Bloom sworn in as Bar Association president - The Buffalo News
print logo

Bloom sworn in as Bar Association president

Buffalo lawyer Laurie Styka Bloom of the Nixon Peabody law firm was sworn in Friday as the 108th president of the Bar Association of Erie County at its 127th annual meeting and election, succeeding Michael J. Ryan.

Kevin W. Spitler was elected vice president; he will assume the presidency next June.

Gregory T. Miller was elected treasurer and Thomas F. Hewner deputy treasurer.

Cheryl A. Aloi, Jennifer A. Beckage, Sophie Feal and Michael J. Roach were elected to three-year terms on the board of directors. Douglas P. Stiller was elected to a one-year term.

Elected to the nominating committee were Daniel J. Chiacchia and Timothy J. Graber.

Bloom has practiced with Nixon Peabody for the past 24 years, focusing on civil litigation, with a concentration on environmental and land use litigation. Formerly with Moot & Sprague, Bloom is a 1980 cum laude graduate of Canisius College. She earned her J.D., cum laude from the University at Buffalo Law School in 1983.

Bloom has served on the Grievance Committee for the Eighth Judicial District since 2009.

She was the Bar Association’s deputy treasurer in 2008-09 and treasurer in 2009-10. She served on the bar’s Judiciary Committee and as an attorney coach for its high school mock trial competition.

She is a former officer of the Western New York Trial Lawyers Association and former president of the UB Law School Alumni Association and the St. Thomas More Guild, an association of Catholic lawyers recognized by the Diocese of Buffalo.

Spitler has practiced as a trial lawyer in Buffalo for the last 33 years, focusing on criminal defense. He is a sole practitioner who also handles matters in real estate, estates and civil litigation.

He is a graduate of Canisius College and the International School of Law, now the George Mason School of Law in Arlington, Va.

He formerly served as a director of the Bar Association and currently serves on its Criminal Law Committee.

Spitler was recognized as the St. Thomas More Catholic Lawyer of the Year in 2009 and received the 2014 Criminal Law Practitioner Award from the Assigned Counsel Program. He has also worked as a mentor for new attorneys through the Assigned Counsel Program.


There are no comments - be the first to comment