Share this article

print logo

You make the call? Colts P-I penalty was oh-so-close

It was a close call but NFL referee Brad Allen arguably got the key penalty correct at the end of regulation time in Sunday's 13-7 win over the Indianapolis Colts.

The Colts were called for offensive pass interference on a two-point conversion play, wiping out a successful pass from Jacoby Brissett to tight end Jack Doyle. Colts receiver Kamar Aiken clearly blocked Bills safety Micah Hyde to break Doyle free. Where did the block occur? It's debatable. As was seen on the CBS telecast, one could argue Hyde was between the 1-yard line and the goal line when blocked by Aiken. Is it conclusive, given all the snow on the field? Hard to say. The conversion try was from the 2-yard line. Contact by a receiver is allowed within 1 yard of the line of scrimmage. We'll call the block a yard and a half downfield, but there's room for debate.

The Colts ran the same play to the other side of the field for the touchdown, a 3-yard pass from Brissett to Doyle. Hyde thought he was interfered with on that one, as well. But as the replay shows, Aiken made contact at or behind the line of scrimmage. It clearly was legal contact.

 

Story topics:

There are no comments - be the first to comment