Sabres announce development camp roster - The Buffalo News
print logo

Sabres announce development camp roster

By Amy Moritz

The Buffalo Sabres announced the roster for its development camp Friday morning.

The camp opens at First Niagara Center on Monday, featuring an intrasquad scrimmage at 7 p.m. on Tuesday. This marks the third year the Sabres will hold its summer development camp at First Niagara Center.

The 41-player roster will take part in both on-ice and off-ice workouts with the goal to show prospective players the basics of the Sabres’ system along with conditioning programs for NHL players.

Tuesday's scrimmage and all on-ice workouts are open to the public.

The schedule: Practice from 10:30-12:15 p.m. on Monday; pre-scrimmage skates from 10:15-12:45 Tuesday; Tuesday's scrimmage at 7 p.m; Wednesday is an off day; Thursday practices from 10:30-noon and 1:30-3 p.m; Friday three-on-three tournament from 10:30-12:30.

Seven first-round selections taken by the Sabres will be at the camp: Mark Pysyk, Joel Armia, Mikhail Girgorenko, Zemgus Girgensons, Rasmus Ristolainen, Nikita Zadorov along with this year's overall No. 2 pick Sam Reinhart.

Also in attendance will be this year's second-round pick Brendan Lemieux, college players J.T. Compher (Michigan) and Hudson Fasching (Minnesota) and Buffalo natives Justin Bailey and Sean Malone.

Camp invitees include (with their last team and level):


Joel Armia (Rochester, AHL), Justin Bailey (Kitchener, OHL), Nicholas Baptiste (Sudbury, OHL), Christopher Brown (Cranbrook Kingswood, USHS), Drake Caggiula (North Dakota, NCAA), William Carrier (Cape Breton, QMJHL), Daniel Catenacci (Rochester, AHL), J.T. Compher (Michigan, NCAA), Eric Cornel (Peterborough, OHL), Hudson Fasching (Minnesota, NCAA), Zemgus Girgensons (Buffalo, NHL), Mikhail Girgorenko (Quebec, QMHL), Colin Jacobs (Rochester, AHL), Vaclav Karabacek (Gatineau, QMJHL), Justin Kea (Saginaw, OHL), Brendan Lemieux (Barrie, OHL),  Sean Malone  (Harvard, NCAA), Jonathon Martin (Kootenay, WHL), Victor Olofsson (Modo, Jr., Sweden), Liam Pecararo (Waterloo, USHL), Sam Reinhart (Kootenay, WHL), Patrick Russell (Waterloo, USHL), Jordan Samuels-Thoams (Quinnipiac, NCAA), Tim Schaller (Rochester, AHL), Kevin Sundher (Rochester, AHL) and Maxwell Willman (Williston-Northampton, USHS).


Brady Austin (London, OHL), Anthony Florentino (Providence, NCAA), Jerome Gauthier-Leduc (Rochester, AHL), Brycen Martin (Swift Current, WHL), Jake McCabe (Buffalo, NHL), Andrew Prochno (St. Cloud State, NCAA), Brandon Prophet (Saginaw, OHL), Mark Pysyk (Rochester, AHL), Rasmus Ristolainen (Rochester, AHL), Nikita Zadorov (London, OHL).


Jonas Johansson (Brynas Jr., Sweden), Nathan Lieuwen (Rochester, AHL), Andry Makarov (Fort Wayne, ECHL), Cal Peterson (Waterloo, USHL), Linus Ullmark (Modo, Sweden).

The full roster is available for download here. 

* * * 

See PHOTO GALLERY of many of the players here.

There are no comments - be the first to comment