Share this article

print logo

Duplicate Bridge: May 13, 2017

The Airport Bridge Club will award extra points at its games at noon today, Saturday, May 13, and next Saturday, May 20, and at 11 a.m. Monday, May 15, to next Friday, May 19.

* * *

The Buffalo Non-Life Master Sectional Tournament, for players with fewer than 500 master points, will be held next Saturday, May 20, and Sunday, May 21, in the Bridge Center of Buffalo, 3362 Sheridan Drive, Amherst. Games will be at 10:30 a.m. and 2:30 p.m. For more info, click this link.

* * *

Congratuations to Jay Levy, the Buffalo area player who earned the most master points at the Rochester Regional Tournament May 1 to 7. He won 44.75 points and was 13th overall.
Other local players who did well in Rochester include: Davis Heussler and David Colligan, tied with 13.53 points; Mike Ryan, 12.81; Rajat Basu, 12.69; Manju Ceylony and Shakeel Ahmad, tied with 11.95; Saleh Fetouh, 11.70; Gene Nowatniak, 11.40; Chip Kean, 10.59; and Sharon Chang, 10.45. For a complete tournament recap, click this link.

 

* * *

Bridge lessons will be offered for students from fifth to 12th grade on Thursday mornings from July 6 to Aug. 31 this summer at the Bridge Center of Buffalo, beginning July 6. Sessions will include practice games, snacks and social time. For info and to sign up, email Carol Bedell at lorac5@roadrunner.com.

* * *

Western New York Unit 116 regularly sponsors special games. Currently they include:
Annual Picnic and Game – Sunday, Aug. 20. Rescue Fire Hall, 1241 Strad Ave., North Tonawanda.
Annual Meeting and Game – Saturday, Dec. 2. Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst.

*  *  *

Tournament calendar

Cleveland All-American Regional – Embassy Suites, 5800 Rockside Woods Blvd., Independence, Ohio. Tuesday, May 23, to Monday, May 29. For info, click this link.
Ithaca Sectional – Kendal at Ithaca, 2230 N. Triphammer Road, Ithaca. Saturday, June 3, and Sunday, June 4.
District 5 Spring Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, June 12, to Sunday, June 18.
Hamilton Sectional – Royal Canadian Legion, 435 Limeridge Drive East, Hamilton, Ont. Saturday, July 9, and Sunday, July 10.
Rochester Summer Sectional – Moose Club, 5375 W. Henrietta Road, Henrietta. Saturday, July 15, and Sunday, July 16. For info, click this link.
Roni Atkins Pittsburgh Labor Day Regional – Monroeville Convention Center/Doubletree Hotel, 209 Mall Plaza Blvd., Monroeville, Pa. Tuesday, Aug. 29, to Sunday, Sept. 4. For info, click this link.
Great Lakes Fall Sectional – Erie Bridge Association, 1221 Grant Ave., Erie, Pa. Saturday, Sept. 9, and Sunday, Sept. 10.
Buffalo Fall Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst. Friday, Sept. 15, to Sunday, Sept. 17.
Rochester Fall Sectional – Location TBA, Webster. Saturday, Oct. 14, and Sunday, Oct. 15.
Buffalo Regional – Adam’s Mark Hotel, 120 Church St. Tuesday, Oct. 17, to Sunday, Oct. 22. For info, click this link.
Pittsburgh Fall Sectional – Greater Pittsburgh Masonic Center, 3579 Masonic Way, Pittsburgh, Pa. Friday, Oct. 27, to Sunday, Oct. 29.
Niagara Falls Regional – Crowne Plaza Hotel, 5685 Falls Ave., Niagara Falls, Ont. Tuesday, Nov. 7, to Sunday, Nov. 12. For info, click this link.
Finger Lakes Sectional – Location TBA, Waterloo. Saturday, Nov. 11, and Sunday, Nov. 12.
District 5 Winter Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, Dec. 4, to Sunday, Dec. 10.
Cleveland Rock and Roll Regional – Wednesday, Jan. 10, 2018, to Sunday, Jan. 14, 2018.
Buffalo Winter Sectional – Friday, Jan. 19, 2018, to Sunday, Jan. 21, 2018.
Toronto Easter Regional – Tuesday, March 27, 2018, to Sunday, April 1, 2018.
Buffalo Spring Sectional – Friday, April 13, 2018, to Sunday, April 15, 2018.
Rochester Spring Sectional – Saturday, April 28, 2018, and Sunday, April 29, 2018.
Cleveland All-American Regional – Tuesday, May 22, 2018, to Monday, May 28, 2018.
District 5 Spring Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, June 11, 2018, to Sunday, June 17, 2018.
Rochester Summer Sectional – Saturday, July 14, 2018, and Sunday, July 15, 2018.
Syracuse Regional – Monday, Aug. 13, 2018, to Sunday, Aug. 19, 2018.
Pittsburgh Labor Day Regional – Tuesday, Aug. 28, 2018, to Sunday, Sept. 3, 2018.
Buffalo Fall Sectional – Friday, Sept. 21, 2018, to Sunday, Sept. 23, 2018.
Rochester Fall Sectional – Saturday, Oct. 13, 2018, and Sunday, Oct. 14, 2018.
Buffalo Regional – Tuesday, Oct. 16, 2018, to Sunday, Oct. 21, 2018.
Finger Lakes Sectional – Saturday, Nov. 17, 2018, and Sunday, Nov. 18, 2018.
District 5 Winter Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, Dec. 3, 2018, to Sunday, Dec. 9, 2018.

*  *  *

Bridge club websites:

Click names for links.
Bridge Center of Buffalo.
Bridge Club Meridian.
Western New York Unit 116.

*  *  *

The Duplicate Bridge column is compiled weekly by News Staff Reporter Dale Anderson. The print version normally appears in the Life & Arts section in the Saturday edition of The Buffalo News.
If it’s not in its usual place, Google “Duplicate Bridge” plus the current Saturday date, which should bring up a link to it on the Buffalo News website.
Sometimes the online version does not materialize on the Buffalo News website, at least not in a timely fashion. When that happens, like it did a couple times recently, you can find it as an appendix to Dale Anderson’s bridge blog at http://newsdupli.blogspot.com/
The online version contains unabridged scores and a longer list of notices. Deadline for submission of scores and notices is Tuesday night.
Email danderson@buffnews.com or dahotwings@aol.com. Office phone is (716) 849-4420.

*  *  *

A Ruby Life Master since the ACBL created that new ranking at the beginning of 2016, Dale Anderson is approaching 2,200 master points. He blogs about his progress toward Gold Life Master (2,500 points) and other bridge adventures here.

*  *  *

Duplicate scores
Week of May 1 to May 7
ACBL Sanctioned Clubs

Airport Bridge Club Monday morning – Howell. A: Bob Linn and Joe Rooney, 65.97%; B: (tie) Nadine Stein and Ron Henrikson, Tom Koralewski and Dale Anderson, 63.89%; June Feuerstein and Fenton Harrison, 52.78%.
Airport Bridge Club Tuesday morning – North-south, A: Sharon Benz and Judi Marshall, 65.97%; Liz Clark and Harry Cheung, 52.31%; Usha Khurana and Dale Anderson, 51.85%; B: Nancy Kessler and Ross Markello, 51.62%; Ruth Kozower and Judy Kaprove, 50.69%; C: Pat Lakeman and Mary Terrana, 42.36%; east-west, A: Vince Pesce and John Ziemer, 65.05%; Allen Beroza and John Kirsits, 59.26%; Tom Koralewski and Ken Meier, 55.56%; B: Marilyn Sultz and Sandi England, 50.46%; C: Jan Hasselback and Linda Zittel, 48.15%.
Airport Bridge Club Wednesday morning – Home-style pairs. (Tie) Bill Castle and Stuart Caswell, Bob Linn and Burt Freiman, Chuck Schorr and Dale Anderson, 2 wins.
Airport Bridge Club Thursday morning – North-south, A: Allen Beroza and John Ziemer, 66.96%; Elaine Kurasiewicz and Alan Greer, 58.63%; B: Denise Slattery and Eva Schmidt, 54.76%; Burt Freiman and Dale Anderson, 50.30%; C: Gay Simpson and Marietta Kalman, 44.94%; east-west, A/B: Alex Miller and Paul Ganley, 59.52%; C: Sandi England and Tom Koralewski, 49.70%.
Airport Bridge Club Friday morning – Howell. A: Gay Simpson and Chuck Schorr, 60.71%; Barbara Libby and Ted May, 56.55%; B: Paula Kotowski and Bill Boardman, 55.95%; Dorothy May and Joe Rooney, 51.79%; C: Alex Miller and Paul Ganley, 48.81%.
Airport Bridge Club Saturday afternoon – Home-style pairs. Nancy Wolstoncroft and Alan Greer, 3 wins.
Bridge Center of Buffalo Tuesday noon – Non-life masters. North-south, A: Natalie Abramson and Dick McGowan, 54.17%; B: Sol Messinger and Joel Brownstein, 53.27%; C: Mary Blanchard and Carol Roth, 52.98%; east-west, A/B: Sandra Silverberg and Ginger Maiman, 55.95%; C: Betsy and Richard Heuer, 53.27%.
Bridge Center of Buffalo Wednesday morning – North-south, A: Donna Steffan and Judy Graf, 66.67%; Sharon Benz and Liz Clark, 59.03%; B: Paula Rosen and Jim Gullo, 57.41%; C: Pat Lakeman and Joyce Greenspan, 55.09%; east-west, A: Gladys and Ken Hardcastle, 63.19%; B/C: Helen Reilly and Sue Neubecker, 54.63%; Maryann Szafran and John Marvin, 53.47%.
Bridge Center of Buffalo Thursday noon – 0-750 game. North-south, A: Jim McClure and Dick McGowan, 62.58%; B: Sol Messinger and Joel Brownstein, 57.82%; Pat Kilbury and Jeff Oshlag, 51.86%; Pat Lanighan and John Meindl, 48.65%; east-west, A/B/C: Marilyn Steffan and Henry Porter, 67.44%.
Bridge Center of Buffalo Thursday evening – Howell. A: Christy Kellogg and Bert Hargeshimer, 63.89%; Dian Petrov and Kamil Bishara, 63.19%; B: Penny and Peter Shui, 61.81%; Linda Burroughsford and Peter Patterson, 52.08%; C: Edith Knaszak and Jan O’Mara, 45.83%.
Bridge Center of Buffalo Friday morning – One winner. A/B: Stan Kozlowski and Alex Kowal, 71.25%; C: Eleanor Whelan and Helen Panza, 53.75%.
Bridge Center of Buffalo Saturday noon – Howell. A: Christy Kellogg and Bert Hargeshimer, 65%; B: Carol Roth and Judy Graf, 54%; Pat Burns and Jeanne Gladysz, 51.50%.
Bridge Club of East Aurora Wednesday morning – Ken Meier and Joe Rooney, 61.46%; (tie) Joanne LaFay and Sandi England, Bob and Joan Ciszak, 59.42%.
Bridge Club Meridian Monday morning – Howell. A/B: Rita Sofia and Anne Watkins, 56.55%; Stan Kozlowski and Judy Graf, 55.95%; Bud Seidenberg and Chris Urbanek, 54.17%; C: Claire Gareleck and Marietta Kalman, 50.60%.
Delaware Wednesday evening – North-south, Jeff Bender and Henry Chudy, 60.57%; Edna Fill and Jan O’Mara, 59.14%; east-west, Beena and Madhav Deshmukh, 59.34%; Dorothy May and Art Morth, 53.50%.
Lockport Duplicate Bridge Tuesday evening – Howell. Roy Crocker and John Lewis, 64%; Gwilym Brick and Dan Blatz, 60%; Ed Harman and Beena Deshmukh, 59.50%; Jasbeer and Violet Makhija, 52.50%.
Lockport Duplicate Bridge Saturday afternoon – Howell. James and Paula Jones, 56.94%; Bob and Joan Ciszak, 54.17%; Dick and Bernie Czarnecki, 53.70%; Edith Moran and Anne Clancy, 53.24%.

Other clubs

ABA Humboldt Bridge Club Tuesday evening – Howell. Pearl Harris and Shirley Thompson, 51%; Diana Brown and Doanne Jackson, 46%.
Amherst Senior Center Monday afternoon – North-south, Sam Grossman and Shirley Cassety, 71%; Bram and Terry Hamovitch, 62%; east-west, Herb Falk and Marv Feuerstein, 63%; Joe Day and Lorey Repicci, 61%.
Amherst Senior Center Thursday morning – North-south, Cindy Darone and Carl Gebauer, 63%; Shirley Cassety and Sam Grossman, 54%; east-west, Dave Stroud and David Young, 58%; Tom Guttuso and Harry Metcalf, 54%.
Canterbury Woods Duplicate Wednesday – North-south, Betty Bowling and Sukhanand Jain, 63.2%; Eleanor Murray and Fred Nadel, 62.3%; east-west, Bill Hambridge and Sandy Recoon, 61.4%; Joan Mack and Dick Munschauer, 55.3%.
Clarence Senior Center Thursday – Howell. Wilson McClaren and Bob Jergensen, 68%; Cathy Borcik and Bill Westley, 66%.
Town of Tonawanda Senior Center Wednesday – North-south, Pat and Mike Weber, 61.5%; Mike Brown and Ron Fill, 56.3%; Evelyn Vitello and Edna Fill, 52.1%; east-west, Christel and Frank Bernard, 57.5%; Joanne Biondo and Thelma Frauenhofer, 54.2%; Marv Feuerstein and Fritz Schweiger, 52.5%.

Email: danderson@buffnews.com

Story topics:

There are no comments - be the first to comment