Share this article

print logo

Duplicate Bridge: March 3, 2018

The Bridge Center of Buffalo reports that it will offer extra points at all of its games next week. The club also has decided to eliminate the 0-750 section from its game at 10:30 a.m. Wednesdays and continue it as an open game.

*  *  *

Bridge Club Meridian also will offer an extra-point game at 10:30 a.m. Monday, March 5.

*  *  *

The Airport Bridge Club will hold a double session on Monday, March 19. A regular game at 10 a.m. will be followed by the ACBL Senior Pairs game at 1 p.m. Lunch at no extra charge will include St. Patrick's Day corned beef and a St. Joseph's Day meatless dish.

*  *  *

Hamburg Senior Bridge, which has been meeting on Tuesday afternoons for the past two years at the Hamburg Senior Center, 4540 Southwestern Blvd., is looking for additional players.
Previous players who have been away from the game, as well as advanced beginners who recently took classes, are welcome to join the group.
Players arrive around 12:15 p.m. Play begins at 12:30 and ends around 3:30. For more information, players can drop in prior to the game, call 202-4505 or email chetzler@roadrunner.com.

*  *  *

Tournament calendar

Toronto Easter Regional – Sheraton Toronto Centre, 123 Queen St. West, Toronto, Ont. Tuesday, March 27, to Sunday, April 1. For info, click this link.

Rochester Spring Sectional – Knights of Columbus, 70 Barrett Drive, Webster. Saturday, April 7, and Sunday, April 8. For info, click this link.

Buffalo Spring Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Williamsville. Friday, April 13, to Sunday, April 15. For info, click this link.

Rochester 199er Sectional – Century Club, 566 East Ave., Rochester. Friday, April 20, and Saturday, April 21.

Cleveland All-American Regional – Embassy Suites, 5800 Rockside Road, Independence, Ohio. Tuesday, May 22, to Monday, May 28. For info, click this link.

Ithaca Sectional – Location TBA. Saturday, June 2, and Sunday, June 3.

District 5 Spring Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, June 11, to Sunday, June 17.

Rochester Summer Sectional – Location TBA, Webster. Saturday, July 14, and Sunday, July 15.

Hamilton Sectional – Royal Canadian Legion, 435 Limeridge Road East, Hamilton, Ont. Saturday, July 14, and Sunday, July 15.

Syracuse Regional – Holiday Inn, 441 Electronics Parkway, Liverpool. Monday, Aug. 13, to Sunday, Aug. 19.

Pittsburgh Labor Day Regional – Monroeville Convention Center/Doubletree Hotel, 209 Mall Plaza Blvd., Monroeville, Pa. Tuesday, Aug. 28, to Sunday, Sept. 3.

St. Catharines Regional – Holiday Inn Parkway Conference Centre, 327 Ontario St., St. Catharines, Ont. Tuesday, Sept. 4, to Sunday, Sept. 9.

Buffalo Fall Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst. Friday, Sept. 21, to Sunday, Sept. 23.

Rochester Fall Sectional – Location TBA, Webster. Saturday, Oct. 6, and Sunday, Oct. 7.

Buffalo Regional – Adams Mark Hotel, 120 Church St., Buffalo. Tuesday, Oct. 16, to Sunday, Oct. 21.

Finger Lakes Sectional – Location TBA, Canandaigua. Saturday, Nov. 10, and Sunday, Nov. 11.

District 5 Winter Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, Dec. 3, to Sunday, Dec. 9.

2019 

Cleveland Rock and Roll Regional – Wednesday, Jan. 16, 2019, to Sunday, Jan. 20, 2019.
Buffalo Winter Sectional – Friday, Jan. 25, 2019, to Sunday, Jan. 27, 2019.
Buffalo Spring Sectional – Friday, April 5, 2019, to Sunday, April 7, 2019.
Rochester Spring Sectional – Saturday, April 13, 2019, and Sunday, April 14, 2019.
Toronto Easter Regional – Tuesday, April 16, 2019, to Sunday, April 21, 2019.
Rochester Regional – Tuesday, May 13, 2019, to Sunday, May 18, 2019.
Cleveland All-American Regional – Tuesday, May 21, 2019, to Monday, May 27, 2019.
District 5 Spring Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, June 10, 2019, to Sunday, June 16, 2019.
Rochester Summer Sectional – Saturday, July 13, 2019, and Sunday, July 14, 2019.
Pittsburgh Labor Day Regional – Tuesday, Aug. 27, 2019, to Sunday, Sept. 2, 2019.
Buffalo Fall Sectional – Friday, Sept. 20, 2019, to Sunday, Sept. 22, 2019.
Rochester Fall Sectional – Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019, and Sunday, Sept. 29, 2019.
Buffalo Regional – Tuesday, Oct. 15, 2019, to Sunday, Oct. 20, 2019.
Toronto Fall Regional – Tuesday, Nov. 5, 2019, to Sunday, Nov. 10, 2019.
Finger Lakes Sectional – Saturday, Nov. 16, 2019, and Sunday, Nov. 17, 2019.
District 5 Winter Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, Dec. 9, 2019, to Sunday, Dec. 15, 2019.

*  *  *

Bridge club websites:

Click names for links.
Bridge Center of Buffalo.
Bridge Club Meridian.
Western New York Unit 116.

*  *  *

The Duplicate Bridge column is compiled weekly by News Staff Reporter Dale Anderson. The print version normally appears in the Life & Arts section in the Saturday edition of The Buffalo News.
If it’s not in its usual place, Google “Duplicate Bridge” plus the current Saturday date, which should bring up a link to it on the Buffalo News website.
Sometimes the online version does not materialize on the Buffalo News website, at least not in a timely fashion. Worse yet, columns from previous weeks currently cannot be accessed on the News website. But all is not lost. They are available in an appendix to Dale Anderson’s bridge blog at http://newsdupli.blogspot.com/
The online version contains unabridged scores and a longer list of notices. Deadline for submission of scores and notices is Tuesday night.
Email danderson@buffnews.com or dahotwings@aol.com. Office phone is (716) 849-4420.

*  *  *

A Ruby Life Master since the ACBL created that new ranking at the beginning of 2016, Dale Anderson recently attained a career total of 2,300 master points. He blogs about his progress toward Gold Life Master (2,500 points) and other bridge adventures here.

*  *  *

 

*  *  *

Duplicate scores
Week of Feb. 19 to Feb. 25
ACBL Sanctioned Clubs

Three of Spades by Teagan White

Airport Bridge Club Monday morning – North-south, A: Allen Beroza and Bob Sommerstein, 60.33%; John Ziemer and Bob Linn, 57.17%; B: Martin Pieterse and Mike Silverman, 57.08%; C: Pawan Matta and Ted May, 51.58%; east-west, A: Liz Clark and Alan Greer, 69%; B/C: Denise Slattery and Ed Morgan, 51.42%.

Airport Bridge Club Monday afternoon – North-south, A: John Ziemer and Bob Linn, 67.33%; Carolyn Siracuse and Sandi England, 58.50%; B/C: Ruth and Gene Nowatniak, 52.92%; east-west, A: Liz Clark and Alan Greer, 58.75%; B/C: Tova and Andrei Reinhorn, 56.67%.

Airport Bridge Club Tuesday morning – North-south, A: Wilson McClaren and Linda Vassallo, 61.61%; Mike Ryan and John Ziemer, 57.74%; B: Sandi England and Joanne LaFay, 51.79%; Pawan Matta and Vince Pesce, 50.60%; C: Paula Kotowski and Marilyn Sultz, 48.81%; east-west, A: Liz Clark and Judi Marshall, 63.49%; Nancy Wolstoncroft and Alan Greer, 54.50%; B/C: Jan and Carl Hasselback, 52.12%.

Airport Bridge Club Wednesday morning – Howell. A: Alan Greer and John Ziemer, 58.76%; B: Florence Boyd and Bill Boardman, 57.04%; Mike Silverman and Ed Morgan, 55.54%; C: Paula Kotowski and Denise Slattery, 51.71%.

Airport Bridge Club Wednesday afternoon – Howell. A: Carolyn Siracuse and partner, 62%; B: (tie) Liz Clark and Allen Beroza, Martha and John Welte, 56%.

Airport Bridge Club Thursday morning – North-south, A: Allen Beroza and Art Matthies, 55.70%; Elaine Kurasiewicz and Nancy Wolstoncroft, 52.42%; B: Martha and John Welte, 51.91%; C: Bob Sommerstein and Gene Nowatniak, 48.26%; east-west, A: Helen Panza and Mike Silverman, 60.38%; Judi Marshall and John Ziemer, 59.48%; B: John Kirsits and Ken Meier, 52.85%; Nancy Kessler and Dale Anderson, 51.15%; C: Marilyn Sultz and Pawan Matta, 45.79%.

Airport Bridge Club Friday morning – Howell. A: Allen Beroza and John Ziemer, 58.33%; Sandi England and Ken Meier, 57.41%; B: Dorothy and Larry Soong, 55.09%; Dorothy May and Joe Rooney, 54.63%; C: Beena Deshmukh and Andrei Reinhorn, 50.93%.

Airport Bridge Club Saturday afternoon – Howell. A: Nancy Wolstoncroft and Alan Greer, 57.74%; B: Dorothy May and Cleveland Fleming, 54.76%; Barbara and Martin Pieterse, 52.38%; C: Alice Bragg and Tish Schiffman, 51.79%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Tuesday noon – Non-life masters. North-south, A/B: Betsy and Richard Heuer, 63.19%; Jim McClure and Paula Rosen, 55.90%; C: JoAnne Nover and Bonnie Clement, 55.90%; east-west, A: Jim Easton and Marilyn Wortzman, 59.13%; B: Pat Kilbury and Jeff Oshlag, 54.76%; C: Sandra Morrison and Jacqueline Simon, 50.79%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Wednesday morning – One winner. A/B: Howard Foster and Mike Ryan, 58.52%; Donna Steffan and Judy Padgug, 58.15%; Bud Seidenberg and Fred Yellen, 57.78%; C: Elaine Kurasiewicz and Tova Reinhorn, 49.63%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Thursday noon – 0-750 game. North-south, A: Beena Deshmukh and Andrei Reinhorn, 61.10%; Jim McClure and Paula Rosen, 56.55%; B: Joyce Frayer and Mary Ball, 53.02%; C: Terry Camp and Pat Haynes, 46.39%; east-west, A/B: Pat Kilbury and Jeff Oshlag, 65.48%; Jim Easton and Marilyn Wortzman, 61.31%; Larry and Dorothy Soong, 55.32%; Judy Zeckhauser and Chip Kean, 54.80%; C: Jo Ann Smith and Rivona Ehrenreich, 40.01%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Thursday evening – One winner. A/B: Davis Heussler and David Colligan, 60%; Terry Fraas and Elaine Universal, 57.04%; Shakeel Ahmad and Manju Ceylony, 56.67%; C: Penny and Peter Shui, 56.30%; Bob Sommerstein and Larry Abate, 56.30%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Friday morning – One winner. Barbara Landree and Carol Bedell, 65.28%; Bert Hargesheimer and Alex Kowal, 56.02%; Ethan Xie and Linda Burroughsford, 56.02%; Fred Yellen and Judy Padgug, 55.56%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Saturday noon – One winner. A/B: Jim Easton and Liz Clark, 63.04%; Terry Fraas and Stan Kozlowski, 60.42%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Sunday afternoon – North-south, A: Dan Gerstman and Davis Heussler, 61.01%; B: Mike Ryan and Ten-Pao Lee, 58.04%; Judy Padgug and Bud Seidenberg, 55.95%; C: Jim Easton and Marilyn Wortzman, 46.13%; east-west, A: Bill Rushmore and Stan Kozlowski, 63.99%; B: John and Martha Welte, 58.33%; C: Raj Puri and Rajat Basu, 50.89%.

Bridge Club of East Aurora Wednesday morning – Joanne LaFay and Lillian Gotshall, 64.58%; Ken Meier and Joe Rooney, 60.42%, Sandi England and Joe Miranda, 56.25%.

Lockport Duplicate Bridge Tuesday evening – Howell. Jasbeer and Violet Makhija, 64.58%; Madhav and Beena Deshmukh, 60.42%; Jeff Bender and Gabe Tannenbaum, 56.25%; Jim Lanzo and Eugene Giorgini, 50.69%.

Lockport Duplicate Bridge Saturday afternoon – Howell. (Tie) Miriam Regnet and Roy Crocker, Kathy Fenn and Elve Johnston, 59.90%; Edith Moran and Anne Clancy, 54.63%; David and Connie Wilson, 53.13%; Jasbeer and Violet Makhija, 52.78%.

Other clubs

ABA Humboldt Bridge Club Tuesday evening – Individual Game. Shirley Thompson, 58%; Neola McGuire, 50%.

Amherst Senior Center Thursday morning – Howell. Carl Gebauer and Cindy Darone, 58.8%; Lorey Repicci and Joe Day, 58.3%.

Canterbury Woods Duplicate Wednesday – North-south, Nick Leibovic and Fred Nadel, 57.8%; Esther Greene and Ruth Lansing, 54.7%; east-west, Sandy Recoon and Dick Munschauer, 76.8%; Iris Friedman and Emily Wettlaufer, 59.2%.

Clarence Senior Center Thursday – Howell. (Tie) Ellen Lochead and Bill Rogers, Marge McMillen and Stan Kozlowski, 61%; Kathy Borsikand Bill Westley, 58%.

Town of Tonawanda Senior Center Wednesday – North-south, Dorothy and Ed Rupp, 63.8%; Margaret Rivard and Rose Bochiechio, 55.7%; Pat and Mike Weber, 46.3%; east-west, Evelyn Vitello and Edna Fill, 66.9%; Fritz Schweiger and Marv Feuerstein, 56.3%; Christel and Frank Bernard, 45%.

Email: danderson@buffnews.com

Story topics: /

There are no comments - be the first to comment