Starting Line / This week’s racing - The Buffalo News

Share this article

print logo

Starting Line / This week’s racing

NASCAR Sprint Cup

Event: Quaker State 400.

Site: Sparta, Ky.

Schedule: Friday, practice (Fox Sports 1, 10:30 a.m.-noon, 1-2:30 p.m.), qualifying (Fox Sports 1, 5:30-7 p.m.); Saturday, race, 7:30 p.m. (TNT, 6:30-11 p.m.).

Track: Kentucky Speedway (oval, 1.5 miles).

Race distance: 400.5 miles, 267 laps.

Last year: Matt Kenseth won the rain-delayed race for the fourth of seven 2013 victories.

Last race: Roush Fenway Racing’s Carl Edwards won at Sonoma for his first road-course victory, snapping Hendrick Motorsports’ winning streak at five races.

Fast facts: Race winners get first priority for the 16-driver Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup as long as they are in the top 30 in the standings and attempted to qualify for every race. Jimmie Johnson leads the series with three victories. Edwards, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Kevin Harvick and Joey Logano each have two wins, and Jeff Gordon, Brad Keselowski, Kyle Busch, Denny Hamlin and Kurt Busch also have won. Gordon leads the standings.

Next race: Coke Zero 400, July 5, Daytona International Speedway, Daytona, Fla.


Event: John R. Elliott Hero Campaign 300.

Site: Sparta, Ky.

Schedule: Thursday, practice (Fox Sports 1, 6:30-7:30 p.m.); Friday, practice (Fox Sports 1, 9-10:30 a.m.), qualifying (Fox Sports 1, 3:30-5 p.m.), race, 7:30 p.m. (ESPN, 7-10 p.m.).

Track: Kentucky Speedway (oval, 1.5 miles).

Race distance: 300 miles, 200 laps.

Last year: Brad Keselowski won the rain-shortened race for the second of his seven 2013 victories.

Last race: Brendan Gaughan won at Road America in Wisconsin for his first series victory.

Fast facts: Kyle Busch has three victories in 11 starts this year to extend his series-record victory total to 66. … Regan Smith leads the standings, 10 points ahead of Elliott Sadler and 11 in front of Chase Elliott. … Ryan Blaney won the September race at the track in Penske Racing’s No. 22 Ford.

Next race: Subway Firecracker 250, July 4, Daytona International Speedway, Daytona, Fla.

Camping World Truck

Event: Unoh 225. Site: Sparta, Ky.

Schedule: Thursday, practice, qualifying (Fox Sports 1, 4:30-6 p.m.); race, 8 p.m. (Fox Sports 1, 7:30-10:30 p.m.).

Track: Kentucky Speedway (oval, 1.5 miles).

Race distance: 225 miles, 150 laps.

Last year: Ty Dillon won, overtaking Kyle Busch with 26 laps to go.

Last race: Darrell Wallace Jr. raced to his second career victory, holding off German Quiroga on June 14 at Gateway in Madison, Ill.

Fast facts: Busch has won all four of his series starts this year. He has five straight series wins dating to last season and 39 overall. … Johnny Sauter leads the standings, 10 points ahead of ThorSport Racing teammate Matt Crafton.

Next race: American Ethanol 200, July 11, Iowa Speedway, Newton, Ia.

Verizon IndyCar

Event: Grand Prix of Houston.

Site: Houston.

Schedule: Friday, practice; Saturday, qualifying (NBC Sports Network, 2-3 p.m.), race No. 1, 3:45 p.m. (NBC Sports Network, 3-6 p.m.); Sunday, qualifying, race No. 2, 3:45 p.m. (NBC Sports Network, 3-6 p.m.).

Track: MD Anderson Cancer Center Speedway (street course, 1.683 miles).

Race distances: 153 miles, 90 laps.

Last year: Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon won the first race of the October doubleheader and finished second behind Team Penske’s Will Power in the second. Dario Franchitti fractured two vertebrae and broke his right ankle in a last-lap crash in the finale, prompting him to retire. Thirteen fans and a series official were injured when debris went into the grandstand.

Last race: Owner-driver Ed Carpenter won at Texas on June 7, holding off Power.

Fast facts: Power, a two-time winner this season, leads the standings – 39 points ahead of teammate Helio Castroneves. … The doubleheader is the second of three this season.

Next race: Pocono IndyCar 500, July 6, Pocono Raceway, Long Pond, Pa.

NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing

Event: Route 66 NHRA Nationals

Site: Joliet, Ill.

Schedule: Friday, qualifying; Saturday, qualifying (ESPN2, 8-10 p.m.); Sunday, final eliminations, (ESPN2, 3-6 p.m.).

Track: Route 66 Raceway.

Last year: Tony Schumacher won in Top Fuel, Matt Hagan in Funny Car, Jeg Coughlin in Pro Stock, and Michael Ray in Pro Stock Motorcycle.

Last race: Ron Capps raced to his first victory of the season and 41st overall, beating Alexis DeJoria in the Funny Car final in the New England Nationals. Schumacher won in Top Fuel, Dave Connolly in Pro Stock and Angie Smith in Pro Stock Motorcycle.

Fast facts: Robert Hight, a four-time winner in the first 10 events, leads the Funny Car standings – 254 points ahead of DeJoria. … Doug Kalitta has a 157-point lead over Antron Brown in Top Fuel.

Next race: Summit Racing Equipment NHRA Nationals, July 3-6, Summit Motorsports Park, Norwalk, Ohio.

Formula One

Next race: British Grand Prix, July 6, Silverstone Circuit, Silverstone, England.

Last week: Nico Rosberg won the Austrian Grand Prix.

Western New York/Ontario

Elegant Builders Raceway Park: Buffalo Super Charger Drag Racing, Friday, 7 p.m.; Stock Cars with TQ Midgets, Saturday, 6:30 p.m.

Holland Speedway: Off.

Ransomville Speedway: Stock Cars, Friday, 7:15 p.m. Battle at Border 358 Modified Super Series, Wednesday, 7:15 p.m.

Raceway 5: Mid Season Championships, Saturday, 6 p.m.

Freedom Speedway: Mid Season Championships, Friday 7 p.m.

Wyoming County: Bike Race, Saturday, 7 p.m.

Watkins Glen: Tudor United Sportscar Championship Sahlen’s Six Hours of The Glen, Sunday 11 a.m.-5:30 p.m.

Merrittville Speedway: Empire Super Sprints, Saturday, 7 p.m.

New Humberstone Speedway: Eve of Destruction Qualifier 25, Sunday, 6 p.m.; 358 Modified Super Series, Tuesday, 6 p.m.

Lake Erie Speedway: Driver/Sponsor Appreciation Night, Saturday, 6 p.m.

There are no comments - be the first to comment