Knighthawks win another NLL title - The Buffalo News

Share this article

print logo

Knighthawks win another NLL title

The Rochester Knighthawks on Saturday became the first team in the history of the National Lacrosse League to win three straight championships.

The Knighthawks did it the hard way, having to go to a 10-minute mini-game. After spotting Calgary a 2-0 lead in the first five minutes, Rochester scored three goals in the final three minutes to pull out a 3-2 win.

Craig Point was one of the big heroes for the Knighthawks. He scored two goals, including the game-winner with 59 seconds left. Joe Walters also tallied for Rochester.

The minigame was necessary after Rochester took a 16-10 decision from Calgary. The game was close through three quarters. Then the Knighthawks went on a 6-1 run in the first 10 minutes of the fourth quarter.

Dan Dawson led Rochester with three goals and four assists. Cody Jamieson added three goals and three assists. Curtis Dickson had six points to pace the Roughnecks.

There are no comments - be the first to comment