Teeing it up / This week’s golf at a glance - The Buffalo News
print logo

Teeing it up / This week’s golf at a glance

LPGA Tour/Ladies’ Golf Union

Event: Women’s British Open.

Site: Southport, England.

Schedule: Thursday-Sunday.

Course: Royal Birkdale Golf Club (6,458 yards, par 72).

Purse: $3 million. Winner’s share: $456,818.

Television: ESPN2 (Thursday-Friday, 9 a.m.-noon; Saturday-Sunday, 8 a.m.-noon).

Last year: Stacy Lewis won at St. Andrews, birdieing the final two holes for a two-stroke victory. Inbee Park finished 14 strokes behind in her bid to win her fourth straight major.

Last event: Lewis won the NW Arkansas Championship on June 29 for her third LPGA Tour victory of the year. The top-ranked Lewis played at the University of Arkansas.

Notes: The tournament is the third of the tour’s five major championships. Lexi Thompson won the Kraft Nabisco in April in California, and Michelle Wie took the U.S. Women’s Open last month at Pinehurst. ... The tournament became an official LPGA Tour event in 1994 and was elevated to major status in 2001. ... Yani Tseng won in 2010 at Royal Birkdale and 2011 at Carnoustie. ... I.K. Kim won the Ladies European Masters on Sunday at Buckinghamshire. ... The 2015 event will be played at Turnberry. ... The Marathon Classic is next week in Ohio, followed by the International Crown in Maryland.

Online: www.ricohwomensbritishopen.com

LPGA Tour site: lpga.com.

Ladies’ Golf Union site: http://www.lgu.org.

Ladies European Tour site: http://www.ladieseuropeantour.com.

PGA Tour

Event: John Deere Classic.

Site: Silvis, Ill.

Schedule: Thursday-Sunday.

Course: TPC Deere Run (7,268 yards, par 71).

Purse: $4.7 million. Winner’s share: $846,000.

Television: Golf Channel (Thursday, 3-6 p.m., 9 p.m.-midnight; Friday, 12:30-3:30 a.m., 3-6 p.m., 9 p.m.-midnight; Saturday, 12:30-3:30 a.m., 1-2:30 p.m., 9 p.m.-1:30 a.m.; Sunday, 1-2:30 p.m., 9 p.m.-1:30 a.m.) and CBS (Saturday-Sunday, 3-6 p.m.).

Last year: Jordan Spieth won at age 19 to become the first teenager to win on the PGA Tour since 1931, beating 2012 champion Zach Johnson and David Hearn with a par on the fifth hole of a playoff.

Last week: Angel Cabrera won the Greenbrier Classic for his first non-major victory on the PGA Tour, closing with his second straight 6-under 64 for a two-stroke victory. Cabrera’s other PGA Tour victories came in majors - the 2007 U.S. Open and 2009 Masters.

Notes: The top finisher not previously eligible for the British Open will earn a spot next week at Royal Liverpool, provided he’s among the top five and ties. ... Steve Stricker won in 2009, 2010 and 2011. ... Paul Goydos shot a 59 in the first round of the 2010 event. ... Johnson, from nearby Iowa, has a sponsorship deal with John Deere. ... Three-time winner D.A. Weibring teamed with Chris Gray to design Deere Run.

Online: http://www.pgatour.com.

Champions Tour/U.S. Golf Association

Event: U.S. Senior Open.

Site: Edmond, Okla.

Schedule: Thursday-Sunday.

Course: Oak Tree National Golf Club (7,219 yards, par 71).

Purse: TBA ($2.68 million in 2013). Winner’s share: TBA ($500,000 in 2013).

Television: ESPN2 (Thursday-Friday, 4-8 p.m.) and NBC (Saturday-Sunday, 2:30-6 p.m.).

Last year: Kenny Perry won by five strokes at Omaha Country Club for his second straight major victory. He closed with rounds of 64 and 63 to finish at 13-under 267, matching the event record for total score.

Last event: Bernhard Langer won the Senior Players Championship on June 29 at Fox Chapel in Pittsburgh for his third victory of the year. He beat Jeff Sluman with a birdie on the second hole of a playoff in the major tournament.

Notes: Scott Verplank, the 1984 U.S. Amateur winner at Oak Tree, is making his senior debut. The former Oklahoma State player is an Oak Tree member. Fellow PGA Tour winners Kevin Sutherland, Woody Austin and Mike Standly also are making their first senior starts in this event. ... The tournament is the fourth of the five Champions Tour majors. In May, Perry won the Tradition in Alabama, and Colin Montgomerie took the Senior PGA in Michigan. ... Sluman won the 1988 PGA Championship at Pete Dye-designed Oak Tree. Jay Haas won the 2006 Senior PGA at the course. ... The 2015 event will be played at Del Paso in Sacramento, Calif. ... The tour is off next week. Play will resume July 24-27 with the Senior British Open at Royal Porthcawl in Wales.

Online: http://www.usga.org.

Champions Tour site: http://www.pgatour.com.

Area Holes-In-One

Jake Brewer, on the 141-yard 18th hole at Oak Run.

Aaron Drozdowski, on the 109-yard 14th hole at South Shore CC, with a pitching wedge.

Margaret Duffy, on the 100-yard fourth hole at South Park with a 6-iron.

Vinny Eddy, on the 220-yard 16th hole at Byrncliff, with a 5-wood.

Daryl Filipiak, on the 177-yard third hole at Springville CC with a 7-iron.

Dean Jackson, on the 171-yard seventh hole at Crag Burn, with a 5-iron.

Tom Jones, on the 155-yard sixth hole at Oak Run, with a 7-iron.

Carlo LaMancuso, on the 120-yard ninth hole at Amherst Oakwood, with a 7-iron.

Marty Payne, on 148-yard 13th at Holland Hills, with 8-iron.

Joe Roncone Jr., on the 150-yard eighth hole at Sheridan Park with an 8-iron.

Thom Smith, on the 141-yard 18th hole at Oak Run, with a 9-iron.

Mike Vallillo, on the 179-yard 11th hole at Concord Crest, with a 6-iron.

Phil Vilardo, on the 175-yard first hole at Tan Tara with a 3-wood.

There are no comments - be the first to comment