Starting Line / This week’s racing - The Buffalo News
print logo

Starting Line / This week’s racing

NASCAR Sprint Cup

Event: Coke Zero 400.

Site: Daytona Beach, Fla.

Schedule: Thursday, practice (Fox Sports 1, 4-5:30 p.m., 6:30-8 p.m.); Friday, qualifying (Fox Sports 1, 5-6:30 p.m.); Saturday, race, 7:30 p.m. (TNT, 6:30-11 p.m.).

Track: Daytona International Speedway (tri-oval, 2.5 miles).

Race distance: 400 miles, 160 laps.

Last year: Jimmie Johnson won to become the first driver since Bobby Allison in 1982 to sweep the season races at the track.

Last week: Brad Keselowski dominated at Kentucky Speedway for his second victory of the season and 12th overall.

Fast facts: Race winners get first priority for the 16-driver Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup as long as they are in the top 30 in the standings and attempted to qualify for every race. Johnson leads the series with three victories. Keselowski, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Carl Edwards, Kevin Harvick and Joey Logano each have two wins, and Jeff Gordon, Kyle Busch, Denny Hamlin and Kurt Busch also have won.

Next race: Camping World RV Sales 301, July 13, New Hampshire Motor Speedway, Loudon, N.H.



Event: Subway Firecracker 250.

Site: Daytona Beach, Fla.

Schedule: Thursday, practice; Friday, qualifying (Fox Sports 1, 3-4:30 p.m.), race, 7:30 p.m. (ESPN2, 7-10 p.m.).

Track: Daytona International Speedway (tri-oval, 2.5 miles).

Race distance: 250 miles, 100 laps.

Last year: Matt Kenseth pulled away on the final restart for the victory.

Last week: Kevin Harvick won at Kentucky Speedway for his second victory of the season.

Fast facts: Kyle Busch won the season-opening race at the track. He has three victories in 12 starts this year to extend his series-record victory total to 66. ... Elliott Sadler leads the season standings, four points ahead of Chase Elliott.

Next race: Sta-Green 200, July 12, New Hampshire Motor Speedway, Loudon, N.H.


Camping World Truck

Next race: American Ethanol 200, July 11, Iowa Speedway, Newton, Iowa.

Last week: Kyle Busch made it 5 for 5 this season in the series, holding off Kyle Busch Motorsports teammate Darrell Wallace Jr. at Kentucky Speedway. Busch has six straight series victories dating to last season and 40 overall in 120 starts.


Verizon IndyCar

Event: Pocono IndyCar 500.

Site: Long Pond, Pa.

Schedule: Saturday, practice, qualifying (NBC Sports Network, 7-8 p.m.); Sunday, race, 1 p.m. (NBC Sports Network, noon-4 p.m.).

Track: Pocono Raceway (triangle, 2.5 miles).

Race distance: 400 miles, 160 laps.

Last year: Scott Dixon won in IndyCar’s return to Pocono, leading Chip Ganassi Racing’s sweep of the first three spots.

Last week: Dale Coyne Racing’s Carlos Huertas won the rain-soaked doubleheader opener in Houston, leading Colombian podium sweep with Juan Pablo Montoya and Carlos Munoz. Simon Pagenaud won the second race for his second victory of the season, and Sam Schmidt teammate Mikhail Aleshin finished second.

Fast facts: Team Penske’s Will Power leads the season standings, 39 points ahead of teammate Helio Castroneves and 41 in front of Andretti Autosport’s Ryan Hunter-Reay. ... The Indy Lights race is Saturday (NBC Sports Network, Sunday, 4-5 p.m.).

Next race: Iowa Corn Indy 300, July 12, Iowa Speedway, Newton, Iowa.


Formula One

Event: British Grand Prix.

Site: Silverstone, England.

Schedule: Friday, practice (NBC Sports Network, 9-10:30 a.m.); Saturday, practice, qualifying (CNBC, 8-9:30 a.m.; NBC Sports Network, 2-3:30 p.m.); Sunday, race, 8 a.m. (CNBC, 7:30-10:30 a.m.; NBC Sports Network, 5-8 p.m.).

Track: Silverstone Circuit (road course, 3.667 miles).

Race distance: 190.6 miles, 52 laps.

Last year: Mercedes’ Nico Rosberg raced to the second of his two 2013 victories in the event marred by exploding tires.

Last race: Rosberg won the Austrian Grand Prix on June 22, edging teammate Lewis Hamilton in Mercedes’ sixth 1-2 finish in the first eight races of the year.

Fast facts: Rosberg leads the season standings, 29 points ahead of Hamilton. Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo, the Canadian Grand Prix winner, is third — 82 points behind Rosberg.

Next race: German Grand Prix, July 20, Hockenheimring, Hockenheim, Germany.


NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing

Event: Summit Racing Equipment NHRA Nationals.

Site: Norwalk, Ohio.

Schedule: Friday, qualifying; Saturday, qualifying (ESPN2, 11 p.m.-1 a.m.); Sunday, final eliminations, (ESPN2, 9 p.m.-midnight).

Track: Summit Motorsports Park.

Last year: Johnny Gray won in Funny Car, Khalid alBalooshi in Top Fuel, Mike Edwards in Pro Stock, and Matt Smith in Pro Stock Motorcycle.

Last week: Matt Hagan won the Route 66 Nationals in Joliet, Ill., for his first Funny Car victory of the year. Antron Brown won in Top Fuel, Vincent Nobile in Pro Stock, and Hector Arana Jr. in Pro Stock Motorcycle.

Fast facts: Robert Hight, a four-time winner this year, leads the Funny Car standings – 246 points ahead of Tommy Johnson Jr. ... Doug Kalitta has a 102-point lead over Brown in Top Fuel. ... Erica Enders-Stevens, a three-time winner this year, tops the Pro Stock standings. Andrew Hines, a two-time winner, leads the Pro Stock Motorcycle points race.

Next event: Mile-High NHRA Nationals, July 18-20, Bandimere Speedway, Morrison, Colorado.


Western New York

Elegant Builders Raceway Park: IHRA Drag Racing, Off. Stock Cars: Off.

Holland Speedway: ROC Modified 100-Saturday, 6 p.m.

Ransomville Speedway: $500-to-win Street Stock 30, Friday, 7:15 p.m.

Little Valley Speedway: $3,000-to-win Super Late Models, tonight, 7 p.m.; Demolition Derby, Friday, 7:30 p.m.

Raceway 5: Off.

Freedom Speedway: Off.

Wyoming County: SST Modified Firecracker 50, Saturday, 7 p.m.

Merrittville Speedway: Lucas Oil Weekly Racing Series, Saturday, 7 p.m.

New Humberstone Speedway: Vintage Cars, Sunday, 6 p.m.

Stateline Speedway: $5,800-to-win Super Late Model Opener, Saturday, 7 p.m.

Lake Erie Speedway: Compact 25, Saturday, 6 p.m.

There are no comments - be the first to comment