Starting Line for May 29 - The Buffalo News

Share this article

print logo

Starting Line for May 29

NASCAR Sprint Cup

Event: FedEx400.

Site: Dover, Del.

Schedule: Friday, practice (Fox Sports 1, 11 a.m.-12:30 p.m.), qualifying (Fox Sports 1, 3:30-5 p.m.); Saturday, practice (Fox Sports 1, 9:30-10:30 a.m., 12:30-1:30 p.m.); Sunday, race, 1 p.m. (Fox, 12:30-4:30 p.m.).

Track: Dover International Speedway (oval, 1.0 miles).

Race distance: 400 miles, 400 laps.

Last year: Tony Stewart ending a 30-race victory drought, racing to the last of his 48 Cup victories.

Last week: Jimmie Johnson won the Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte for his first victory of the season.

Fast facts: Kevin Harvick and Joey Logano are the only two-time winners in the first 12 races of the season. Dale Earnhardt Jr., Brad Keselowski, Carl Edwards, Kyle Busch, Kurt Busch, Denny Hamlin and Jeff Gordon also have won. Gordon leads the standings, 11 points ahead of Matt Kenseth. ... The race is Fox’s final event of the season. TNT will broadcast the next six races, and ESPN/ABC will show the final 17.

Next race: Pocono 400, June 8, Pocono Raceway, Long Pond, Pa.



Event: Buckle Up 200.

Site: Dover, Del.

Schedule: Friday, practice (Fox Sports 1, 2-3:30 p.m.); Saturday, qualifying (ESPN2, 10:30 a.m.-noon), race, 2 p.m. (ESPN, 1:30-4:30 p.m.).

Track: Dover International Speedway (oval, 1.0 miles).

Race distance: 200 miles, 200 laps.

Last year: Joey Logano won the race and the September event at the track for Penske Racing.

Last week: Kyle Larson raced to his second Nationwide victory of the season, holding off Sprint Cup drivers Brad Keselowski and Kyle Busch at Charlotte.

Fast facts: Busch won this year at Phoenix and Bristol to push his series-record victory total to 65. ... Regan Smith, the Daytona winner, leads the season standings – five points ahead of Talladega winner Elliott Sadler. Chase Elliott is third, 28 points back.

Next race: Michigan 250, June 14, Michigan International Speedway, Brooklyn, Mich.


Camping World Truck

Event: Lucas Oil 200.

Site: Dover, Del.

Schedule: Thursday, practice; Friday, qualifying (Fox Sports 1, 12:30-2 p.m.), race, 5:30 p.m. (Fox Sports 1, 5-8 p.m.).

Track: Dover International Speedway (oval, 1.0 miles).

Race distance: 200 miles, 200 laps.

Last year: Kyle Busch won the third of his five 2013 series victories.

Last race: Busch raced to his third victory in three events this year, dominating at Charlotte on May 16. He has six series victories at the North Carolina track.

Fast facts: Busch also won this year at Daytona and Kansas. He has 38 series victories. ... Defending series champion Matt Crafton, the winner at Martinsville, leads the series standings – 11 points ahead of Timothy Peters.

Next race: WinStar World Casino and Resort 400, June 6, Texas Motor Speedway, Fort Worth, Texas.


Verizon IndyCar

Event: Chevrolet Indy Dual in Detroit.

Site: Detroit.

Schedule: Friday, practice; Saturday, qualifying, race, 3:50 p.m. (ABC, 3:30-6 p.m.); Sunday, qualifying, race, 3:50 p.m. (ABC, 3:30-6 p.m.).

Track: The Raceway at Belle Isle Park (street course, 2.36 miles).

Race distances: 164.22 miles, 70 laps.

Last year: Mike Conway won the doubleheader opener for Dale Coyne Racing, and Simon Pagenaud took the crash-filled second race for Schmidt Hamilton Motorsports.

Last week: Andretti Autosport’s Ryan Hunter-Reay won the Indianapolis 500, holding off Team Penske’s Helio Castroneves by 0.060 seconds.

Fast facts: Hunter-Reay, also the Grand Prix of Alabama winner in April, leads the season standings – 40 points ahead of Team Penske’s Will Power. … Hunter-Reay won the 2012 season title. ... Castroneves won CART series races at the track in 2000 and 2001. ... Doubleheaders also are set for Houston and Toronto. ... Conway and Pagenaud have victories this year. Conway won at Long Beach for Ed Carpenter Racing, and Pagenaud took the Grand Prix of Indianapolis

Next race: Firestone 600, June 7, Texas Motor Speedway, Fort Worth, Texas.


NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing

Event: NHRA Summernationals.

Site: Englishtown, N.J.

Schedule: Friday, qualifying; Saturday, qualifying (ESPN, 4:30-6 p.m.); Sunday, final eliminations (ESPN2, 4-7 p.m.).

Track: Old Bridge Township Raceway Park.

Last year: Shawn Langdon raced to the third of his seven 2013 Top Fuel victories en route to the season title. Matt Hagan topped the Funny Car field, Mike Edwards won in Pro Stock, and Michael Ray in Pro Stock Motorcycle.

Last week: Courtney Force won the Kansas Nationals for the 100th victory by a female driver in NHRA history, beating Cruz Pedregon in the Funny Car final. Spencer Massey won in Top Fuel, and Allen Johnson in Pro Stock.

Fast facts: Robert Hight, a four-time winner in the first eight events, leads the Funny Car standings — 204 points ahead of teammate and owner John Force. ... Doug Kalitta has a 30-point lead over Antron Brown in Top Fuel.Kalitta has one victory this season, and Brown has three. Erica Enders-Stevens, a two-time winner, leads the Pro Stock division, and Andrew Hines tops the Pro Stock Motorcycle standings.

Next event: Thunder Valley Nationals, June 13-15, Bristol Dragway, Bristol, Tenn.


Western New York

• Elegant Builders Raceway Park: Buffalo Super Chargers IHRA Drag Racing, Friday, 7 p.m.; Midnight Madness Drags, Saturday, 5 p.m.

• Holland Speedway: NASCAR Whelen All American Series, Saturday, 5 p.m.

• Ransomville Speedway: Autograph Night, Friday, 7:15 p.m.

• Raceway 5: Dirt Track Stock Cars, Saturday, 6 p.m.

• Freedom Speedway: Rush Crate Late Model Series, Friday 7 p.m.

• Wyoming County: Smash-n-Crash Figure-8, Saturday, 7 p.m.

• Merrittville Speedway: Lucas Oil Weekly Racing Series, Saturday, 7 p.m.

• New Humberstone Speedway: Go Nuclear Late Model Tour, Sunday, 6 p.m.

• Lake Erie Speedway: Crash-A-Rama, Saturday, 6 p.m.

There are no comments - be the first to comment