DEC names chairman for siting board; first meeting today - The Buffalo News

Share this article

print logo

DEC names chairman for siting board; first meeting today

YOUNGSTOWN – The state Department of Environmental Conservation announced Tuesday that Paul D’Amato, director of its Region 8 office in Avon, will chair the siting board that will determine whether CWM Chemical Services will be granted a permit to dig a new hazardous waste landfill in Porter.

That eight-member board will hold its organizational meeting at 1:30 p.m. today in the Youngstown Free Library, 240 Lockport St.

The board will hold its first public hearings on CWM’s application at 1 and 6:30 p.m. July 16 in Lewiston-Porter High School.

The other state agency representatives on the citing board include former Erie County Legislature Chairwoman Lynn M. Marinelli, Western New York director of intergovernmental relations at Empire State Development; Matthew J. Forcucci, public health specialist in the Buffalo office of the Health Department; Dierdre K. Scozzafava, deputy secretary for local government in the Department of State; and Darrell F. Kaminski, Buffalo regional director of the Department of Transportation.

The citizen members, previously announced, are former Niagara County Legislature Chairman Lee Simonson; John Benoit, chairman of the Niagara USA Chamber; and A. Scott Weber, senior vice provost for academic affairs at the University at Buffalo.

There are no comments - be the first to comment