Share this article

print logo

2017-18 Sabres schedule announced

CHICAGO -- Those looking for the date of a potential quick jaunt to see the Buffalo Sabres in Las Vegas now have the answer to their question.

Tuesday, Oct. 17 is when the Sabres will make their first trip to T-Mobile Arena to meet the expansion Vegas Golden Knights, one of the highlights on the 2017-18 schedule announced Thursday by the NHL.

The game vs. Vegas will be part of a four-game road trip that includes the club's annual sojourn to California against San Jose (Oct. 12), Los Angeles (Oct. 14) and Anaheim (Oct. 15). The Golden Knights make their first visit to Buffalo on March 10 in one of the Sabres' seven home matinees.

The Sabres will only play 40 home games in KeyBank Center due to the fact their Jan. 1 Winter Classic game against the New York Rangers in Citi Field counts as a Buffalo home game. The Sabres will not play in Buffalo from Dec. 22-Jan. 9 due to the World Junior Championships.

The Sabres, in fact, will spend an entire week in the New York area leading up to the Winter Classic as they have road games Dec. 27 against the New York Islanders and Dec. 29 at New Jersey before their New Year's Eve practice session outdoors at the home of the New York Mets. The Rangers will not visit Buffalo this season, as the team's other two meetings will both be in Madison Square Garden.

Sabres intrigued by reported Winter Classic matchup with Rangers

Prior to their Jan. 9 return home against Winnipeg, the Sabres will have another road trip to Minnesota, Winnipeg and Philadelphia. The World Juniors run Dec. 26-Jan. 5 in KeyBank Center and HarborCenter, but have control of the arena starting on Dec. 23 for preparation and practices.

An incredible oddity to the schedule is that the Sabres do not play archrival Toronto at all until March 5, when the Maple Leafs finally come to town. The teams will stage all four of their meetings over the season's final 17 games, with Toronto also in Buffalo on March 15 and the Sabres playing in the Air Canada Centre on March 26 and April 2.

The Sabres' home and season opener, Oct. 5 against Montreal, was announced Wednesday. So was their first road game,  Oct. 7 at the New York Islanders, because it marks the Isles' home opener at Barclays Center in Brooklyn.

In other highlights of the schedule:

---New coach Phil Housley makes his return to Nashville when the Sabres face the Predators on March 31. The Sabres host the defending Western Conference champions on March 19.

---The lone visit to Buffalo from Sidney Crosby and the two-time defending Stanley Cup champion Pittsburgh Penguins will be on Dec. 1. The Sabres play twice in PPG Paints Arena, on Nov. 14 and Dec. 2 in the back half of the season's lone home-and-home series.

---South Buffalo's Patrick Kane and the Chicago Blackhawks come to Buffalo for their annual visit on March 17. The Sabres play in United Center, home of this weekend's draft,  on Dec. 8.

----The Sabres make their first trip to Detroit's Little Caesars Arena on Nov. 17.  They will also play there Feb. 22. The Red Wings' new downtown home is located a mile from Joe Louis Arena and they will be sharing the $863 million arena with the NBA's Detroit Pistons, a first for the two franchises.

---To account for all the road games due to the World Juniors, the Sabres have a five-game homestand from Jan. 30-Feb. 8 and a six-gamer from March 10-23. The Sabres play just 17 of their first 42 games in KeyBank Center; they have 19 of their last 32 at home.

---Buffalo's seven home afternoon games include five on Saturdays at 1 p.m. and two Monday holidays at 3 p.m. (Oct. 9 vs. New Jersey and Feb. 19 vs. Washington). The Saturday games are Oct. 28 vs. San Jose, Jan. 20 vs. Dallas, Feb. 17 vs. Los Angeles, March 10 vs. Vegas and March 17 vs. Chicago.

---In Atlantic Division games, the Sabres will now four play four times against each opponent because of the addition of Vegas. Buffalo met Ottawa and Toronto five times last season. The Sabres meet each Metropolitan Division team three times and each Western Conference team twice.

Against the Metro, the Sabres play Pittsburgh, Philadelphia, the Rangers and Islanders in one home game and two on the road (remembering the "home" game against the Rangers is in Queens). They play Carolina, Columbus, Washington, New Jersey twice at home and once on the road.

---After having a league-high 19 sets of back-to-back games last season, that number has been cut to 16.

In addition to the Sabres' participation in the Winter Classic, the league had previously announced its other marquee items for the season: Colorado will meet Ottawa in Stockholm, Sweden on Nov. 10-11, the Senators will host Montreal in the NHL100 Classic at TD Place on Dec. 16, All-Star Weekend will be Jan. 27-28 in Tampa and the annual Stadium Series game will be March 3 at the US Naval Academy in Annapolis, Md., pitting the Leafs and Washington Capitals.

2017-18 Sabres Schedule
Game Date Opponent Time (ET)
1 Thursday October 5 MONTREAL 7 p.m.
2 Saturday October 7 at NY Islanders 7 p.m.
3 Monday October 9 NEW JERSEY 3 p.m.
4 Thursday October 12 at San Jose 10:30 p.m.
5 Saturday October 14 at Los Angeles 10:30 p.m.
6 Sunday October 15 at Anaheim 9 p.m.
7 Tuesday October 17 at Vegas 10 p.m.
8 Friday October 20 VANCOUVER 7 p.m.
9 Saturday October 21 at Boston 7 p.m.
10 Tuesday October 24 DETROIT 7 p.m.
11 Wednesday October 25 at Columbus 8 p.m.
12 Saturday October 28 SAN JOSE 1 p.m.
13 Thursday November 2 at Arizona 10 p.m.
14 Saturday November 4 at Dallas 8 p.m.
15 Tuesday November 7 WASHINGTON 7 p.m.
16 Friday November 10 FLORIDA 7 p.m.
17 Saturday November 11 at Montreal 7 p.m.
18 Tuesday November 14 at Pittsburgh 7 p.m.
19 Friday November 17 at Detroit 7:30 p.m.
20 Saturday November 18 CAROLINA 7 p.m.
21 Monday November 20 COLUMBUS 7 p.m.
22 Wednesday November 22 MINNESOTA 7 p.m.
23 Friday November 24 EDMONTON 7 p.m.
24 Saturday November 25 at Montreal 7 p.m.
25 Tuesday November 28 TAMPA BAY 7 p.m.
26 Friday December 1 PITTSBURGH 7 p.m.
27 Saturday December 2 at Pittsburgh 7 p.m.
28 Tuesday December 5 at Colorado 9 p.m.
29 Friday December 8 at Chicago 8:30 p.m.
30 Sunday December 10 at St. Louis 7 p.m.
31 Tuesday December 12 OTTAWA 7 p.m.
32 Thursday December 14 at Philadelphia 7 p.m.
33 Friday December 15 CAROLINA 7 p.m.
34 Thursday December 19 BOSTON 7 p.m.
35 Friday December 22 PHILADELPHIA 7 p.m.
36 Saturday December 23 at Carolina 7 p.m.
37 Wednesday December 27 at NY Islanders 7 p.m.
38 Friday December 29 at New Jersey 7 p.m.
39 Monday January 1 NY RANGERS* 1 p.m.

40 Thursday January 4 at Minnesota 8 p.m.
41 Friday January 5 at Winnipeg 8 p.m.
42 Sunday January 7 at Philadelphia 1 p.m.
43 Tuesday January 9 WINNIPEG 7 p.m.
44 Thursday January 11 COLUMBUS 7 p.m.
45 Thursday January 18 at NY Rangers 7 p.m.
46 Saturday January 20 DALLAS 1 p.m.
47 Monday January 22 at Calgary 9 p.m.
48 Tuesday January 23 at Edmonton 9 p.m.
49 Thursday January 25 at Vancouver 10 p.m.
50 Tuesday January 30 NEW JERSEY 7 p.m.
51 Thursday February 1 FLORIDA 7 p.m.
52 Saturday February 3 ST. LOUIS 7 p.m.
53 Tuesday February 6 ANAHEIM 7 p.m.
54 Thursday February 8 NY ISLANDERS 7 p.m.
55 Saturday February 10 at Boston 7 p.m.
56 Sunday February 11 COLORADO 7 p.m.
57 Tuesday February 13 TAMPA BAY 7 p.m.
58 Thursday February 15 at Ottawa 7:30 p.m.
59 Saturday February 17 LOS ANGELES 1 p.m.
60 Monday February 19 WASHINGTON 3 p.m.
61 Thursday February 22 at Detroit 7:30 p.m.
62 Saturday February 24 at Washington 7 p.m.
63 Sunday February 25 BOSTON 5 p.m.
64 Wednesday February 28 at Tampa Bay 7 p.m.
65 Friday March 2 at Florida 7:30 p.m.
66 Monday March 5 TORONTO 7 p.m.
67 Wednesday March 7 CALGARY 7:30 p.m.
68 Thursday March 8 at Ottawa 7:30 p.m.
69 Saturday March 10 VEGAS 1 p.m.
70 Thursday March 15 TORONTO 7 p.m.
71 Saturday March 17 CHICAGO 1 p.m.
72 Monday March 19 NASHVILLE 7 p.m.
73 Wednesday March 21 ARIZONA 7 p.m.
74 Friday March 23 MONTREAL 7 p.m.
75 Saturday March 24 at NY Rangers 7 p.m.
76 Monday March 26 at Toronto 7 p.m.
77 Thursday March 29 DETROIT 7 p.m.
78 Saturday March 31 at Nashville 8 p.m.
79 Monday April 2 at Toronto 7 p.m.
80 Wednesday April 4 OTTAWA 7:30 p.m.
81 Friday April 6 at Tampa Bay 7:30 p.m.
82 Saturday April 7 at Florida 7 p.m.
*2018 NHL Winter Classic at Citi Field in New York



There are no comments - be the first to comment