Honor Roll / Recognizing the accomplishments of Western New Yorkers - The Buffalo News
print logo

Honor Roll / Recognizing the accomplishments of Western New Yorkers

Barbara Trolley, professor of counselor education at St. Bonaventure University, received the New York State Career Development Association Outstanding Counselor Educator Award at the organization’s 2014 conference held May 30 in Buffalo.

The Outstanding Counselor Educator Award recognizes significant contributions to the field of career development in the following areas: education and mentoring of career counseling students, development of or leadership in exemplary career programs, conducting research and/or publishing in the field and/or advocating efforts to inform and persuade policy makers about career development.


Dr. Patricia A. Bomba has received the 2014 Carol Selinske Founder’s Award from the Hospice & Palliative Care Association of New York State for her work on behalf of hospice and palliative care.

Bomba, a Univera Healthcare vice president and medical director for geriatrics, is an expert on advance care planning and end-of-life issues who served on the Institute of Medicine’s Committee on Transforming End-of-Life Care.

The award recognizes Bomba’s work in the creation of the state’s form for medical orders for life-sustaining treatment (MOLST). The form tells emergency medical personnel whether or not to administer life-saving procedures in the event of a medical emergency, and contains other information about a patient’s wishes for end-of-life care.


Environmentalist Frederick Stoss, associate librarian and subject specialist for biological and environmental sciences and mathematics at the University at Buffalo, has received the first Friend of the Biblioteca Nacional Aruba Award for his work with the group’s in green education programming and for helping to create the library’s Caribbean Energy, Environmental, and Sustainability Program. The award was presented at the third annual Green Education Symposium Aruba at Casa di Cultura in Oranjestad, Aruba.

Stoss has been an environmental researcher and advocate since his student days. He holds degrees in biology, zoology and information studies, has conducted a decade of research in toxicology and environmental health, and has dedicated his professional life to sustainability research and environmental advocacy.

As a graduate student, he built the first national acid rain database from the ground up. That project led to his work as a co-editor for “Trends: A Compendium of Data on Global Change,” the Oak Ridge National Laboratory’s award-winning comprehensive global climate change reference work, where he worked while conducting research with the University of Tennessee.


Alana N. Christopher was named the recipient of The COOP Service Prizes at Hamilton College’s annual Class and Charter Day.

The awards go to seniors who, over the course of their college careers, have demonstrated exceptional dedication to community service at Hamilton and leadership in making a difference in the lives of people and service organizations, both in our local area and in communities assisted by Alternative Spring Break work trips.

Christopher, a senior majoring in English, is a graduate of Williamsville North High School and the daughter of Mary and John Christopher of East Amherst.


Two University at Buffalo sophomores majoring in physics received the Barry Goldwater Scholarship – Sean Rhett-Burke Bearden, a physics and applied mathematics student from the Town of Tonawanda, and Nigel Stephen Michki, a UB computational physics student from Grand Island. They are among 283 undergraduates to receive the award this year from a pool of 1,166 applicants. Both want to use their knowledge to pursue research that improves society, advancing technologies in industries such as computing and medicine.

The scholarship, established by Congress in 1986 in honor of Sen. Barry Goldwater, provides up to $7,500 per year to cover educational expenses of outstanding students pursuing careers in math, the natural sciences and engineering.

Universities may nominate up to four undergraduates each year, and each of UB’s four 2014 nominees – all UB Honors Scholars – received recognition. Sophomores Stephanie Kong, a chemical engineering student, and Kristina Monakhova, an electrical engineering student, earned honorable mentions.

email: citydesk@buffnews.com

There are no comments - be the first to comment