Share this article

print logo

Duplicate Bridge: Feb. 10, 2018

The Niagara District Sectional Tournament continues with a team game at 9 a.m. today, Saturday, Feb. 10, and pairs games at 1 and 7 p.m. in the Holiday Inn Parkway Conference Centre, 327 Ontario St., St. Catharines, Ont. It concludes with Swiss teams at 10:30 a.m. Sunday, Feb. 11. For more info, click this link.

*  *  *

The Airport Bridge Club will offer Valentine's Day treats at its 11 a.m. game Wednesday, Feb. 14. The club will celebrate Presidents Day on Monday, Feb. 19, with two sessions, at 10 a.m. and 1 p.m. Also coming up: The ACBL-wide Charity Game at 1 p.m. Wednesday, Feb. 21, following a regular pairs game at 10 a.m.

*  *  *

Hamburg Senior Bridge, which has been meeting on Tuesday afternoons for the past two years at the Hamburg Senior Center, 4540 Southwestern Blvd., is looking for additional players.
Previous players who have been away from the game, as well as advanced beginners who recently took classes, are welcome to join the group.
Players arrive around 12:15 p.m. Play begins at 12:30 and ends around 3:30. For more information, players can drop in prior to the game, call 202-4505 or email chetzler@roadrunner.com.

*  *  *

Tournament calendar

Niagara District Sectional – Holiday Inn Parkway Conference Centre, 327 Ontario St., St. Catharines, Ont. Today, Saturday, Feb. 10, and  Sunday, Feb. 11. For info, click this link.

Toronto Easter Regional – Sheraton Toronto Centre, 123 Queen St. West, Toronto, Ont. Tuesday, March 27, to Sunday, April 1. For info, click this link.

Rochester Spring Sectional – Knights of Columbus, 70 Barrett Drive, Webster. Saturday, April 7, and Sunday, April 8. For info, click this link.

Buffalo Spring Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Williamsville. Friday, April 13, to Sunday, April 15. For info, click this link.

Rochester 199er Sectional – Century Club, 566 East Ave., Rochester. Friday, April 20, and Saturday, April 21.

Cleveland All-American Regional – Embassy Suites, 5800 Rockside Road, Independence, Ohio. Tuesday, May 22, to Monday, May 28. For info, click this link.

Ithaca Sectional – Location TBA. Saturday, June 2, and Sunday, June 3.

District 5 Spring Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, June 11, to Sunday, June 17.

Rochester Summer Sectional – Location TBA, Webster. Saturday, July 14, and Sunday, July 15.

Hamilton Sectional – Royal Canadian Legion, 435 Limeridge Road East, Hamilton, Ont. Saturday, July 14, and Sunday, July 15.

Syracuse Regional – Holiday Inn, 441 Electronics Parkway, Liverpool. Monday, Aug. 13, to Sunday, Aug. 19.

Pittsburgh Labor Day Regional – Monroeville Convention Center/Doubletree Hotel, 209 Mall Plaza Blvd., Monroeville, Pa. Tuesday, Aug. 28, to Sunday, Sept. 3.

St. Catharines Regional – Holiday Inn Parkway Conference Centre, 327 Ontario St., St. Catharines, Ont. Tuesday, Sept. 4, to Sunday, Sept. 9.

Buffalo Fall Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst. Friday, Sept. 21, to Sunday, Sept. 23.

Rochester Fall Sectional – Location TBA, Webster. Saturday, Oct. 6, and Sunday, Oct. 7.

Buffalo Regional – Adams Mark Hotel, 120 Church St., Buffalo. Tuesday, Oct. 16, to Sunday, Oct. 21.

Finger Lakes Sectional – Location TBA, Canandaigua. Saturday, Nov. 10, and Sunday, Nov. 11.

District 5 Winter Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, Dec. 3, to Sunday, Dec. 9.

2019 

Cleveland Rock and Roll Regional – Wednesday, Jan. 16, 2019, to Sunday, Jan. 20, 2019.
Buffalo Winter Sectional – Friday, Jan. 25, 2019, to Sunday, Jan. 27, 2019.
Buffalo Spring Sectional – Friday, April 5, 2019, to Sunday, April 7, 2019.
Rochester Spring Sectional – Saturday, April 13, 2019, and Sunday, April 14, 2019.
Toronto Easter Regional – Tuesday, April 16, 2019, to Sunday, April 21, 2019.
Rochester Regional – Tuesday, May 13, 2019, to Sunday, May 18, 2019.
Cleveland All-American Regional – Tuesday, May 21, 2019, to Monday, May 27, 2019.
District 5 Spring Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, June 10, 2019, to Sunday, June 16, 2019.
Rochester Summer Sectional – Saturday, July 13, 2019, and Sunday, July 14, 2019.
Pittsburgh Labor Day Regional – Tuesday, Aug. 27, 2019, to Sunday, Sept. 2, 2019.
Buffalo Fall Sectional – Friday, Sept. 20, 2019, to Sunday, Sept. 22, 2019.
Rochester Fall Sectional – Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019, and Sunday, Sept. 29, 2019.
Buffalo Regional – Tuesday, Oct. 15, 2019, to Sunday, Oct. 20, 2019.
Toronto Fall Regional – Tuesday, Nov. 5, 2019, to Sunday, Nov. 10, 2019.
Finger Lakes Sectional – Saturday, Nov. 16, 2019, and Sunday, Nov. 17, 2019.
District 5 Winter Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, Dec. 9, 2019, to Sunday, Dec. 15, 2019.

*  *  *

Bridge club websites:

Click names for links.
Bridge Center of Buffalo.
Bridge Club Meridian.
Western New York Unit 116.

*  *  *

The Duplicate Bridge column is compiled weekly by News Staff Reporter Dale Anderson. The print version normally appears in the Life & Arts section in the Saturday edition of The Buffalo News.
If it’s not in its usual place, Google “Duplicate Bridge” plus the current Saturday date, which should bring up a link to it on the Buffalo News website.
Sometimes the online version does not materialize on the Buffalo News website, at least not in a timely fashion. When that happens, you can find it as an appendix to Dale Anderson’s bridge blog at http://newsdupli.blogspot.com/
The online version contains unabridged scores and a longer list of notices. Deadline for submission of scores and notices is Tuesday night.
Email danderson@buffnews.com or dahotwings@aol.com. Office phone is (716) 849-4420.

*  *  *

A Ruby Life Master since the ACBL created that new ranking at the beginning of 2016, Dale Anderson recently attained a career total of 2,300 master points. He blogs about his progress toward Gold Life Master (2,500 points) and other bridge adventures here.

*  *  *

Duplicate scores
Week of  Jan. 29 to Feb. 4
ACBL Sanctioned Clubs

Airport Bridge Club Monday morning – North-south, A: Bob Linn and John Ziemer, 63.10%; Judi Marshall and Barbara Libby, 62.50%; B: Elaine Kurasiewicz and Martin Pieterse, 56.25%; C: Marilyn Wortzman and Jim Eastmna, 54.17%; east-west, A/B: Beena Deshmukh and Andrei Reinhorn, 58.33%; Bob Sommerstein and Allen Beroza, 57.44%; Gay Simpson and Tova Reinhorn, 53.57%.

Airport Bridge Club Tuesday morning – North-south, A: Liz Clark and Allen Beroza, 57.92%; B/C: Paula Kotowski and Barbara Sadkin, 52.92%; east-west, A: Nancy Wolstoncroft and Alan Greer, 68.33%; B: Nancy Kessler and Ross Markello, 60.83%; Barbara Libby and Art Matthies, 51.25%; C: Marilyn Sultz and Mary Terrana, 35.42%.

Airport Bridge Club Wednesday morning – North-south, A: Allen Beroza and Art Matthies, 62.50%; B/C: Marilyn Wortzman and Jim Easton, 53.33%; east-west, A: Alan Greer and John Ziemer, 68.33%; B: Barbara Sadkin and Paula Kotowski, 55.42%; Walt Olszewski and Martin Pieterse, 51.67%; C: Ed Morgan and John Bava, 42.50%.

Airport Bridge Club Thursday morning – North-south, A/B: Eleanor Whelan and Helen Panza, 54.42%; Bill Boardman and partner, 53.75%; C: Carol Bedell and Rajat Basu, 49.08%; east-west, A: Barbara Libby and Alan Greer, 65.33%; Nancy Wolstoncroft and John Ziemer, 61.37%; B/C: Ed Morgan and John Bava, 51.42%; Denise Slattery and Ruth Wurster, 46.75%.

Airport Bridge Club Friday morning – Howell. A: Paula Kotowski and Nancy Wolstoncroft, 69.56%; Art Matthies and Alan Greer, 55.21%; B: Dorothy and Larry Soong, 52.44%; Nadine Stein and Bob Linn, 49.91%; C: Joe Rooney and Bill Boardman, 49.89%.

Airport Bridge Club Saturday afternoon – ACBL-wide International Fund Game. North-south, A: Judi Marshall and John Ziemer, 58.93%; B/C: Terry and Paul Ganley, 56.25%; Ruth and Gene Nowatniak, 51.49%; east-west, Martha and John Welte, 61.90%; Nancy Wolstoncroft and Alan Greer, 56.85%; B/C: Jim Easton and Dennis Clary, 56.55%; Shirley Cassety and Ross Markello, 46.73%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Tuesday noon – Non-life masters. North-south, A: Jim Easton and Marilyn Wortzman, 66.96%; Jim McClure and Paula Rosen, 58.93%; B: Carla Press and Agi Maisel, 55.95%; Ruth Nawotniak and Barbara Hill, 54.46%; east-west, A/B: Joel Brownstein and Sol Messinger, 59.23%; C: Paul Ziebarth and Pat Truell, 53.27%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Wednesday morning – One winner. A: Judy Graf and Bud Seidenberg, 63.19%; B/C: Nancy Wolstoncroft and Carol Bedell, 56.94%; Davis Heussler and Stan Kozlowski, 56.25%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Thursday noon – 0-750 game. North-south, A/B/C: Carol Neuhaus and Burt Freiman, 61.67%; Linda Marie Franchell and Mary Davey-Carr, 55.83%; east-west, A/B/C: Judith Babat and Rivona Ehrenreich, 65.83%; Jim Easton and Marilyn Wortzman, 60.83%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Thursday evening – One winner. A/B: Shakeel Ahmad and Manju Ceylony, 62.50%; Christy Kellogg and Bert Hargesheimer, 54.17%; C: Gary Schmitt and Penny Shui, 51.04%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Friday morning – One winner. A/B: Howard Foster and Mike Ryan, 62.96%; C: Martha and John Welte, 61.48%; Sharon Benz and Dian Petrov, 61.11%; Judy Graf and Fred Yellen, 56.30%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Saturday noon – One winner. A: Chris Urbanek and Judy Graf, 70.83%; Christy Kellogg and Bert Hargesheimer, 57.29%; B: Donna Steffan and Fred Yellen, 51.04%; C: Betty Metz and Tova Reinhorn, 46.30%.

Bridge Club of East Aurora Wednesday morning – Sandi England and Joe Miranda, 61.46%; Joe Rooney and John Fiegl, 60.42%; Jim Downing and Roger Dyer, 50%.

Bridge Club Meridian Monday morning – Howell. Fred Yellen and Bud Seidenberg, 62.50%; B: Stuart Caswell and William Castle, 58.33%; Helen Panza and Carol Bedell, 53.13%; C: Linda Marie Franchell and Mary Davey-Carr, 48.96%.

Delaware Wednesday evening – Howell. Jeff Bender and Bill Rich, 60.6 %; Edna Fill and Henry Chudy, 58.2%; Sandy Marcussen and Jan O’Mara, 57.7%.

Lockport Duplicate Bridge Tuesday evening – Howell. (Tie) Miriam Regnet and Elve Johnston, Joyce Kindt and Eugene Giorgini, 57.74%; Ed Harman and Bob Lederhouse, 54.76%; Madhav and Beena Deshmukh, 52.38%.

Lockport Duplicate Bridge Saturday afternoon – North-south, Miriam Regnet and Roy Crocker, 61%; Ed Harman and Bob Lederhouse, 59%; Stuart Caswell and William Castle, 54%; east-west, Madhav and Beena Deshmukh, 66%; Connie and David Wilson, 50%.

Other clubs

ABA Humboldt Bridge Club Tuesday evening – Individual game. Doanne Jackson, 76.67%; (tie) Shirley Thompson, David Mathis, 63.33%.

Amherst Senior Center Monday afternoon – North-south, Marion Morber and Chuck Heimerl, 58%; Sam Grossman and Shirley Cassety, 54%; east-west, Kokila G. Chheda and Marrie Schillo, 65%; Herb Falk and Marv Feuerstein, 59%.

Amherst Senior Center Thursday morning – North-south, Sam Grossman and Shirley Cassety, 55.9%; Marian Morber and Jeff Peters, 52.4%; east-west, Fritz Schweiger and Marv Feuerstein, 58.8%; Cindy Darone and Carl Gebauer, 53.3%.

Canterbury Woods Duplicate Wednesday – North-south, Meena Rustgi and Sukhanand Jain, 58.1%; Dick Munschauer and Fred Nadel, 54.4%; east-west, Ruth Jones and Carole Grieco, 53.7%; Sandy Recoon and Bill Hambridge, 50%.

Clarence Senior Center Thursday – (Jan. 25). Howell. Kathy Borcik and Bill Westley, 74%; Ellen Lochead and Bill Rogers, 68%; Bob Jorgensen and Bob Stroman, 54%.

Clarence Senior Center Thursday – (Feb. 1). Howell. Elaine Wegrzyn and Ellen Lochead, 63%; Kathy Borcik and Bill Westley, 58%.

Town of Tonawanda Senior Center Wednesday – Howell. Mike Brown and Ron Fill, 66.7%; Fritz Schweiger and Marv Feuerstein, 59.8%.

Email: danderson@buffnews.com

Story topics: /

There are no comments - be the first to comment