Share this article

print logo

Wilson, East Aurora voters select board members

Village voters in Erie and Niagara counties filled elective offices Tuesday.

Following are the results:

East Aurora

Two of three incumbent trustees retained their seats in a five-way race Tuesday in the East Aurora Village Board election, while the third trustee lost by just a single vote, according to preliminary results.

Trustees Ernest Scheer and Patrick Shea received 216 and 194 votes, respectively, to earn new two-year terms, Village Clerk-Treasurer Joyce M. Jezewski reported.

Incumbent Randolph West, a board member since 2010, was edged out by challenger Raymond Byrnes, 156-155. The fifth candidate, Richard Daminski, received 74 votes.

Mayor Allan Kasprzak, who was first elected in 2010, was unopposed and received 220 votes. In all, there were a total of 332 machine and absentee ballots, Jezewski said.


In Wilson, Niagara County, Republican and Conservative candidate Michael McAvoy defeated Democrat Stephen Smith for a spot on the Wilson Village Board by a vote of 138 to 61. It was the only contested village race in the county.

McAvoy will replace Gerald Kadryna, who did not seek re-election to the three-person board. This is the first run for political office for the retired physical education/health teacher, who will serve a four-year term.

In other Niagara County village elections Tuesday, incumbent Trustees Janice Rider and Kimberly Ruffini secured their second two-year terms on the Barker Village Board, while incumbent Trustees Thomas Conley and Dennis McAvoy also were re-elected to two-year terms in Middleport.

Elections are held in May in Youngstown and in June in Lewiston.

Niagara Correspondent Teresa Sharp contributed to this report,