, at least not in a timely fashion. Worse yet, columns from previous weeks currently cannot be accessed on the News website. But all is not lost. They are available in an appendix to Dale Anderson’s bridge blog at http://newsdupli.blogspot.com/
The online version contains unabridged scores and a longer list of notices. Deadline for submission of scores and notices is Tuesday night.
Email danderson@buffnews.com or dahotwings@aol.com. Office phone is (716) 849-4420.

*  *  *

A Ruby Life Master since the ACBL created that new ranking at the beginning of 2016, Dale Anderson recently attained a career total of 2,350 master points. He blogs about his progress toward Gold Life Master (2,500 points) and other bridge adventures here.

*  *  *

Duplicate scores
Week of March 26 to April 1
ACBL Sanctioned Clubs

Airport Bridge Club Monday morning – One winner. A/B: Barbara Sadkin and Paula Kotowski, 57.48%; C: Tova and Andrei Reinhorn, 52.15%.

Airport Bridge Club Tuesday morning – North-south, A/B: Usha Khurana and Dale Anderson, 60.12%; C: Joyce Greenspan and Ron Henrikson, 56.85%; east-west, A: Margaret Zhou and Barbara Libby, 55.36%; B: Dorothy May and Paul Zittel, 54.76%; C: Jan Hasselback and Linda Zittel, 53.87%.

Airport Bridge Club Wednesday morning – One winner. A/B: Dorothy May and Gay Simpson, 61.11%; C: Dorothy and Larry Soong, 51.39%.

Airport Bridge Club Thursday morning – North-south, A: Barbara Libby and Alan Greer, 65.83%; B/C: Art Schumacher and Ron Henrikson, 52.50%; east-west, A: Judi Marshall and John Ziemer, 57.08%; B: Gay Simpson and Dale Anderson, 55.83%; C: (tie) Denise Slattery and Bob Sommerstein, Ruth Wurster and Marilyn Sultz, 48.33%.

Airport Bridge Club Friday morning – One winner. A: Vic Bergsten and John Ziemer, 67.71%; B: Bill Boardman and Ron Henrikson, 54.86%; (tie) Liz Clark and Allen Beroza, Martha and John Welte, 49.77%.

Airport Bridge Club Saturday afternoon – One winner. A: Nancy Wolstoncroft and Alan Greer, 56.36%; B: Barbara Libby and Ron Henrikson, 53.17%; C: Denise Slattery and Dale Anderson, 52.74%; Terry and Paul Ganley, 50.75%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Tuesday noon – Non-life masters. One winner. A: Larry Abate and Burt Freiman, 58.83%; B: Joel Brownstein and Sol Messinger, 58.17%; C: Paul Ziebarth and Pat Truell, 57.92%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Wednesday morning – One winner. A: Judy Padgug and Bud Seidenberg, 63.70%; B: Claire Gareleck and Sue Bergman, 55.56%; Bill Rushmore and Kathy Pollock, 54.07%; C: Ed Drozen and Helen Panza, 50.74%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Thursday noon – 0-750 game. One winner. A/B/C: Carol Neuhaus and Burt Freiman, 58.17%; Judith Babat and Rivona Ehrenreich, 56.58%; Bill Rich and Vince Taeger, 56.42%; Jim Easton and Marilyn Wortzman, 55.58%; Margaret Zhou and Joyce Frayer, 54.67%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Thursday evening – One winner. A/B: Rajarshi Roy and Art Morth, 59.52%; Bill Rushmore and Davis Heussler, 54.76%; Sharon Benz and Nancy Wolstoncroft, 54.17%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Friday morning – One winner. A/B/C: David Hemmer and Ethan Xie, 66.25%; Davis Heussler and Fred Yellen, 57.92%; Bud Seidenberg and Jay Costello, 57.50%; Linda Burroughsford and Stan Kozlowski, 54.58%; Bob Padgug and Jim Gullo, 54.17%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Saturday noon – One winner. A: Christy Kellogg and Bert Hargesheimer, 58%; B:Martha and John Welte, 54%; C: Claire Gareleck and Andrei Reinhorn, 52.08%.

Bridge Club of East Aurora Wednesday morning – Joe Miranda and Sandi England, 72%; (tie) Jim Downing and Roger Dyer, John Fiegl and Merry Osterander, 50%.

Bridge Club Meridian Monday morning – North-south, A: Donna Steffan and Judy Gray, 62.08%; B/C: Jim Easton and Dennis Clary, 58.75%; Elaine Kurasiewicz and Usha Khurana, 59.68%; east-west, A: Kamil Bishara and Mohan Prabhu, 57.92%; Bud Seidenberg and Fred Yellen, 52.50%; B/C: Mary Ball and Joyce Frayer, 50%.

Lockport Duplicate Bridge Tuesday evening – Dian Petrov and John Meindl, 59.72%; Ed Harman and Joyce Kindt, 56.94%; Miriam Regnet and Elve Johnston, 55.56%; Judie Bailey and Bob Lederhouse, 55.09%.

Lockport Duplicate Bridge Saturday afternoon – Walt Olszewski and Beena Deshmukh, 64.29%; Edith Moran and Anne Clancy, 57.74%; Joan and Bob Ciszak, 52.98%.

Other clubs

ABA Humboldt Bridge Club Tuesday evening – Diana Brown and Pearl Harris, 66.67%; (tie) Neola McGuire and Pamela Murphy, Mary Scofield and Doanne Jackson, 50%.

Amherst Senior Center Monday afternoon – North-south, Sam Grossman and Shirley Cassety, 69%; George Mayers and Chuck Heimerl, 57%; east-west, Anita Fink and Freda Brummer, 58%; Ellen Lochead and Bill Westley, 56%.

Amherst Senior Center Thursday morning – North-south, George Mayers and Marian Morber, 62%; Edna Fill and Chuck Heimerl, 58%; east-west, Jeff Peters and Karen Synor, 54%; Fritz Schweiger and Marv Feuerstein, 53.5%.

Canterbury Woods Duplicate Wednesday – North-south, Fred Nadel and Dick Munschauer, 52.1%; Dottie Potembski and Jerry Stange, 51%; east-west, Betty Bowling and Bette Seifert, 62.5%; (tie) Ruth Jones and George Lee, Sandy Recoon and Bill Hambridge, 49%.

Clarence Senior Center Thursday – North-south, Dona Tepas and Marge McMillan, 59%; Ellen Lochead and Bill Rogers, 58%; east-west, Brigitte Hess and Ted Schuman, 63%; Kathy Borcik and Bill Westley, 57%.

Town of Tonawanda Senior Center Wednesday – North-south, Mike Brown and Ron Fill, 65%; Rose Bochiechio and Edna Fill, 60.8%; east-west, Dorothy and Ed Rupp, 66.7%; Marv Feuerstein and Fritz Schweiger, 53.3%.

Email: danderson@buffnews.com

Story topics: /

There are no comments - be the first to comment