Share this article

print logo

Duplicate Bridge: Jan. 27, 2018

The Bridge Center of Buffalo and the Airport Bridge Club will take part in the ACBL-wide International Fund Game at noon next Saturday, Feb. 3. There will be booklets with hand analysis and red and black master points awarded to winners at the district level.

*  *  *

The Airport Bridge Club will award extra points at its games at noon today, Saturday, Jan. 27, and at 11 a.m. Monday,  Jan. 29, to Wednesday, Jan. 31. Bridge Club Meridian will offer extra points at its game at 10:30 a.m. Monday, Jan. 29.

*  *  *

Congratulations to partners Shakeel Ahmad and Manju Ceylony, leading master point winners in the Buffalo Winter Sectional Touranment Jan. 18 to Jan. 20 in the Main-Transit Fire Hall in Amherst. They both earned 21.19 points.

Other leading local players included Saleh Fetouh, 15.27; Ethan Xie and Chongmin Zhang, 13.41 each; Peter and Penny Shui, 13.24 each; John Ziemer, 12.89; Bert Hargeshimer and Christy Kellogg, 10.94 each; Kamil Bishara and Dian Petrov, 10.32 each; and Judi Marshall, 10.06. For complete scoring, click this link.

*  *  *

Hamburg Senior Bridge, which has been meeting on Tuesday afternoons for the past two years at the Hamburg Senior Center, 4540 Southwestern Blvd., is looking for additional players.
Previous players who have been away from the game, as well as advanced beginners who recently took classes, are welcome to join the group.
Players arrive around 12:15 p.m. Play begins at 12:30 and ends around 3:30. For more information, players can drop in prior to the game, call 202-4505 or email chetzler@roadrunner.com.

*  *  *

Tournament calendar

Niagara District Sectional – Holiday Inn Parkway Conference Centre, 327 Ontario St., St. Catharines, Ont. Friday, Feb. 9, to Sunday, Feb. 11. For info, click this link.

Toronto Easter Regional – Sheraton Toronto Centre, 123 Queen St. West, Toronto, Ont. Tuesday, March 27, to Sunday, April 1. For info, click this link.

Rochester Spring Sectional – Location TBA, Webster. Saturday, April 7, and Sunday, April 8.

Buffalo Spring Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Williamsville. Friday, April 13, to Sunday, April 15.

Rochester 199er Sectional – Century Club, 566 East Ave., Rochester. Friday, April 20, and Saturday, April 21.

Cleveland All-American Regional – Embassy Suites, 5800 Rockside Road, Independence, Ohio. Tuesday, May 22, to Monday, May 28. For info, click this link.

Ithaca Sectional – Location TBA. Saturday, June 2, and Sunday, June 3.

District 5 Spring Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, June 11, to Sunday, June 17.

Rochester Summer Sectional – Location TBA, Webster. Saturday, July 14, and Sunday, July 15.

Syracuse Regional – Holiday Inn, 441 Electronics Parkway, Liverpool. Monday, Aug. 13, to Sunday, Aug. 19.

Pittsburgh Labor Day Regional – Monroeville Convention Center/Doubletree Hotel, 209 Mall Plaza Blvd., Monroeville, Pa. Tuesday, Aug. 28, to Sunday, Sept. 3.

St. Catharines Regional – Holiday Inn Parkway Conference Centre, 327 Ontario St., St. Catharines, Ont. Tuesday, Sept. 4, to Sunday, Sept. 9.

Buffalo Fall Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst. Friday, Sept. 21, to Sunday, Sept. 23.

Rochester Fall Sectional – Location TBA, Webster. Saturday, Oct. 6, and Sunday, Oct. 7.

Buffalo Regional – Adams Mark Hotel, 120 Church St., Buffalo. Tuesday, Oct. 16, to Sunday, Oct. 21.

Finger Lakes Sectional – Location TBA, Canandaigua. Saturday, Nov. 10, and Sunday, Nov. 11.

District 5 Winter Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, Dec. 3, to Sunday, Dec. 9.

2019 

Cleveland Rock and Roll Regional – Wednesday, Jan. 16, 2019, to Sunday, Jan. 20, 2019.
Buffalo Winter Sectional – Friday, Jan. 25, 2019, to Sunday, Jan. 27, 2019.
Buffalo Spring Sectional – Friday, April 5, 2019, to Sunday, April 7, 2019.
Rochester Spring Sectional – Saturday, April 13, 2019, and Sunday, April 14, 2019.
Toronto Easter Regional – Tuesday, April 16, 2019, to Sunday, April 21, 2019.
Rochester Regional – Tuesday, May 13, 2019, to Sunday, May 18, 2019.
Cleveland All-American Regional – Tuesday, May 21, 2019, to Monday, May 27, 2019.
District 5 Spring Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, June 10, 2019, to Sunday, June 16, 2019.
Rochester Summer Sectional – Saturday, July 13, 2019, and Sunday, July 14, 2019.
Pittsburgh Labor Day Regional – Tuesday, Aug. 27, 2019, to Sunday, Sept. 2, 2019.
Buffalo Fall Sectional – Friday, Sept. 20, 2019, to Sunday, Sept. 22, 2019.
Rochester Fall Sectional – Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019, and Sunday, Sept. 29, 2019.
Buffalo Regional – Tuesday, Oct. 15, 2019, to Sunday, Oct. 20, 2019.
Toronto Fall Regional – Tuesday, Nov. 5, 2019, to Sunday, Nov. 10, 2019.
Finger Lakes Sectional – Saturday, Nov. 16, 2019, and Sunday, Nov. 17, 2019.
District 5 Winter Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, Dec. 9, 2019, to Sunday, Dec. 15, 2019.

*  *  *

Bridge club websites:

Click names for links.
Bridge Center of Buffalo.
Bridge Club Meridian.
Western New York Unit 116.

*  *  *

The Duplicate Bridge column is compiled weekly by News Staff Reporter Dale Anderson. The print version normally appears in the Life & Arts section in the Saturday edition of The Buffalo News.
If it’s not in its usual place, Google “Duplicate Bridge” plus the current Saturday date, which should bring up a link to it on the Buffalo News website.
Sometimes the online version does not materialize on the Buffalo News website, at least not in a timely fashion. When that happens, you can find it as an appendix to Dale Anderson’s bridge blog at http://newsdupli.blogspot.com/
The online version contains unabridged scores and a longer list of notices. Deadline for submission of scores and notices is Tuesday night.
Email danderson@buffnews.com or dahotwings@aol.com. Office phone is (716) 849-4420.

*  *  *

A Ruby Life Master since the ACBL created that new ranking at the beginning of 2016, Dale Anderson recently attained a career total of 2,300 master points. He blogs about his progress toward Gold Life Master (2,500 points) and other bridge adventures here.

*  *  *

Duplicate scores
Week of  Jan. 15 to Jan. 21
ACBL Sanctioned Clubs

Airport Bridge Club Monday morning – North-south, A: Mike Silverman and Martin Pieterse, 60.89%; B: Marietta Kalman and Tova Reinhorn, 53.91%; Miri Salamone-Burnett and Thom Burnett, 52.13%; C: Nadine Stein and Ron Henrikson, 48.85%; east-west, A: Nancy Wolstoncroft and Alan Greer, 60.84%; B: Bill Boardman and Joe Rooney, 56.38%; Joyce Greenspan and Gay Simpson, 50.55%; C: Margaret Zhou and Ed Morgan, 50.42%.

Airport Bridge Club Monday afternoon – North-south, A/B/C: Margaret Zhou and Ed Morgan, 54.42%; Joyce Greenspan and Gay Simpson, 51.17%; east-west, A: Liz Clark and Barbara Libby, 66%; B: Bill Boardman and Joe Rooney, 54.75%; C: Barbara Multerer and Art Schumacher, 53.33%.

Airport Bridge Club Tuesday morning – Howell. A: Nancy Wolstoncroft and Alan Greer, 64.06%; B/C: Ed Morgan and Art Matthies, 55.73%; Paula Kotowski and Gay Simpson, 52.78%.

Airport Bridge Club Wednesday morning – Howell. A: Nancy Wolstoncroft and Dale Anderson, 61.57%; Alan Grier and John Ziemer, 60.19%; B: Florence Boyd and Cleveland Fleming, 53.24%; C: Paula Kotowski and Bill Boardman, 50.93%.

Airport Bridge Club Thursday morning – North-south, A: Liz Clark and John Ziemer, 58.67%; B: (tie) Marietta Kalman and Dale Anderson, Pawan Matta and Cleveland Fleming, 51.83%; C: Helen Panza and Eleanor Whelan, 50%; east-west, A: Martha and John Welte, 64.42%; Barbara Libby and Alan Greer, 60.50%; B/C: Joyce Greenspan and Ron Henrikson, 47.75%. .

Bridge Center of Buffalo Tuesday noon – Non-life masters. North-south, A: Jim Easton and Marilyn Wortzman, 69.93%; B/C: Mary Blanchard and Carol Roth, 53.82%; east-west, A: Paul Ziebarth and Pat Truell, 65.11%; B/C: Gail Pitterman and Rose Ann Grimaldi, 62.01%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Wednesday morning – North-south, A/B/C: Sue Neubecker and Betty Metz, 62.20%; Howard Foster and Mike Ryan, 59.52%; Donna Steffan and Judy Padgug, 58.04%; east-west A: Bud Seidenberg and Fred Yellen, 58.63%; Bill Rushmore and Stan Kozlowski, 54.76%; B/C: John Bava and Ed Morgan, 50.30%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Thursday noon – 0-750 game. North-south, A: Jim McClure and Paula Rosen, 64.58%; B: Chip Kean and Judy Zeckhauser, 58.33%; C: Mary Blanchard and Carol Roth, 45.42%; east-west, A: Larry and Dorothy Soong, 63.75%; Marilyn Wortzman and Jim Easton, 55.42%; B/C: Bill Noltee and Sol Messinger, 54.17%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Thursday evening – One winner. A: Sue Neubecker and Chris Urbanek, 63%; B: Jim Gullo and Mohan Prabhu, 50%; C: Edith Knaszak and Jan O’Mara, 48%.

Bridge Club of East Aurora Wednesday morning – Lance Crawford and Maureen Cancilla, 69.64%; Joe Miranda and Sandi England, 51.79%; (tie) Bob and Joan Ciszak, Ken Meier and Joe Rooney, 49.4%.

Bridge Club Meridian Monday morning – Howell. A: Judy Graf and Mike Ryan, 62.50%; Saleh Fetouh and Bud Seidenberg, 61.31%; B: Ten-Pao Lee and Elaine Kurasiewicz, 60.12%; C: Sue Neubecker and Eleanor Whelan, 54.76%.

Delaware Wednesday evening – North-south, Chuck Heimerl and Al Dickman, 58.4%; Joyce Kindt and Art Morth, 51.7%; east-west, Bill Rich and Henry Chudy, 67.5%; (tie) Sam Grossman and Ed Harman, Diane Sielinski and Jeff Bender, 52.9%.

Lockport Duplicate Bridge Tuesday evening – Howell. Gwilym Brick and Dan Blatz, 62.96%; Ed Harman and Kathy Fenn, 58.13%; Miriam Regnet and Paul Capen, 53.57%.

Buffalo Winter Sectional Tournament Friday – Shakeel Ahmad and Manju Ceylony, 63.57%; Dian Petrov and Kamil Bishara, 62.22%; Penny and Peter Shui, 59.50%; Saleh Fetouh and David Hemmer, 57.03%; Chris Urbanek and Joan Rose, 56.97%.

Buffalo Winter Sectional Tournament Saturday – Chongmin Zhang and Ethan Xie, 62.86%; John Ziemer and Judi Marshall, 62.59%; Glenn Milgrim and Saleh Fetouh, 62.33%; Shakeel Ahmad and Manju Ceylony, 61.46%; Fred Yellen and Bud Seidenberg, 58.30%.

Buffalo Winter Sectional Tourmament Sunday – Swiss teams. A: Jerome Weiss, Michael Carney, Guy Arie and Roger Woodin, 165 Victory Points; B: John and Martha Welte, Davis Heussler and Linda Burroughsford, 148 VPs; C: Larry Abate, Bob Sommerstein, Denise Slattery and Gay Simpson, 95 VPs.

Other clubs

Amherst Senior Center Thursday morning – North-south, Jill and Bruce Brown, 54.6%; Sam Grossman and Shirley Cassety, 52.8%; east-west, Ron Fill and Mike Brown, 64.8%; Phyllis and Alan Vogt, 54.6%.

Canterbury Woods Duplicate Wednesday – North-south, Meena Rustgi and Sukhanand Jain, 66.7%; Dick Munschauer and Fred Nadel, 53.3%; east-west, Sandy Recoon and Bill Hambridge, 65%;Ruth Jones and Carole Grieco, 64.2%.

Town of Tonawanda Senior Center Wednesday – North-south, Mike Brown and Ron Fill, 60.9%; Margaret Rivard and Kay Brinkman, 56.7%; east-west, Fritz Schweiger and Marv Feuerstein, 67.5%; Christel and Frank Bernard, 46.7%.

Email: danderson@buffnews.com

Story topics: /

There are no comments - be the first to comment