Share this article

print logo

Teeing it up for March 30

PGA Tour

Event: Shell Houston Open at the Golf Club of Houston in Humble, Texas, Thursday through Sunday.

TV: Thursday and Friday, 4-7 p.m., Golf Channel; Saturday and Sunday, 1-3 p.m., Golf Channel and 3-6 p.m., NBC.

Last year: J.B. Holmes came from six strokes behind Jordan Spieth by shooting 8-under-par 64 in the final round and then beat Johnson Wagner with a par on the second playoff hole to earn his fourth PGA Tour victory. Spieth, who shot 70, bowed out of the playoff with a bogey on the first extra hole. Holmes birdied the first five holes and nine of the first 12 in the final round before taking his only bogey on the 16th hole. Wagner, who has won three times on the PGA Tour, sank a 25-foot birdie putt from off the green to cap a 69 and get into a playoff, but his 5-foot par putt that would have prolonged the playoff lipped out.


Event: ANA Inspiration on the Dinah Shore Tournament Course at Mission Hills Country Club in Rancho Mirage, Calif., Thursday through Sunday.

TV: Thursday and Friday, noon-4 p.m. and 7-9 p.m.; Saturday and Sunday, 5-9 p.m., Golf Channel.

Last year: Brittany Lincicome made the traditional winner’s leap into Poppie’s Pond at the 18th hole after beating Stacy Lewis with three consecutive pars in a playoff in the first LPGA Tour major of the season. Lincicome, who also claimed the title in 2009 when she reached the 18th green in two shots and made a winning eagle, did the same thing at the end of regulation this time. Her 10-foot eagle putt closed out a 3-under-par 69 that pulled her even. Lewis, who won the tournament in 2011, finished with a 70 and missed birdie putts from 13 feet on the final hole of regulation, 15 feet on the first extra hole and 12 feet on the second. On what proved to be the final hole, she left a 12-foot par putt about an inch short.

PGA Tour Champions

Event: Mississippi Gulf Resort Classic at Fallen Oak Golf Club in Biloxi, Miss., Friday through Sunday.

TV: Friday, 9:30-11:30 p.m.; Saturday and Sunday, 3-5 p.m.; on the Golf Channel each day.

Last year: David Frost of South Africa claimed his sixth victory when he sank a 6-foot par putt on the final hole to beat Tom Lehman and Kevin Sutherland by one stroke. Frost, who won 10 times on the PGA Tour, took a costly one-stroke penalty on the 17th green when he dropped his golf ball and it moved his coin. That cut his lead to one stroke after he built it by making four birdies in a span of five holes on the back nine. Frost closed with a 4-under-par 68, while Lehman had a 70 but missed a 4-foot birdie putt on the final hole that would have forced a playoff. Sutherland birdied the last hole for a 72.