Share this article

print logo

Duplicate Bridge: April 2

The Buffalo Spring Sectional Tournament is coming Friday, April 8, to Sunday, April 10, in the Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst, with pairs games at 10 a.m. and 3 p.m. Friday and Saturday and Swiss teams at 10 a.m. Sunday. For info, call Dian Petrov at 688-1226 or Paul Zittel 992-4794. For more info, click this link.

...

The Airport Bridge Club awards extra points at all games at 11 a.m. today, Saturday, April 2, and Monday, April 4, to Thursday, April 7.

...

Lockport Duplicate is holding a memorial game at 1 p.m. today, Saturday, April 2, in honor of longtime director Marge Schomers, who died March 10.

...

Congratulations to John and Martha Welte, the leading master point winners from Buffalo in the Toronto Easter Regional Tournament March 21 to March 27. They tied for 64th place with 25.45 points. Other local notables are Mike Ryan and Ten-Pao Lee, tied for 183rd with 11.90.

...

Western New York Unit 116 regularly sponsors special games. Currently they include:

Club-run unit games – Sunday, May 15, to Saturday, May 21, at participating clubs.

Strawberry Social – Saturday, June 11, 12:30 p.m., Lockport Duplicate, 33 Ontario St., Lockport.

Summer Picnic – Sunday, July 24. Two sessions. Erie County Fairgrounds, Hamburg.

...

Tournament calendar

Gatlinburg Regional – Gatlinburg Convention Center, Gatlinburg, Tenn. Monday, April 11, to Sunday, April 17. For info, click this link.

Rochester Spring Sectional – Italian American Sports Club, 1250 Buffalo Road, Gates. Saturday, April 23, and Sunday, April 24. For info, click this link.

Unit 112 Charity Sectional – Broome West Senior Center, 2801 Wayne St., Ithaca. Saturday, May 14, and Sunday, May 15. For info, click this link.

Cleveland All-American Regional – Embassy Suites, 5800 Rockside Woods Blvd., Independence, Ohio. Tuesday, May 24, to Monday, May 30. For info, click this link.

District 5 Spring Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, June 13, to Sunday, June 19.

Buffalo “Future Stars” Non-Life Master Sectional – Bridge Center of Buffalo, 3362 Sheridan Drive, Amherst. Friday, July 8, and Saturday, July 9.

Hamilton Sectional – Royal Canadian Legion, 435 Limeridge Road East, Hamilton, Ont. Saturday, July 16, and Sunday, July 17. For info, click this link.

Rochester Summer Sectional – Moose Club, 5375 West Henrietta Road, Henrietta. Saturday, July 16, and Sunday, July 17. For info, click this link.

Syracuse Regional – Holiday Inn, 411 Electronics Parkway, Liverpool. Monday, Aug. 1, to Sunday, Aug. 7. For info, click this link.

Pittsburgh Labor Day Regional – Hyatt Regency Pittsburgh Airport, 1111 Airport Blvd., Pittsburgh, Pa. Tuesday, Aug. 30, to Sunday, Sept. 5. For info, click this link.

Buffalo Fall Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst. Friday, Sept. 16, to Sunday, Sept. 18.

Rochester Fall Sectional – Location TBA. Saturday, Oct. 15, and Sunday, Oct. 16.

Buffalo Regional – Adam’s Mark Hotel, 120 Church St. Tuesday, Oct. 18, to Sunday, Oct. 23.

District 5 Winter Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, Dec. 5, to Sunday, Dec. 11.

Cleveland Rock and Roll Regional – Wednesday, Jan. 11, 2017, to Sunday, Jan. 15, 2017.

Buffalo Winter Sectional – Friday, Jan. 27, 2017, to Sunday, Jan. 29, 2017.

St. Catharines Sectional – Friday, Feb. 10, 2017, to Sunday, Feb. 12, 2017.

Toronto Easter Regional – Tuesday, April 11, 2017, to Sunday, April 16, 2017.

Buffalo Spring Sectional – Friday, April 21, 2017, to Sunday, April 23, 2017.

Upstate New York Regional – Rochester. Monday, May 1, 2017, to Sunday, May 7, 2017.

Cleveland All-American Regional – Tuesday, May 23, 2017, to Monday, May 29, 2017.

District 5 Spring Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, June 12, 2017, to Sunday, June 18, 2017.

Buffalo Fall Sectional – Friday, Sept. 15, 2017, to Sunday, Sept. 17, 2017.

Buffalo Regional – Tuesday, Oct. 17, 2017, to Sunday, Oct. 22, 2017.

District 5 Winter Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, Dec. 4, 2017, to Sunday, Dec. 10, 2017.

...

Bridge club websites:

Click names for links.

Bridge Center of Buffalo.

Bridge Club Meridian.

Western New York Unit 116.

...

The Duplicate Bridge column is compiled weekly by News Staff Reporter Dale Anderson. The print version normally appears in the Life & Arts section in the Saturday edition of The Buffalo News. If it’s not in its usual place, try the Sports section.

The online version contains unabridged scores and a longer list of notices. Deadline for submission of scores and notices is Tuesday night.

Sometimes the online version does not materialize on the Buffalo News website. When that happens, you can find it as an appendix to Dale Anderson’s bridge blog at http://newsdupli.blogspot.com/

Email danderson@buffnews.com or dahotwings@aol.com. Office phone is (716) 849-4420.

...

A Silver Life Master since 2011, Dale Anderson is closing in on a career total of 2,000 master points.

He also discovered that the ACBL has created a new master point rank – Ruby Life Master, for those with more than 1,500 points – and he’s in it.

He blogs about his progress toward Gold Life Master (2,500 points) and other bridge adventures here.

...

Duplicate scores

Week of March 21 to March 27

ACBL Sanctioned Clubs

Airport Bridge Club Monday morning – Howell. A: Allen Beroza and Judi Marshall, 71.43%; B: Martin Pieterse and Mike Silverman, 52.38%; C: Fenton Harrison and Vince Pesce, 50.60%.

Airport Bridge Club Tuesday morning – North-south, A/B/C: Ruth Wurster and Eleanor Whelan, 66.07%; Barbara Pieterse and Paula Kotowski, 54.76%; east-west, A: Liz Clark and Judi Marshall, 59.82%; B: Mike Silverman and Art Matthies, 57.14%; C: Marilyn Sultz and Nancy Torrell, 41.67%.

Airport Bridge Club Wednesday morning – Howell. A/B: Marilyn Sultz and Dale Anderson, 61.11%; C: Ron Henrikson and Mary Terrana, 55.56%.

Airport Bridge Club Thursday morning – Howell. Martin Pieterse and John Kirsits, 60.94%; Liz Clark and Barbara Libby, 58.85%; Judi Marshall and Marilyn Sultz, 56.48%.

Airport Bridge Club Friday morning – Howell. Larry and Dottie Soong, 65.27%; Alan Greer and Liz Clark, 61.11%; Chuck Schorr and Mike Silverman, 59.32%.

Airport Bridge Club Saturday morning – Howell. A: Shirley Cassety and Ross Markello, 57%; B: Myra Razik and Dorothy May, 56%; C: Ron Henrikson and Dale Anderson, 47%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Monday evening – Howell. A: Christy Kellogg and Bert Hargesheimer, 58%; B: Mike Ryan and Judy Graf, 55%; C: John and Martha Welte, 45%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Tuesday noon – Non-life masters. North-south, A/B: Amita Arora and Rajat Basu, 61.01%; C: Betsy and Richard Heuer, 55.36%; Joe Miranda and Denise Mattingly, 54.76%; east-west, A: Kathy Stamm and Celine Murray, 65.18%; B/C: Terry Camp and Pat Haynes, 59.82%; Janet Dimet and Sharon Wilcox, 59.23%; Pam Righter and Mary Joyce, 56.25%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Wednesday morning – Howell. Bill Rushmore and Art Morth, 58.33%; Eugene Harvey and Joan Rose, 57.41%; Christy Kellogg and Betty Metz, 55.09%; Usha Khurana and Jim Gullo, 54.17%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Thursday noon – 0-750 Game. North-south, A/B: Gene and Ruth Nawotniak, 60.12%; Vince Taeger and Ted Kahn, 55.65%; C: Jewel Marshall and Denise Slattery, 55.06%; east-west, A/B: Jane Roberts and Paula Rosen, 58.33%; Rose Ann Grimaldi and Joyce Frayer, 55.95%; Amita Arora and Sharon Chang, 55.95%; C: Terry Camp and Pat Haynes, 50.30%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Thursday evening – Howell. Bob Sommerstein and Larry Abate, 63.09%; Linda Burroughsford and Bert Hargesheimer, 62.02%; Cathy Majewski and Nancy Wolstoncroft, 59.56%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Friday morning – North-south, A/B: Fred Yellen and Judy Padgug, 56.25%; C: Pat Lakeman and Betty Metz, 52.38%; east-west, A: Davis Heussler and Brian Meyer, 72.02%; B/C: Bob Padgug and Eugene Harvey, 55.95%.

Bridge Center of Buffalo Saturday noon – Howell. Alex Kowal and Linda Burroughsford, 64.58%; Davis Heussler and David Colligan, 57.29%.

Bridge Club of East Aurora Wednesday morning – Joe Rooney and Dorothy May, 73.81%; John Fiegl and Dave Larcom, 57.14%; Joanne LaFay and Lillian Gotshall, 51.79%; (tie) Jack Kern and Lance Crawford, Jim Downing and Roger Dayer, 49.67%.

Bridge Club Meridian Monday morning – North-south, A: Judy Padgug and Eugene Harvey, 57.50%; B: (tie) Rita Sofia and Helen Panza, Dick Czarnecki and John Lyth, 55.42%; east-west, A: Gladys and Ken Hardcastle, 60%; B: Davis Heussler and Jim Gullo, 55.83%; C: Elaine Kurasiewicz and Usha Khurana, 48.75%.

Delaware Wednesday evening – North-south, Bob Lederhouse and Bill Rich, 58.9%; Dorothy May and Ron Henrikson, 55.7%; east-west, (tie) Anne O’Connor and Al Dickman, John Garrity and Art Morth, 57.5%; Alicia Kolipinski and Ed Harman, 56.9%.

Lockport Duplicate Tuesday evening – Jasbeer and Violet Makhija, 60.71%; Miriam Regnet and Elve Johnston, 58.93%; John and Barbara Scott, 55.95%.

Lockport Duplicate Saturday afternoon – Miriam Regnet and Roy Crocker, 61.11%; Kathy Fenn and Gerry Julias, 53.70%; Jasbeer and Violet Makhija, 53.24%; Paul Capen and Carol Neuhaus, 52.78%.

Other clubs

ABA Humboldt Bridge Club Tuesday evening – Shirley Thompson and David Mathis, 72.22%; Pearl and Vivian Harris, 61.11%.

Amherst Senior Center Monday afternoon – North-south, George Mayers and Peg Gorham, 60%; Sam Grossman and Shirley Cassety, 55%; east-west, Mike Brown and Ron Fill, 69%; (tie) B. J. McMath and Pat Truell, Fran Schmidt and Audrey Kotas, 56%.

Amherst Senior Center Thursday morning – Peg Gorham and George Mayers, 58%; Martha Falsone and Dave Stroud, 56%.

Canterbury Woods Duplicate Wednesday – North-south, Mary Blanchard and Ruth Jones, 61.8%; David and Teddy Speser, 56.9%; east-west, Jerry Strange and Dottie Potembski, 62.5%; Ruth Axelrod and Nita Ferrell, 57.2%.

Clarence Senior Center Thursday – Howell. Ellen Lochead and Bill Rogers, 66%; Kathy Borcik and Bill Westley, 63%.

Town of Tonawanda Senior Center Wednesday – Margaret Rivard and Lou Lombardi, 62.5%; Bob Rivard and Idamae Klipfel, 59.7%; (tie) Adrienne Sakavicius and Peggy Mergenhagen, Thelma Frauenhofer and Edna Henrich, 58.3%.

email: danderson@buffnews.com