Buffalo News Editorial Cartoon Contest winners - The Buffalo News

Share this article

print logo

Buffalo News Editorial Cartoon Contest winners

The Buffalo News held its 20th annual Editorial Cartoon Contest for area students in grades five through 12.

Nearly 600 entries were received.

The winners were selected by News Editorial Cartoonist Adam Zyglis, who will present awards to the winning students at a reception Tuesday evening in the Buffalo & Erie County Public Library downtown. The winning cartoons will remain on display in the Central Library for about a month for public viewing.

“The effects of this year’s polar vortex seemed to extend into the Editorial Cartoon Contest,” Zyglis said. “We received more cartoons on potholes and climate change than I’ve ever seen in years past. In the local category, Common Core cartoons dominated, and the fate of the Buffalo Bills was also a hot topic with the recent passing of Ralph Wilson Jr.

“Obamacare was most prevalent among national topics, and Russia’s advancement into Ukraine was the global issue of choice,” he added. “Because of a change in the rules, we received several color cartoons and a few digitally produced cartoons for the first time. I expect to see more of that in the future.

“As always the competition was fierce, and it was quite inspiring to see such talent on display in our area schools.”

The winners areDivision I – Grade 5:

First Place: Evan Rubino, Transit Middle School, East Amherst

Second Place: Gabriell Vivolo, Smallwood Elementary School, Amherst

Third Place: Zachary Wexler, Mill Middle School, Williamsville

Honorable Mention: Darya Mansouri, Mill Middle School, Williamsville

Division II – Grades 6-8

First Place: Devin Palmer, Grade 7, Mill Middle School, Williamsville

Second Place: Wyland Kiefer, Grade 8, Mill Middle School, Williamsville

Third Place: Kurt Parker Venator, Grade 6, Transit Middle School, East Amherst

Honorable Mention: John Rooney, Grade 7, Nardin Academy

Division III – Grades 9-12

First Place: Gina Boccolucci, Grade 11, Amherst High School

Second Place: Tien Nguyen, Grade 11, Cheektowaga High School

Third Place: Sara Gunn, Grade 10, Amherst High School

Honorable Mention: Nathan Krug, Grade 12, Buffalo Academy for Visual and Performing Arts

Local Division – All grades

First Place: Zoë Knauss, Grade 7, City Honors

Second Place: Zachary Wadkins-Daub, Grade 7, City Honors

Third Place: Victoria Pizzuto, Grade 9, Nardin Academy

Honorable Mention: Maryn Chmielewski, Grade 10, Frontier High School, Hamburg

There are no comments - be the first to comment