Share this article

print logo

Beauts lose series to Boston in two straight

The Boston Pride will have possession of the Isobel Cup for the next year.

The trophy was won by the Pride on Saturday night, as they completed a sweep of the Buffalo Beauts, 3-1. Boston took the best-of-three series, which was played in Newark, N.J., two games to none.

The Pride are a fitting champion, as Boston had the best record in the regulation season of the National Women’s Hockey League. From there, the Pride went 4-0 in the playoffs.

The Beauts had come close to pulling a huge upset on Friday, losing on a penalty shot in overtime. Game Two of the series was a case of Boston breaking open a close game in the third period.

Brianna Decker of the Pride scored at 11:55 of the first period to open the scoring. The game stayed at 1-0 for almost 40 minutes of play.,

At 9:11 of the third period, Marissa Gedman of Boston took a high-sticking minor to give the Beauts a golden opportunity to tie the game. But it backfired when the Pride’s Decker scored a short-handed goal to make it a 2-0 lead. A little more than two minutes later, Hilary Knight added an insurance goal for Boston.

Erin Zach ended Brittany Ott’s shutout bid with a goal in the final minute. Ott stopped 29 shots in earning the victory in goal, including 18 in the final period.

Brianne Mclaughlin stopped 30 of 33 shots for Buffalo.

The game ended the first season of play for the league. The Isobel Cup is named after the daughter of Lord Frederick Arthur Stanley, who donated a silver cup to the best amateur hockey team in Canada.