The Buffalo Bills will not embrace the luxury of having a kickoff specialist to start the season.

The team announced that place-kicker Dustin Hopkins was among 11 players released today. The move was not a surprise. Most teams do not opt to keep a kickoff specialist, and Hopkins never was a threat to Bills place-kicker Dan Carpenter, who was signed to a contract extension in the offseason.

Also released were: quarterback Dennis Dixon, receivers Tori Gurley and Chris Summers, running back Ronnie Wingo, guard J.J. 'Unga, center Macky MacPherson, defensive tackle Damien Jacobs, safeties Derek Brim and Jajuan Harley and punter Jake Dombrowski.

Click here to see the comments. Add yours now!