Share this article

print logo

UB's Bearden, Hamilton make third-team all-MAC

The University at Buffalo men's basketball team placed sophomore guard Lamonte Bearden and junior forward Blake Hamilton on the third-team in the Mid-American Conference all-star voting, the conference announced Monday.

UB guard CJ Massinburg made the MAC's all-freshman team, and UB junior guard Willie Conner made the MAC all-defensive team. The all-conference selections were determined in a vote of the MAC's 12 head coaches.

UB, which earned the No. 3 seed for this week's MAC Tournament, was shut out of the top two all-MAC teams. Earning first-team honors were repeat selections Chris Fowler of Central Michigan and Jimmy Hall of Kent State, along with Ohio's Antonio Campbell, Akron's Isaiah Johnson and Toledo's Nathan Boothe.

The second team was comprised of Akron's Reggie McAdams, Ball State's Franko House, Eastern Michigan's James Thompson IV, Ohio's Jaaron Simmons and Western Michigan's Thomas Wilder.

Hamilton ranked 17th in the MAC in scoring (12.9 ppg), ninth in rebounds (6.6), 14th in field-goal percentage (.465) and seventh in steals (1.4),

Bearden ranked third in overall scoring (13.6 ppg), third in steals (1.7) and seventh in assists (4.0). Massinburg was the No. 2 scorer among MAC freshmen, averaging 11.3 ppg. It was the fourth straight year UB put a player on the all-freshman team (Bearden, Shannon Evans and Jarryn Skeete made it the previous three years).

The Bulls play in the MAC quarterfinals at 9 p.m. Thursday in Cleveland. The teams:

All-MAC First Team
Isaiah Johnson, C, Akron
Chris Fowler, G, Central Michigan
Jimmy Hall, F, Kent State
Antonio Campbell, C, Ohio
Nathan Boothe, F/C, Toledo

All-MAC Second Team
Reggie McAdams, F, Akron
Franko House, F, Ball State
James Thompson IV, C, Eastern Michigan
Jaaron Simmons, G, Ohio
Thomas Wilder, G, Western Michigan

All-MAC Third Team
Lamonte Bearden, G, Buffalo
Blake Hamilton, W, Buffalo
Braylon Rayson, G, Central Michigan
Marin Maric, C, Northern Illinois
Jonathan Williams, G, Toledo

Honorable Mention
Antino Jackson, G, Akron
Spencer Parker, F, Bowling Green
Raven Lee, G, Eastern Michigan
Eric Washington, G, Miami
Geovonie McKnight, G, Miami

All-Freshman Team
Josh Williams, G, Akron
CJ Massinburg, G, Buffalo
James Thompson IV, C, Eastern Michigan
Marshawn Wilson, G, Northern Illinois
Jordan Dartis, G, Ohio

All-Defensive Team
Franko House, F, Ball State
Willie Conner, W, Buffalo
Tim Bond, F, Eastern Michigan
Khaliq Spicer, C, Kent State
Aaric Armstead, G, Northern Illinois

There are no comments - be the first to comment