Share this article

print logo

Teeing it up for March 16

PGA Tour

Event: Arnold Palmer Invitational at Bay Hill Club and Lodge in Orlando, Fla., Thursday through Sunday.

TV: Thursday and Friday, 2-6 p.m., Golf Channel; Saturday and Sunday, 12:30-2:30 p.m., Golf Channel and 2:30-6 p.m. on NBC.

Last year: Matt Every has won twice on the PGA Tour, his victories coming in the last two years at Bay Hill. The former University of Florida star from Daytona Beach sank a 17-foot birdie putt on the 18th hole last year to cap a 6-under-par 66 in the final round, giving him a one-stroke victory over Henrik Stenson of Sweden. Every came from four shots down in the final round two years ago to win by one stroke over Keegan Bradley with a 70. A year ago, he was three strokes behind at the start of the fourth round. After making his only bogey on the first hole, he collected seven birdies over the last 17 holes. Stenson closed with a 70, missing a 21-foot birdie putt on the final hole that would have forced a playoff.


Event: JTBC Founders Cup at Wildfire Golf Club at JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort and Spa in Phoenix, Thursday through Sunday. TV: Thursday, 6-9 p.m.; Friday, 6-8 p.m.; Saturday and Sunday, 7-9 p.m., Golf Channel.

Last year: Hyo Joo Kim of South Korea earned her second LPGA Tour victory by three strokes over Stacy Lewis after carding a 5-under-par 67 in the final round. Kim, who captured the 2014 Evian Championship in France to make her first title on the circuit a major, finished off the victory by collecting five birdies in the last eight holes. Lewis, who finished second on the LPGA Tour six times in each of the last two seasons, was within one stroke of the lead heading to the final hole but closed with a bogey for a two-stroke swing. Kim, then 19, stretched to six a streak of LPGA Tour events won by players born in South Korea – or all that had been played in 2015

Champions Tour

Event: Tucson Conquistadores Classic at Omni Tucson National in Tucson, Ariz., Friday through Sunday. TV: Friday, 8-10 p.m.; Saturday and Sunday, 5-7 p.m.; Golf Channel.

Last year: Marco Dawson won for the first time on the Champions Tour in his 21st start, closing with a 3-under-par 69 to win by two strokes over Bart Bryant. Dawson added the Senior Open Championship title later in 2015 at Sunningdale, England. After falling into a tie for the lead with Bryant due to a bogey on the 15th hole in the final round, Dawson holed a 20-foot birdie putt at No. 16 and suddenly had a two-stroke lead when Bryant could not get up and down for par after hitting into a greenside bunker. Bryant, whose only victory on the senior circuit came in the 2013 Dick’s Sporting Goods Open after he won three times on the PGA Tour, wound up at 70.