Niagara Honor Roll - The Buffalo News

Share this article

print logo

Niagara Honor Roll

The City of North Tonawanda was recognized with the AAA Silver Award from AAA Western and Central New York for its success in AAA’s Community Traffic Safety Program.

AAA’s Community Traffic Safety Program recognizes communities nationwide that identify and address their local traffic safety issues.

The program considers crash statistics, traffic safety leadership groups, programs, projects and their effectiveness. The awards progress from honorable mention to bronze, silver, gold and to the highest level, platinum.

This is North Tonawanda’s first year of participation in the program.

North Tonawanda demonstrated success with programs and projects addressing: impaired driving; speeding, aggressive and distracted driving; occupant protection and child passenger safety; and bicycle and school bus safety.


The 2014 Phi Delta Kappa Buffalo-Niagara Chapter Presidential Awards were presented at the annual banquet at Niagara Falls Country Club in Lewiston. Honorees are:

Gary D. Praetzel, dean, Niagara University College of Hospitality and Tourism Management, Distinguished Higher Education Leadership Award; Samuel Alessi, retired Buffalo city school administrator, Distinguished Career Award; Michael P. Tambroni, Ohio Elementary School, North Tonawanda City School District, Distinguished Elementary School Principal Award; Michael Cornell, Amherst Middle School, Amherst Central School District, Distinguished Middle School Principal; Joseph DiMaria, Starpoint High School, Starpoint Central School District, Distinguished High School Administrator Award; Janelle Finn, Colonial Village Elementary School, Niagara Wheatfield Central School District, Excellence in Elementary Teaching Award; Beth Truax, Lewiston-Porter Middle School, Lewiston-Porter Central School District, Excellence in Middle School Teaching Award; Edwin Maynard, Niagara Falls High School, Niagara Falls City School District, Excellence in High School Teaching Award; and Career Academies of the Kenmore-Town of Tonawanda Union Free School District, School District of Excellence Award


Roserita J. DiMillo, of Lockport, has been awarded John Carroll University’s Tim Russert Endowed Scholarship. DiMillo will be a freshman at John Carroll this fall.

She is a 2014 graduate of Lockport High School, where she was an honor student, civic leader and athlete. She is the daughter of Dan and Kathy DiMillo.

The Tim Russert Endowed Scholarship at John Carroll was established for students from Buffalo or Western New York.


Christine Cassert, senior director for patient care services at Mount St. Mary’s Hospital, has been named “Nurse of Distinction” by the Western New York Professional Nurses Association.

A resident of Grand Island, Cassert has been a nurse at Mount St. Mary’s for 38 years. She earned her bachelor degree in nursing from Niagara University and is a certified adult, pediatric and neonatal critical care nurse.

She is also the director of the critical care unit/intensive care unit at Mount St. Mary’s.

She was cited for her leadership of the clinical team that led to Mount St. Mary’s designation as a New York State Designated Stroke Center, the leader of the clinical team that led to hospital’s designation as a certified chest pain center, and staff coordinator for the initiative to gain accreditation of the hospital’s cardiac echocardiography department.


There are no comments - be the first to comment