Duplicate Bridge: March 18 - The Buffalo News

Share this article

print logo

Duplicate Bridge: March 18

Next week will see unit championship games, awarding extra master points, at local ACBL sanctioned bridge clubs.

They include Bridge Club Meridian’s game at 10:30 a.m. Monday, March 20, all games at the Bridge Center of Buffalo from Tuesday, March 21, to next Saturday, March 25, and all games at the Airport Bridge Club from Monday to next Saturday.

The Airport Bridge Club also will have an extra-point game at noon today, Saturday, March 18, and will offer two sessions on Monday, March 27 – an extra-point game at 10 a.m. and the ACBL Senior Pairs game at 1:15 p.m.

* * *

Western New York Unit 116 regularly sponsors special games. Currently they include:
Annual Picnic and Game – Sunday, Aug. 20. Rescue Fire Hall, 1241 Strad Ave., North Tonawanda.
Annual Meeting and Game – Saturday, Dec. 2. Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst.

*  *  *

Tournament calendar

Pittsburgh Spring Sectional – Greater Pittsburgh Masonic Center, 3579 Masonic Way, Pittsburgh, Pa. Friday, March 24, to Sunday, March 26. For info, click this link.

Titusville Sectional – Cross Creek Resort, 3815 Route 8, Titusville, Pa. Friday, March 31, to Sunday, April 2. For info, click this link.

Rochester Spring Sectional – Knights of Columbus, 70 Barrett Drive, Webster. Saturday, April 8, and Sunday, April 9. For info, click this link.

Toronto Easter Regional – Sheraton Toronto Centre, 123 Queen St. West, Toronto, Ont. Tuesday, April 11, to Sunday, April 16. For info, click this link.

Buffalo Spring Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst. Friday, April 21, to Sunday, April 23. For info, click this link.

Upstate New York Regional – RIT Conference Center, 5257 W. Henrietta Road, West Henrietta (Rochester). Monday, May 1, to Sunday, May 7. For info, click this link.

Cleveland All-American Regional – Embassy Suites, 5800 Rockside Woods Blvd., Independence, Ohio. Tuesday, May 23, to Monday, May 29. For info, click this link.

Ithaca Sectional – Location TBA. Saturday, June 3, and Sunday, June 4.

District 5 Spring Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, June 12, to Sunday, June 18.

Rochester Summer Sectional – Location TBA, Webster. Saturday, July 15, and Sunday, July 16.

Pittsburgh Labor Day Regional – Hyatt Regency Pittsburgh Airport, 1111 Airport Blvd., Pittsburgh, Pa. Tuesday, Aug. 29, to Sunday, Sept. 4.

Great Lakes Fall Sectional – Erie Bridge Association, 1221 Grant Ave., Erie, Pa. Saturday, Sept. 9, and Sunday, Sept. 10.

Buffalo Fall Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst. Friday, Sept. 15, to Sunday, Sept. 17.

Rochester Fall Sectional – Location TBA, Webster. Saturday, Oct. 14, and Sunday, Oct. 15.

Buffalo Regional – Adam’s Mark Hotel, 120 Church St. Tuesday, Oct. 17, to Sunday, Oct. 22.

Pittsburgh Fall Sectional – Greater Pittsburgh Masonic Center, 3579 Masonic Way, Pittsburgh, Pa. Friday, Oct. 27, to Sunday, Oct. 29.

Niagara Falls Regional – Crowne Plaza Hotel, 5685 Falls Ave., Niagara Falls, Ont. Tuesday, Nov. 7, to Sunday, Nov. 12. For info, click this link.

Finger Lakes Sectional – Location TBA, Waterloo. Saturday, Nov. 11, and Sunday, Nov. 12.

District 5 Winter Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, Dec. 4, to Sunday, Dec. 10.

Cleveland Rock and Roll Regional – Wednesday, Jan. 10, 2018, to Sunday, Jan. 14, 2018.
Buffalo Winter Sectional – Friday, Jan. 19, 2018, to Sunday, Jan. 21, 2018.
Toronto Easter Regional – Tuesday, March 27, 2018, to Sunday, April 1, 2018.
Buffalo Spring Sectional – Friday, April 13, 2018, to Sunday, April 15, 2018.
Rochester Spring Sectional – Saturday, April 28, 2018, and Sunday, April 29, 2018.
Cleveland All-American Regional – Tuesday, May 22, 2018, to Monday, May 28, 2018.
District 5 Spring Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, June 11, 2018, to Sunday, June 17, 2018.
Rochester Summer Sectional – Saturday, July 14, 2018, and Sunday, July 15, 2018.
Syracuse Regional – Monday, Aug. 13, 2018, to Sunday, Aug. 19, 2018.
Pittsburgh Labor Day Regional – Tuesday, Aug. 28, 2018, to Sunday, Sept. 3, 2018.
Buffalo Fall Sectional – Friday, Sept. 21, 2018, to Sunday, Sept. 23, 2018.
Rochester Fall Sectional – Saturday, Oct. 13, 2018, and Sunday, Oct. 14, 2018.
Buffalo Regional – Tuesday, Oct. 16, 2018, to Sunday, Oct. 21, 2018.
Finger Lakes Sectional – Saturday, Nov. 17, 2018, and Sunday, Nov. 18, 2018.
District 5 Winter Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, Dec. 3, 2018, to Sunday, Dec. 9, 2018.

*  *  *

Bridge club websites:

Click names for links.
Bridge Center of Buffalo.
Bridge Club Meridian.
Western New York Unit 116.

*  *  *

The Duplicate Bridge column is compiled weekly by News Staff Reporter Dale Anderson. The print version normally appears in the Life & Arts section in the Saturday edition of The Buffalo News.
If it’s not in its usual place, Google “Duplicate Bridge” plus the current Saturday date, which should bring up a link to it on the Buffalo News website.
Sometimes the online version does not materialize on the Buffalo News website, at least not in a timely fashion. When that happens, like it did a couple times recently, you can find it as an appendix to Dale Anderson’s bridge blog at http://newsdupli.blogspot.com/
The online version contains unabridged scores and a longer list of notices. Deadline for submission of scores and notices is Tuesday night.
Email danderson@buffnews.com or dahotwings@aol.com. Office phone is (716) 849-4420.

*  *  *

A Ruby Life Master since the ACBL created that new ranking at the beginning of 2016, Dale Anderson has reached 2,175 master points. He blogs about his progress toward Gold Life Master (2,500 points) and other bridge adventures here.

*  *  *

Duplicate scores
Week of March 6 to March 12
ACBL Sanctioned Clubs

Airport Bridge Club Monday morning – North-south, A/B: Ruth and Gene Nowatniak, 58.99%; C: Florence Boyd and Ron Henrikson, 54.46%; east-west, A/B: Nancy Kessler and Ross Marketllo, 57.74%; C: Usha Khurana and Laurie Foster, 53.87%.
Airport Bridge Club Tuesday morning – North-south, A: Judi Marshall and Jerry Geiger, 55.56%; B: Sandi England and Marietta Kalman, 55.09%; Usha Khurana and Elaine Kurasiewicz, 54.40%; C: Marilyn Sultz and Alex Miller, 51.62%; east-west, A: Barbara Libby and Allen Beroza, 60.68%; B: Davis Heussler and Tom Koralewski, 54.95%; Nancy Kessler and John Kirsits, 52.55%; C: Pawan Matta and Ross Markello, 47.92%.
Airport Bridge Club Wednesday morning – Howell. A: Denise Slattery and Mike Silverman, 65%; B: Martin Pieterse and Walt Olszewski, 56%.
Airport Bridge Club Thursday morning – One winner. A: Judi Marshall and John Ziemer, 63.78%; Helen Panza and Mike Silverman, 59.93%; B/C: Marilyn Sultz and Ruth Wurster, 58.65%; Joyce Greenspan and Art Schumacher, 52.89%.
Airport Bridge Club Friday morning – Howell. A: Vera Carpenter and Rashid Khan, 60.12%; B: Dorothy May and Joe Rooney, 55.36%; C: Nadine Stein and Ron Henrikson, 50%.
Airport Bridge Club Saturday afternoon – Howell. A: Nancy Wolstoncroft and Alan Greer, 63%; B: Barbara and Martin Pieterse, 58%; Shirley Cassety and Ross Markello, 57%; C: Alice Bragg and Cleveland Fleming, 47%.
Bridge Center of Buffalo Tuesday noon – Non-life masters. North-south, A: Paula Rosen and Natalie Abramson, 59.17%; B/C: Terry Camp and Pat Haynes, 52.50%; east-west, A/B: Jim McClure and Sandra Morrison, 60.83%; Pat Kilbury and Marcia Wright, 55.83%; C: Gail Pitterman and Rose Bochiechio, 50.83%.
Bridge Center of Buffalo Wednesday morning – North-south, A: Judy Padgug and Joan Rose, 56.98%; B: Rajat Basu and Jim Gullo, 56.17%; C: Marilyn Wortzman and James Easton, 50%; east-west, A/B/C: Amita Arora and Sharon Chang, 55.10%.
Bridge Center of Buffalo Thursday noon – 0-750 game. North-south, A/B: Amita Arora and Marilyn Wortzman, 66.54%; Joyce Frayer and Mary Ball, 56.13%; Chip Kean and Judy Zeckhauser, 54.17%; C: John Bava and Margaret Zhou, 45.71%; east-west A/B: Pat Kilbury and Jeff Oshlag, 62.20%; C: Denise Slattery and Ed Morgan, 60.38%; Helen Reilly and Peggy Mergenhagen, 43.88%.
Bridge Center of Buffalo Thursday evening – One winner. A: Chris Urbanek and Ten-Pao Lee, 63.78%; B: Shakeel Ahmad and Manju Ceylony, 61.54%; Howard Foster and Mike Ryan, 55.77%; C: Madhav and Beena Deshmukh, 55.77%; Joyce Kindt and Sandy Marcussen, 55.13%.
Bridge Center of Buffalo Friday morning – North-south, A/B: Amita Arora and Judy Padgug, 55.79%; Chris Urbanek and Stan Kozlowski, 55.32%; Judy Graf and Joan Rose, 55.32%; C: Gary Schmitt and Eleanor Whelan, 49.54%; east-west A/B: Jim Gullo and Fred Yellen, 64.58%; Bud Seidenberg and Jay Costello, 63.66%; Bill Rushmore and Kathy Pollock, 60.65%; Vic Bergsten and John Ziemer, 55.56%; C: Denise Slattery and Ten-Pao Lee, 49.77%.
Bridge Center of Buffalo Saturday noon – One winner. Raj Puri and Claire Gareleck, 57.41%; Mike Ryan and Judy Graf, 55.56%.
Bridge Club of East Aurora Wednesday morning – Darcy Young and Michael Apa, 56.25%; Jack Kern and Lance Crawford, 55.21%; David Floyd and Jim Downing, 54.17%.
Bridge Club Meridian Monday morning – North-south, A: Chris Urbanek and Judy Padgug, 64.58%; B: Ken Meier - Dorothy May, 60.12%; C: Ed Morgan and Victor Abbott, 44.05%; east-west, A: Fred Yellen and Bud Seidenberg, 60.12%; B: Pat Rasmus and Bob Sommerstein, 54.56%; C: Mary Ball and Art Morth, 47.32%.
Delaware Wednesday evening – North-south, Jeff Bender and Henry Chudy, 59.9%; Bill Rich and Ed Harman, 56.8%; east-west, Jack Cukierman and Gabe Tannenbaum, 60%; Ron Fill and Chuck Heimerl, 52.5%.
Lockport Duplicate Bridge Tuesday evening – Paul Capen and James Lanzo, 60.42%; Beena and Madhav Deshmukh, 54.17%; Dian Petrov and Gene Nawotniak, 53.47%; Ed Harman and Bob Lederhouse, 52.08%.
Lockport Duplicate Bridge Saturday afternoon – Mary Ball and Joyce Frayer, 56.94%; Ed Harman and Sushil Amlani, 54.17%; Ron Henrikson and Bob Lederhouse, 53.70%; Edith Moran and Anne Clancy, 50.93%.

Other clubs

ABA Humboldt Bridge Club Tuesday evening – Howell. Neola McGuire and Pamela Murphy, 52%; Shirley Thompson and David Mathis, 50%.
Amherst Senior Center Monday afternoon – North-south, George Mayers and Chuck Heimerl, 55%; Marian Morber and Fritz Schweiger, 54%; east-west, Lata Maheshwari and Kokila G. Chheda, 63%; Mike Brown and Ron Fill, 56%.
Amherst Senior Center Thursday morning – North-south, Shirley Cassety and Sam Grossman, 65%; George Mayers and Marian Morber, 46%; east-west, Al and Phyllis Vogt, 60%; Ron Fill and Tom Guttuso, 53%.
Canterbury Woods Duplicate Wednesday – North-south, Meena Rustigi and Sukhanand Jain, 54.1%; Vera Arrison and Gretchen Crego, 50.8%; east-west, Sandy Recoon and Bill Hambridge, 70.8%; Evie Miller and Emily Wettlaufer, 55.2%.
Town of Tonawanda Senior Center Wednesday – North-south, Joanne Biondo and Ron Fill, 58.2%; Evelyn Vitello and Edna Fill, 57.5%; Pat and Mike Weber, 48.2%; east-west, Ed and Dorothy Rupp, 58.2%; Edna Henrich and Thelma Frauenhofer, 55.7%; Marv Feuerstein and Fritz Schweiger, 53.8%.

Story topics:

There are no comments - be the first to comment