Starting Line: This week’s racing - The Buffalo News

Share this article

print logo

Starting Line: This week’s racing

NASCAR Sprint Cup

Event: Pocono 400.

Site: Long Pond, Pa.

Schedule: Friday, practice (Fox Sports 1, noon-1:30 p.m.), qualifying (Fox Sports 1, 4:30-6 p.m.); Saturday, practice (Fox Sports 1, 9-10 a.m., 11:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.); Sunday, race, 1 p.m. (TNT, noon-4:30 p.m.).

Track: Pocono Raceway (triangle, 2.5 miles).

Race distance: 400 miles, 160 laps.

Last year: Jimmie Johnson raced to the third of his six 2013 victories en route to his sixth season title. He swept the 2004 races at the track.

Last week: Johnson won at Dover for the record ninth time. He won the Coca-Cola 600 the previous week in North Carolina.

Fast facts: The 10-race Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup has been expanded to 16 drivers, with race winners getting first priority as long as they are in the top 30 in the season standings and attempted to qualify for every race. Johnson, Kevin Harvick and Joey Logano are tied for the series victory lead with two. Jeff Gordon, Carl Edwards, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Kyle Busch, Brad Keselowski, Denny Hamlin and Kurt Busch also have won. Matt Kenseth leads the standings. ... Kasey Kahne won in August at the track. ... Gordon has a record six Pocono victories. ... Hamlin has won four times at the track.

Next race: Quicken Loans 400, June 15, Michigan International Speedway, Brooklyn, Mich.


Camping World Truck

Event: Winstar World Casino and Resort 400.

Site: Fort Worth, Texas.

Schedule: Thursday, practice, qualifying; Friday, race, 9 p.m. (Fox Sports 1, 8:30-11:30 p.m.).

Track: Texas Motor Speedway (oval, 1.5 miles).

Race distance: 250.5 miles, 167 laps.

Last year: Jeb Burton raced to his first series victory.

Last week: Kyle Busch won at Dover for his fourth victory in four series starts this season. He has five straight series wins dating to last season and 39 overall.

Fast facts: Erik Jones, missing his high school graduation to race, is driving Busch’s No. 51 Toyota in his intermediate track debut. Jones won in November in Phoenix in the No. 51 to become the youngest winner in series history at 17 years, 4 months. Kyle Busch Motorsports’ Nos. 51 and 54 have combined to win seven of the last nine races dating to Darrell Wallace Jr.’s victory at Martinsville in November. Wallace is driving the No. 54. ... Timothy Peters leads the standings, a point ahead of defending series champion Matt Crafton.

Next race: Drivin’ for Linemen 200, June 14, Gateway Motorsports Park, Madison, Ill.



Next race: Ollie’s Bargain Barn 250, June 14, Michigan International Speedway, Brooklyn, Mich.

Last week: Kyle Busch won at Dover for his third victory of the season. He extended his series-record victory total to 66.


Verizon IndyCar

Event: Firestone 600.

Site: Fort Worth, Texas.

Schedule: Friday, practice, qualifying (NBC Sports Network, 6:30-8 p.m.); Saturday, race, 8:45 p.m. (NBC Sports Network, 8-11 p.m.).

Track: Texas Motor Speedway (oval, 1.5 miles).

Race distance: 372 miles, 248 laps.

Last year: Helio Castroneves raced to his fourth victory at the track. Team Penske was fined $35,000 and docked 15 entrant points because the underwing on Castroneves’ car didn’t meet specifications.

Last week: Team Penske swept the Detroit Grand Prix doubleheader. Will Power took the opener and Castroneves won the second race.

Fast facts: The race is the second of six oval events. Andretti Autosport’s Ryan Hunter-Reay won the Indianapolis 500 two weeks ago in the oval opener. ... Power, also the winner in the season-opening race in St. Petersburg, leads the season standings – 19 points ahead of Castroneves. Power won a doubleheader race at the track in 2011 for the first of his two career oval victories.

Next races: Grand Prix of Houston, June 28 and 29, Streets of Houston, Houston.


Formula One

Event: Canadian Grand Prix.

Site: Montreal.

Schedule: Friday, practice (NBC Sports Network, 2-330 p.m.); Saturday, practice, qualifying (NBC Sports Network, 1-2:30 p.m.); Sunday, race, 2 p.m. (NBC, 2-4:30 p.m.; NBC Sports Network, 7-9:30 p.m.).

Track: Circuit Gilles Villeneuve (road course, 2.71 miles).

Race distance: 189.7 miles, 70 laps.

Last year: Red Bull’s Sebastian Vettel raced to the third of his 13 2013 victories en route to his fourth straight season title.

Last race: Nico Rosberg won at Monaco on May 25 to run Mercedes’ season-opening winning streak to six and its string of 1-2 finishes to five. Lewis Hamilton was second after winning the previous four races. Rosberg, also the winner in Australia, took the points lead.

Fast facts: Hamilton won at the track for McLaren in 2007, 2010 and 2012. ... The course sits on Ile Notre-Dame, a landfill island off the southern bank of the St. Lawrence River. The track was renamed Circuit Gilles Villeneuve after the Canadian was killed during qualifying for the 1982 Belgian Grand Prix. Villeneuve’s son, Jacques, won the 1997 F1 title.

Next race: Austrian Grand Prix, June 22, Red Bull Ring, Spielberg, Austria.


NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing

Next event: Thunder Valley Nationals, June 13-15, Bristol Dragway, Bristol, Tenn.

Last week: Australia’s Richie Crampton raced to his first Top Fuel victory, winning the Summernationals in Englishtown, N.J. Cruz Pedregon won in Funny Car, Jeg Coughlin in Pro Stock, and Andrew Hines in Pro Stock Motorcycle.


Western New York

Elegant Builders Raceway Park: IHRA Drag Racing, Friday, 7 p.m.; ROC Mac Myers 75, Saturday, 6:30 p.m.

Holland Speedway: Budweiser 100, Saturday, 6 p.m.

Ransomville Speedway: Patriot Sprint Tour, Friday, 7:15 p.m.

Raceway 5: $1,000-to-win Sportsman 30, Saturday, 6 p.m.

Freedom Speedway: Dirt Track Stock Cars, Friday 7 p.m.

Wyoming County: Kid’s Race Car Rides , Saturday, 7 p.m.

Merrittville Speedway: King of The Crates Sportsman 30, Saturday, 7 p.m.

New Humberstone Speedway: Tri-Track Sportsman Series, Sunday, 6 p.m.

Lake Erie Speedway: Modified 40, Saturday, 6 p.m.

There are no comments - be the first to comment