Share this article

print logo

UB will open season with eight first-time starters on defense

The University at Buffalo will open the season with eight first-year starters on defense and three true freshmen on its two-deep roster.

UB opens at home at 3:30 p.m. Saturday against Albany. The Bulls released their official two-deep roster Tuesday. There are no surprises to the starting lineup.

Returning starting outside linebacker Jarrett Franklin, a junior, remains out while he recovers from an offseason back injury. He has yet to practice this summer. His starting OLB spot is taken by junior Brandon Berry, a Detroit native who has seen action in 22 games over the past two seasons.

The other new starters on defense are: DE Solomon Jackson, DT Max Perisse, DE Damone Harris, MLB Nick Gilbo, CB Marqus Baker, S Ryan Williamson and S Andrews Dadeboe. (Perisse started in three games late last season.)

The true freshmen on the two-deep roster are second-stringers -- DE Charles Harris from Michigan, DT Justin Brandon from Indianapolis and CB Cameron Lewis from Detroit. True freshman RB Johnathan Hawkins from Georgia is a touted recruit who is the No. 3 back and is expected to play this season.

WR: 86 Ron Willoughby, Sr. 80 Malcolm Robinson, Jr.
LT: 70 John Kling, Sr. 75 Albert McCoy, Jr.
LG: 65 Dillon Guy, Sr. 76 Andy Fidler, R-Fr.
C: 77 James O’Hagan, R-Fr. 54 Skylar Hartley, R-Fr.
RG: 61 Brandon Manosalvas, So. 71 Roubbens Joseph, Jr.
RT: 74 Robert Blodgett, Sr. 59 Tyler O’Henly, R-Fr.
TE: 89 Matt Weiser, Sr. 85 Mason Schreck, Jr.
QB: 16 Joe Licata, Sr. 5 Tony Daniel, Sr.
RB: 1 Anthone Taylor, Sr. 2 Jordan Johnson, Jr.
FB: 31 Kendall Patterson, Sr. 44 Glynn Molinich, So.
WR: 13 Collin Lisa, So. 7 Marcus McGill, Sr.

DE: 41 Solomon Jackson, So. 34 Randy Anyanwu, R-Fr.
DT: 55 Brandon Crawford, Jr. 90 Justin Brandon, Fr.
NT: 66 Max Perisse, Jr. 58 Chris Ford, So.
DE: 91 Demone Harris, So. 92 Charles Harris, Fr.
OLB: 23 Brandon Berry, Jr. 33 Kyril Threats, Sr.
MLB: 43 Nick Gilbo, Sr. 52 Travis Pitzonka, Sr.
OLB: 3 Okezie Alozie, Sr. 16 Ishmael Hargrove, So.
CB: 5 Marqus Baker, Sr. 14 Brandon Williams, R-Fr.
FS: 26 Ryan Williamson, So. 24 Jordan Collier, R-Fr.
SS: 17 Andrews Dadeboe, So. 8 Houston Glass, Jr.
CB: 1 Boise Ross, Jr. 39 Cameron Lewis, Fr.

P: 11 Tyler Grassman, Sr.
PK: 19 Adam Mitcheson, R-Fr.
LS: 27 Corbin Grassman, Jr.
HLD: 11 Tyler Grassman, Sr.
KOR: 88 Jacob Martinez, So. 15 Jamarl Eiland, So.
PR: 13 Collin Lisa, So. 88 Jacob Martinez, So.


There are no comments - be the first to comment